Nikolay Karamzin (1766–1826)

Nikolay Karamzin (1766–1826)

The collection is dedicated to the 250th birth anniversary of the famous Russian historian, writer, publicist Nikolay Karamzin. It includes research, essays and historical documents about the life and work of Karamzin, his own works on the history of the Russian state, as well as individual letters.

Life and work of Nikolay Karamzin covered many areas of life. He went down in history as a reformer of the Russian language as he was the first who used the letter "yo" and enriched the language with a large number of neologisms. Literary creativity of Karamzin gave rise to a new trend - sentimentalism, the foundations of which he claimed in his critical articles.

Publishing activity of Nikolay Karamzin is also remarkable. He was the editor of "Moscow Journal", "The Messenger of Europe", published the first Russian anthologies - "Aglaia" and "Aonide". In his political articles the publisher submited recommendations to the government, pointing to the role of education in society.

The basis of the identity of Russian culture Nikolay Karamzin saw in the study of history. In 1804, in the position of court historian, he initiated the establishment of the "History of the Russian State", on which he worked until the end of days. It included eight "History" volumes in the first edition of the 1816-1817 period. In 1821, as part of the second edition of the works, it was released the 9th volume on the reign of Ivan the Terrible, in 1824 - the 10th and the 11th, about FedorIoannovich and Boris Godunov. The work on the 12th volume has not been completed.

It total the collection includes 134 units.

To prepare the collection were used materials from the collections of the Russian State Historical Archive, the State Archive of the Russian Federation, the Russian State Library, the N. K. Krupskaya Moscow Regional State Scientific Library, the State Public Historical Library, the M. Gorky Scientific Library, the St. Petersburg State University, the Central Naval Library, the Herzen Russian State Pedagogical University Fundamental Library, the Sverdlovsk Regional Library for Children and Youth, the Tula Regional Universal Scientific Library, the Vladimir Regional Universal Scientific Library, the Pushkin Tambov Regional Universal Scientific Library, the Russian Federal Service Protection, the Children's Museum of postcards.

  • Biographical materials

    The section contains books, biographical essays, journal articles, archives, dissertation abstracts, which reveal different facets of activities of Nikolay Karamzin and contain biographical information about him. Of particular note is the publication on the centenary of his birth, two-volume work of the Russian historian and writer M. P. Pogodin "Nikolay Karamzin, by his writings, letters and opinion of contemporaries".
  • Works

    This section includes various editions of the "History of Russian state. Of particular interest is the first (1816-1817) and the second (1818-1829) Edition of "History…". Time of release of publications is 1 year, which shows the great interest in the work of N. M. Karamzin arising in society. Founded in the XIX century, this work has still historical significance, and eventually became a major phenomenon and even Russian fiction. We should also mention texts, notes, articles and letters of Nikolay Karamzin.
  • Commemoration

    Included in the section books, archival materials, speech devoted to the memory of Nikolay Karamzin. We can distinguish the represented in the collection of archival case of the monument Nikolay Karamzin, which was built in 1845 in Simbirsk (now Ulyanovsk). The section also includes postcards and photos with images of monuments to the writer and historiographer.
Share content in social networks:

Н. М. Карамзин (1766–1826)

Н. М. Карамзин (1766–1826)

Коллекция приурочена к 250-летию со дня рождения знаменитого русского историка, писателя, публициста Н. М. Карамзина. В нее вошли исследования, очерки и архивные документы, посвященные жизни и деятельности Карамзина, его собственные труды по истории Российского государства, а также отдельные письма.

Деятельность Н. М. Карамзина охватывала многие сферы жизни. Он вошёл в историю как реформатор русского языка, так как первым использовал букву «ё» и обогатил язык большим количеством неологизмов. Литературное творчество Карамзина дало начало новому направлению – сентиментализму, основы которого он утверждал в своих критических статьях.

Замечательна издательская деятельность Н. М. Карамзина. Он был редактором «Московского журнала», «Вестника Европы», издавал первые русские альманахи — «Аглая» и «Аониды». В своих политических статьях издатель обращался с рекомендациями к правительству, указывая на роль просвещения в жизни общества.

Основу самобытности русской культуры Н. М. Карамзин видел в изучении истории. В 1804 году, в должности придворного историографа, он приступил к созданию «Истории государства Российского», над которой работал до конца дней. В первое издание 1816-1817 годов вошли восемь томов «Истории». В 1821, в составе второго издания сочинения, вышел 9-й том, посвященный царствованию Иоанна Грозного, в 1824 — 10-й и 11-й, о Федоре Иоанновиче и Борисе Годунове. Работа над 12-м томом не была завершена.

Всего в коллекции представлено 134 единицы.

Для подготовки коллекции были использованы материалы из фондов Российского государственного исторического архива, Государственного архива Российской Федерации, Российской государственной библиотеки, Московской областной государственной научной библиотека им. Н. К. Крупской, Государственной публичной исторической библиотеки, Научной библиотеки им. М. Горького Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета, Центральной военно-морской библиотеки, Фундаментальной библиотеки Российского государственного педагогического университета им. А. И. Герцена, Свердловской областной библиотеки для детей и юношества, Тульской областной универсальной научной библиотеки, Владимирской областной универсальной научной библиотеки, Тамбовской областной универсальной научной библиотеки им. А. С. Пушкина, Федеральной службы охраны Российской Федерации, Детского музея открытки.

  • Биографические материалы

    В разделе собраны книги, биографические очерки, журнальные статьи, архивные дела, авторефераты диссертаций, которые раскрывают различные грани деятельности Н. М. Карамзина и содержат биографические сведения о нем. Следует особо отметить изданный к столетию со дня его рождения двухтомный труд российского историка и публициста М. П. Погодина «Николай Михайлович Карамзин, по его сочинениям, письмам и отзывам современников».
  • Труды

    Раздел включает различные издания "Истории государства Российского. Особого внимания заслуживают первое (1816-1817 гг.) и второе (1818-1829 гг.) издания «Истории…». Время выхода этих изданий разделяет 1 год, что показывает огромный интерес к труду Н.М. Карамзина, возникший в обществе. Созданное в XIX веке, это сочинение по-прежнему имеет историческое значение, а со временем стало еще и крупным явлением русской художественной прозы. Следует также отметить включенные в раздел тексты, записки, статьи и письма Н. М. Карамзина.
  • Увековечение памяти

    Вошедшие в раздел книги, архивные материалы, речи посвящены памяти Н. М. Карамзина. Можно выделить представленное в коллекции архивное дело о памятнике Н. М. Карамзину, который был сооружен в 1845 году в Симбирске (ныне – Ульяновск). Также в раздел входят открытки и фотографии с изображениями памятников писателю и историографу.
Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: