Share content in social networks:

History and Culture: "The Art of Preservation" exhibition, devoted to the work of museum restorers, opened in Kolomenskoye

21 February 2021

The Moscow State Integrated Museum-Reserve launched the "The Art of Preservation" exhibition, devoted to the work of museum restorers.

The exhibition displays museum items both already restored and under restoration. It also features photographs before and after. They show all changes and transformations of the artworks in the hands of restorers. The icons illustrate the efforts to reveal the original painting from the darkened varnish. Restorer's tools and a video about the work of museum specialists tell about the conservation of ancient pieces of art.

The collection of the Moscow State Integrated Museum-Reserve comprises over 170 thousand items. The restoration of a particular exhibit depends on its material and involves a restorer with specific skills.

The restorers of the Museum-Reserve are engaged in the conservation of multiple historical and cultural monuments: details of gilded wooden carving and sculpture, furniture, ethnographic objects; fragments of white stone carving of demolished churches and architectural monuments; textile objects that are the most difficult to restore, because of delicate and fragile nature.

Unique monuments restored in Kolomenskoye have been shown at many exhibitions, including foreign ones.

The exhibition will run until February 13, 2022.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

История и культура: Выставка «Искусство сохранять», посвящённая работе музейных реставраторов, открылась в Коломенском

21 февраля 2021

Московский государственный объединённый музей-заповедник представляет выставку «Искусство сохранять», посвящённую работе музейных реставраторов.

На выставке демонстрируются музейные предметы уже отреставрированные и в процессе реставрации, а также фотографии до и после обновления, по которым можно увидеть как меняется и преображается произведение искусства в руках реставратора. Иконы проиллюстрируют труд реставраторов по раскрытию авторской живописи от потемневшей олифы. Реставрационные инструменты и видеофильм о работе музейных специалистов дополнят рассказ о деле сохранения древних памятников искусства.

Коллекция Московского государственного объединённого музея-заповедника составляет свыше 170 тысяч предметов. В зависимости от материала экспоната с ним работает реставратор с определённой специализацией.

Реставраторы музея-заповедника занимаются сохранением самых разных памятников истории и культуры: деталей деревянной золочёной резьбы и скульптуры, мебели, предметов этнографии; фрагментов белокаменной резьбы ныне безвозвратно утраченных церквей и архитектурных памятников; наиболее сложных для восстановления предметов из тканей, так как это очень ранимый и недолговечный материал.

Уникальные памятники, восстановленные в Коломенском, были показаны на многих выставках, в том числе и зарубежных.

Выставка открыта по 13 февраля 2022 г.