World War II in archival documents (collection of digitized archival documents, film and photo materials)

World War II in archival documents (collection of digitized archival documents, film and photo materials)

September 3, 2021 more than 3.5 thousand digitized archival documents, film and photo materials starting September 1, 1939 - June 22, 1941 provided from 8 federal archives (Russian State Military Archives, Russian State Archives of Social and Political History, Russian State Archives of Contemporary History, State Archives of the Russian Federation, Russian State Archives of Economy, Russian State Archives of Film and Photo Documents, Russian State Naval Archives, Russian State Archives in Samara), institutional archives of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Defence, the Federal Security Service, the Foreign Intelligence Service of the Russian Federation, as well as state archives of Belarus) entered the Collection.

Archival documents, including recently declassified and for the first time introduced into scientific circulation cast light on the growing aggression of Nazi Germany and its allies and the events that led to the German attack on the USSR and the beginning of the Great Patriotic War.

The Collection contains documents from the Foreign Policy Archive of the Russian Federation of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation is now publicly available. It includes cipher telegrams of the plenipotentiary representatives of the USSR in Germany, the UK, France, Italy, Baltic countries, Finland, the Balkans, Turkey, China, the USA, covering the internal political situation in the host countries and their foreign policy, records of conversations of the Soviet People's Commissars for Foreign Affairs and their deputies with ambassadors and foreign representatives, reference materials of the Soviet People's Commissariat for Foreign Affairs. Special attention is paid to international statutes: mutual assistance pacts between the USSR and Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia; a peace treaty with Finland, which formalized the modern border of both states; the Soviet-German Non-aggression Pact of September 28, 1939, with secret and additional protocols; a Treaty of Friendship and Non-aggression with Yugoslavia, concluded the day before the German attack on Yugoslavia; Soviet–Japanese Neutrality Pact, which excluded the USSR from waging a war on two fronts. The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation provided more than a thousand diplomatic documents in total.

The Collection contains documents of the General Staff of the Red Army and the People's Commissariat of Defence of the USSR from the Russian State Military Archives: orders, brief reports on the international situation from Soviet military attaches, intelligence and intelligence materials of the 5th Directorate of the Red Army, reports and memoranda of the Red Army leadership, political information and much more. The documents tell about the collapse of the Polish state, the reunification of Western Ukraine with the USSR and Western Belarus with the BSSR, the inclusion of Estonia, Lithuania and Latvia into the USSR, Soviet-Finnish negotiations and Soviet proposals for territorial exchange, the course and results of the "Winter War", changes in the Red Army and preparing for a possible war with Germany. Foreign documents from the Russian State Military Archives cast light on Anglo-French intentions to strike the USSR, including plans to carry an attack at the oil-bearing regions of the Soviet Caucasus.

Of particular interest are documents on the Red Army measures to resist possible aggression: memoranda from the leadership of the People's Commissariat of Defence of the USSR and the General Staff of the Red Army to the Central Committee of the CPSU (b) with proposals for plans for the strategic posture in case of war with Germany and its allies, directives from the People's Commissariat of Defence of the USSR to heads of the military districts. The protocols of the meetings of the Main Military Council of the Red Army in April - June 1941 are available in full. The item of particular interest is Directive No. 1 of the Soviet People's Commissariat of Defence, which was sent at the close of the day on June 21, 1941, to the military councils of all districts. It announced a general alert related to the possibility of an unexpected attack by Germany. All these documents, as well as a large cartographic material, were provided by the Central Archives of the Ministry of Defence of the Russian Federation in Podolsk.

For the first time, a single resource provides copies of original and translated documents on the preparation of the war against the USSR by Nazi Germany from various archives - the German Federal Archives, the State Archives of the Russian Federation, the Russian State Military Archives, the Russian State Archives of Contemporary History and the Central Archives of the Ministry of Defence of the Russian Federation. There are protocols of Adolf Hitler's meeting on the intended operation in the East; Directive No. 21 on the war with the USSR (Barbarossa plan) of December 18, 1940; the map of Barbarossa plan; Wehrmacht directives on the establishment of an occupation regime on the Soviet territory and other documents of the German command.

The Collection includes various archival materials of the Russian State Archives of Social and Political History: documents from personal collections of Joseph Stalin, V. M. Molotov, K. Ye. Voroshilov, A. I. Mikoyan. There are records of conversations with the leaders and diplomatic representatives of the UK, Germany, Japan, Turkey and China on the most significant issues of foreign policy and economic cooperation; cipher telegrams of the People's Commissar for Foreign Affairs V. M. Molotov from Berlin in November 1940 and the Soviet envoys to the People's Commissariat for Foreign Affairs of the USSR; notes from the register of the Kremlin office with the names of visitors to Joseph Stalin on the eve and on the day of the German attack on the USSR.

For the first time, the Russian State Archives of Social and Political History included a big selection of resolutions of the Politburo of the Central Committee of the CPSU (b) on the development of the Soviet military industry, the growth of the Soviet defensive capacity and foreign policy issues.

The thematic collections of the Politburo of the Central Committee of the CPSU (b) from the Russian State Archives of Contemporary History feature materials on the development of a "strange war" in the West, the situation in the Baltic countries in 1939-1940, trade and economic cooperation between the USSR and Germany, as well as the most prominent document of June 21, 1941 - the draft of the last pre-war resolution of the Politburo of the Central Committee of the CPSU (b) on the creation of the Southern Front, new appointments and armies of the second defensive line, adopted during an evening meeting in the office of Joseph Stalin on June 21, 1941, and written by G. M. Malenkov. Especially for the collection, the State Archives of the Russian Federation digitized a large array of documents, including decisions of the Defence Committee under the Council of People's Commissars of the USSR, correspondence and reports of the Defence Committee on the development of the Soviet military industry in 1939-1941.

The Collection includes documents of the Russian State Archives of Economy with statistical data and information on the trade and economic activities of the USSR on the eve of the war. They show that then the main trading partner of the Soviet Union was the United States. The USA successfully replaced the UK, which declared a trade blockade of Germany.

For the first time, the information resource promotes exploring a significant array of Soviet intelligence documents provided by the archives of the Federal Security Service and the Foreign Intelligence Service of the Russian Federation. The users have an opportunity to read intelligence reports by Richard Sorge (Ramsay), N. D. Skornyakov (Meteor), members of the Cambridge Five, German anti-fascists from the Red Chapel and other agents still unknown to the general public. Soviet intelligence could receive a significant amount of important information about the preparation of the Third Reich and its allies for a war against the USSR. Some of these messages contain contradictory information, in particular, on the assessment of the Wehrmacht forces against the Red Army and the time of the German attack on the USSR.

The Belarusian state archives provided for publication documents of the National Archives of the Republic of Belarus, the Belarusian State Archives of Film and Photo Documents, the Belarusian State Archives-Museum of Literature and Art. There are the resolutions of the Central Committee of the CPSU (b) in Belarus on the improvement of the regional centers of the western regions of the BSSR, the creation of a network of health and educational institutions, documents on the defence measures and special messages, intelligence reports of the Commissariat for the Internal Relations of the BSSR on the actions of German troops in the border territories, etc.

The Collection acquired newly discovered documents of the period before September 1, 1939. It includes memoranda to the Defence Committee under the Council of People's Commissars of the USSR; documents of the Soviet People's Commissariat for Foreign Affairs on the progress of negotiations on the conclusion of a Soviet-Turkish agreement in April - August 1939; official diplomatic correspondence with the Soviet plenipotentiary mission in Italy; records of conversations between the Soviet plenipotentiary in Italy B. E. Stein, who stayed in Helsinki, with representatives of the Finnish government about a possible exchange of territories and the conclusion of a trade agreement between the USSR and Finland in March 1939 and documents on the further development of this issue in July-August 1939. The Collection includes documents from the Foreign Intelligence Service of the Russian Federation on the activity of "Kin", the Soviet resident in Finland, in 1938. It also features recently declassified agent materials of the Intelligence Directorate of the Red Army for 1935-1937 from the Russian State Military Archives - more than 150 documents in total.

In 2020, the Collection has provided about 1800 archival documents, photographs, newsreel fragments which cast Iight on the prehistory of World War II from January 1933 to August 31, 1939. Thus, today the Collections contains about 5.5 thousand digitized archival documents. documents, photographs and newsreels. The work on the identification and declassification of archival documents, their digitization and placement as part of the Collection will continue in 2022.

 

 

Executive institution:

Federal Archival Agency (Rosarkhiv)

Operator:

Boris Yeltsin Presidential Library of the Administrative Directorate of the President of the Russian Federation

 

Participants:

Foreign Policy Archive of the Russian Federation (AVP RF)

Russian State Military Archives (RGVA)

Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI)

State Archives of the Russian Federation (GA RF)

Russian State Archives of Contemporary History (RGANI)

Russian State Archives of Film and Photo Documents (RGAKFD)

Russian State Archives of Economy (RGAE)

Russian State Archives in Samara (RGA in Samara)

Central Archives of the Ministry of Defence of the Russian Federation (CA MO RF)

Foreign Intelligence Service Archives of the Russian Federation (Archive of SVR)

Central Archive of the Federal Security Service of the Russian Federation (CA FSB)

German Federal Archives (Bundesarchiv)

National Archives of the Republic of Belarus (NARB)

Belarusian State Archives of Film and Photo Documents (BGAKFFD)

Belarusian State Archives-Museum of Literature and Art (BGAMLI)

  • About the Collection

    In acordance with Paragraph № 4 "k" of the List of instructions for the implementation of the Presidential Address to the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation on January 15, 2020 № Pr-113, the Federal Archival Agency with the participation of archival services of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, the Ministry of Defence of the Russian Federation, the Federal Security Service of the Russian Federation, the Foreign Intelligence Service of the Russian Federation will organize the preparation of a set of digitized archival documents, film and photo materials dedicated to the Second World War.

    Based on information resources of the Boris Yeltsin Presidential Library of the Administrative Directorate of the President of the Russian Federation, electronic copies of archival documents which spotlight the history, course and results of the Second World War will be placing on the Internet for a number of years.

    Identification and digitization of documents are carried out on the basis of domestic, captured and foreign archival funds.

    Show more

  • Articles

    A.M. Filitov The Munich Agreement: Historical Reality and Contemporary Assessments
    A.N. Artisov, S.V. Kudryashov 1939: From Appeasement to War

Вторая мировая война в архивных документах (комплекс оцифрованных архивных документов, кино- и фотоматериалов)

Вторая мировая война в архивных документах (комплекс оцифрованных архивных документов, кино- и фотоматериалов)

3 сентября 2021 г. Комплекс пополнился более 3,5 тыс. документов, фотографий и кинохроники периода 1 сентября 1939 г. – 22 июня 1941 г. из 8 федеральных архивов (РГВА, РГАСПИ, РГАНИ, ГА РФ, РГАЭ, РГАКФД, РГАВМФ, РГА в г. Самаре), ведомственных архивов МИД, Минобороны, ФСБ, СВР России, а также государственных архивов Белоруссии.

Архивные документы, в т.ч. недавно рассекреченные и впервые вводимые в научный оборот, отражают нараставшую агрессию нацистской Германии и ее сателлитов и события, приведшие к нападению Германии на СССР и началу Великой Отечественной войны.

В Комплексе представлены документы Архива внешней политики Российской Федерации МИД России (АВП РФ) – шифртелеграммы полномочных представителей СССР в Германии, Великобритании, Франции, Италии, странах Прибалтики, Финляндии, на Балканах, в Турции, Китае, США освещающие внутриполитическую обстановку в странах пребывания и их внешнюю политику, записи бесед наркомов иностранных дел СССР и их заместителей с послами и иностранными представителями, справочные материалы НКИД СССР. Особое место занимают международно-правовые акты: договоры о взаимопомощи между СССР и Литвой, Латвией и Эстонией, мирный договор с Финляндией, который оформил фактически современную границу между двумя государствами, советско-германский договор о дружбе и границе от 28 сентября 1939 г. с секретными и дополнительными протоколами, договор о дружбе и ненападении с Югославией, заключенный за день до нападения Германии на Югославию, пакт о нейтралитете с Японией, исключавший для СССР ведение войны на два фронта – всего МИД России представил более тысячи документов.

В Комплекс включены документы Генштаба РККА и Наркомата обороны СССР из фондов РГВА: приказы, краткие обзоры международной обстановки, составленные советскими военными атташе, разведывательные и агентурные материалы 5-го управления Красной армии, донесения, докладные и служебные записки руководящего состава РККА, политсводки и многое другое. Документы рассказывают о крахе польского государства, воссоединении Западной Украины с Украинской ССР и Западной Белоруссии с Белорусской ССР, инкорпорации Эстонии, Литвы и Латвии в состав СССР, советско-финляндских переговорах и советских предложениях по территориальному обмену, ходе и итогах «Зимней войны», изменениях в РККА и подготовке к возможной войне с Германией. Документы иностранного происхождения из фондов РГВА раскрывают англо-французские замыслы нападения на СССР, в том числе планы нанесения ударов по нефтеносным районам советского Кавказа.

Значительное место в Комплексе занимают документы о подготовке Красной армии к отражению возможной агрессии: докладные записки руководства Наркомата обороны СССР и Генштаба РККА в ЦК ВКП(б) с предложениями по планам стратегического развертывания вооруженных сил на случай войны с Германией и ее союзниками, директивы Наркомата обороны СССР командующим войсками военных округов. В полном объеме размещены протоколы заседаний Главного военного совета Красной армии апреля – июня 1941 г. Особый интерес представляет ушедшая на исходе дня 21 июня 1941 г. в военные советы всех округов директива № 1 Наркомата обороны СССР о приведении войск в боевую готовность в связи с возможностью внезапного нападения Германии. Все эти документы, а также большой картографический материал представлен Минобороной России из Центрального архива в г. Подольске (ЦА МО РФ).

Впервые на одном ресурсе можно увидеть на языке оригинала и в переводе документы о подготовке нацистской Германией войны против СССР, находящиеся на постоянном хранении в разных архивах – в Федеральном архиве Германии, ГА РФ, РГВА, РГАНИ и ЦА МО РФ – протоколы совещания у А. Гитлера о планируемой операции на Востоке, директива № 21 о войне с СССР (план «Барбаросса») от 18 декабря 1940 г., карта «План «Барбаросса», директивы вермахта об установлении оккупационного режима на подлежащей захвату территории СССР и другие документы немецкого командования.

В Комплекс включены разнообразные архивные материалы РГАСПИ: документы из личных фондов И.В. Сталина, В.М. Молотова, К.Е. Ворошилова, А.И. Микояна: записи бесед с руководителями и дипломатическими представителями Великобритании, Германии, Японии, Турции и Китая по важнейшим вопросам внешней политики и экономического сотрудничества, шифртелеграммы наркома иностранных дел В.М. Молотова из Берлина в ноябре 1940 г. и советских полпредов в НКИД СССР, записи из журнала регистрации посетителей И.В. Сталина в его кремлевском кабинете накануне и в день нападения Германии на СССР.

Впервые из фондов РГАСПИ представляется значительный комплекс постановлений Политбюро ЦК ВКП(б) по вопросам развития советского военно-промышленного комплекса, укрепления обороноспособности СССР и по внешнеполитическим вопросам.

В тематических делах Политбюро ЦК ВКП(б), находящихся на хранении в РГАНИ, содержатся материалы по вопросам ведения «странной войны» на Западе, обстановки в странах Прибалтики в 1939–1940 гг., торгово-экономического сотрудничества СССР с Германией, а также важнейший документ от 21 июня 1941 г. – проект последнего предвоенного постановления Политбюро ЦК ВКП(б) о создании Южного фронта, новых назначениях и армиях второй линии обороны, принятого на вечернем совещании в кабинете И.В. Сталина 21 июня 1941 г. и записанного рукой Г.М. Маленкова.

Специально для Комплекса оцифрован большой массив документов из фондов ГА РФ – постановления Комитета обороны при СНК СССР, а также переписка, доклады Комитета обороны по вопросам развития оборонно-промышленного комплекса СССР в 1939–1941 гг.

В Комплекс включены документы РГАЭ, содержащие статистические показатели и справки о торгово-экономической деятельности СССР накануне войны, свидетельствующие, что в этот период основным торговым партнером Советского Союза являлись США, которые успешно заместили Великобританию, объявившую торговую блокаду Германии.

Впервые информационный ресурс предлагает ознакомиться со значительным объемом документов советской разведки, представленных для Комплекса архивами ФСБ и СВР России. Посетители Комплекса увидят разведдонесения Р. Зорге («Рамзая»), Н.Д. Скорнякова («Метеора»), членов «Кембриджской пятерки», немецких антифашистов из «Красной капеллы» и других, чьи имена пока остаются неизвестными широкой публике. Советская разведка смогла добыть значительный объем важной информации о подготовке Третьего рейха и его союзников к войне против СССР.

Белорусскими государственными архивами предоставлены для публикации документы Национального архива Республики Беларусь (НАРБ), Белорусского государственного архива кинофотофонодокументов (БГАКФФД), Белорусского государственного архива-музея литературы и искусства (БГАМЛИ). Среди них – постановления ЦК КП(б)Б о благоустройстве районных центров западных областей Белорусской ССР, создании сети здравоохранительных и образовательных учреждений, документы о проводимых оборонных мероприятиях, а также спецсообщения, разведсводки НКВД–НКГБ БССР о действиях германских войск на приграничных территориях Белорусской ССР и др.

Комплекс дополнен новыми выявленными документами периода до 1 сентября 1939 г. – докладными записками в Комитет обороны при СНК СССР, документами НКИД СССР о ходе переговоров по заключению советско-турецкого соглашения в апреле–августе 1939 г., служебной дипломатической перепиской с полпредством СССР в Италии, записями бесед полпреда СССР в Италии Б.Е. Штейна, находившегося в г. Хельсинки, с представителями правительства Финляндии о возможном обмене территориями и заключении торгового договора между СССР и Финляндией в марте 1939 г. и документами о дальнейшем развитии вопроса в июле–августе 1939 г. В Комплекс включены документы СВР России о работе советского резидента в Финляндии «Кина» в 1938 г., а также недавно рассекреченные в РГВА агентурные материалы Разведывательного управления РККА периода 1935–1937 гг. – всего более 150 документов.

В 2020 г. в Комплексе были размещены около 1800 архивных документов, фотографий, фрагментов кинохроники, представляющих предысторию Второй мировой войны с января 1933 г. по 31 августа 1939 г. Таким образом, на сегодняшний день Комплекс содержит около 5,5 тыс. оцифрованных архивных документов, фотографий и кинохроники. Работа по выявлению и рассекречиванию архивных документов, их оцифровке и размещению в составе Комплекса будет продолжена в 2022 г.

 

 

Ответственный исполнитель: Федеральное архивное агентство (Росархив)

Оператор: Президентская библиотека имени Б.Н. Ельцина Управления делами Президента Российской Федерации

 

Участники:

Архив внешней политики Российской Федерации МИД России (АВП РФ)

Российский государственный военный архив (РГВА)

Российский государственный архив Военно-Морского Флота (РГАВМФ)

Российский государственный архив социально-политической истории (РГАСПИ)

Государственный архив Российской Федерации (ГА РФ)

Российский государственный архив новейшей истории (РГАНИ)

Российский государственный архив кинофотодокументов (РГАКФД)

Российский государственный архив экономики (РГАЭ)

Российский государственный архив в г. Самаре (РГА в г. Самаре)

Центральный архив Министерства обороны Российской Федерации (ЦА МО РФ)

Архив СВР России

Архив ФСБ России

Федеральный архив Германии (Бундесархив)

Национальный архив Республики Беларусь (НАРБ)

Белорусский государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов (БГАКФФД)

Белорусский государственный архив-музей литературы и искусства (БГАМЛИ)

  • О комплексе

    В соответствии с п. 4 "к" Перечня поручений по реализации Послания Президента Федеральному Собранию Российской Федерации 15 января 2020 г. № Пр-113 Федеральное архивное агентство при участии архивных служб Министерства иностранных дел Российской Федерации, Министерства обороны Российской Федерации, Федеральной службы безопасности Российской Федерации, Службы внешней разведки Российской Федерации организует подготовку комплекса оцифрованных архивных документов, кино- и фотоматериалов, посвященных Второй мировой войне.

    На базе информационных ресурсов Президентской библиотеки имени Б.Н. Ельцина Управления делами Президента Российской Федерации в течение ряда лет в сети Интернет будут размещаться электронные копии архивных документов, отражающих предысторию, ход и итоги Второй мировой войны. 

    Выявление и оцифровка документов осуществляются на основе отечественных, трофейных и зарубежных архивных фондов.

    Подробнее

  • Статьи

    Филитов А.М. Мюнхенский сговор: историческая реальность и современные оценки
    Артизов А.Н., Кудряшов С.В. 1939 год. От «умиротворения» к войне

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: