Share content in social networks:

Peoples of Russia: Exhibition "Art of Bone Carving of Chukchi Craftsmen in the 1930s - 1950s" opened in Saint-Petersburg

12 January 2021

The Russian Ethnographic Museum opened the exhibition "Art of Bone Carving of Chukchi Craftsmen in the 1930s - 1950s", which will run until January 31, 2021. It is the first event in a series of small exhibitions devoted to arts and crafts of the Siberian Arctic peoples. The exposition "Arctic - an Inhabited Land" presents rarely exhibited items. They introduce to the world of Arctic hunters and reindeer breeders of Chukotka- the first Russian region which meets the sunrise.

Carving of walrus tusks and bones of marine animals is an ancient craft. At the turn of the first century BC - first century AD, early hunters carved walrus bones to create tools and utensils, as well as figurines of sacred game animals. The tradition of creating animalistic sculptures had been alive at the beginning of the XX century.

In the 1930s – 1950s, significant changes took place in the art of bone carving. The creation of a Uelen workshop in 1931, played a significant role in joining the two art schools (Dezhnevskaya and Uelenskaya) and the development of bone carving in Chukotka. Along with the old traditions, the Chukchi art acquired new ideas and features. New technology in work with bones of marine animals on a turning lathe gave the craftsmen new opportunities in creating more vivid figurines and sculptural compositions.

The presented exhibits are part of an extensive collection of authentic bone carving items by Chukchi craftsmen. It is the result of an activity of the famous ethnologist and public figure Valery Alexandrovich Tishkov.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Народы России: Выставка «Косторезное искусство чукотских мастеров 30–50-х годов XX века» открыта в Санкт-Петербурге

12 января 2021

В Российском этнографическом музее до 31 января 2021 года открыта выставка «Косторезное искусство чукотских мастеров 30–50-х годов XX века» – первая из серии небольших выставок по декоративно-прикладному искусству и культуре арктических народов сибирского региона. Представленные в экспозиционном пространстве выставки «Арктика – земля обитаемая» редко экспонируемые предметы открывают для посетителей музея своеобразное окно в мир арктических охотников и оленеводов Чукотки, которая первой встречает утро в России.

Художественная обработка клыков моржа и костей морских животных уходит вглубь веков. На рубеже I тыс. до н.э – I тыс. н.э древние охотники помимо орудий труда и утвари вырезали из костей моржа фигурки промысловых животных, имеющих сакральное значение. Традиции создания анималистической скульптуры сохранялись и в начале XX века.

В 1930–50-х годах в художественной обработке кости произошли значительные изменения. Важнейшую роль в объединении мастеров двух школ (дежнёвской и уэленской) и развитии косторезного искусства на Чукотке сыграло создание в 1931 году в п. Уэлен косторезной мастерской. Наряду с сохранением древних традиций, чукотское косторезное искусство наполнилось новым содержанием и приобрело иные черты. Новые технологические приёмы обработки кости морских животных на токарном станке расширили возможности мастеров в создании менее статичной мелкой пластики и скульптурных сюжетных композиций.

Представленные на выставке экспонаты – часть большой коллекции подлинных произведений косторезного искусства чукотских мастеров, являющейся результатом многолетней собирательской деятельности известного этнолога и общественного деятеля Валерия Александровича Тишкова.