Share content in social networks:

History of Russia: Exhibition "The Sons of Kostroma in the Patriotic War of 1812" presented in Moscow

22 February 2021

An exhibition "The Sons of Kostroma in the Patriotic War of 1812" was launched at the "Battle of Borodino" Panorama Museum (Moscow). It features the exhibits from the Kostroma State Historical, Architectural and Art Museum-Reserve.

In 1812, representatives of all estates and regions of the Russian Empire united in the struggle against Napoleon. The residents of Kostroma also contributed to the victory.

Since July 1812, Kostroma Province had been part of the 3rd Militia District. Province formed five regiments and a separate battalion with a total of about 16 thousand people. In 1813-1814, the Kostroma Militia took part in the siege of the Glogau fortress.

Each company of the Kostroma Militia had its company emblem with the image of the monogram of Emperor Alexander I and the coat of arms of Kostroma. The exhibition features one of these emblems.

The Kostroma Museum-Reserve introduces the Moscow public with portraits of participants in the Patriotic War of 1812 by the outstanding Russian painters V. A. Tropinin and A. V. Polyakov. Polyakov was a native of Kostroma Province. In the 1820s, along with the English artist George Dawe, he participated in the creation of the grandiose Military Gallery of the Winter Palace in Saint-Petersburg.

The exposition showcases items of officer's camp life of the early XIX century and award documents of participants in the war of 1812 - natives of Kostroma Province. It includes the rare examples of cold arms of 1812 - the Russian golden sword with the inscription "For Courage" and the Prussian sabre with the image of the Iron Cross.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

История России: Выставка «Костромичи в Отечественной войне 1812 года» представлена в Москве

22 февраля 2021

В Музее-панораме «Бородинская битва» (Москва) открылась выставка «Костромичи в Отечественной войне 1812 года» при участии Костромского государственного историко-архитектурного и художественного музея-заповедника.

В 1812 году в борьбе против Наполеона объединились все сословия и регионы Российской империи. Свой вклад в победу внесли и жители Костромы.

С июля 1812 года Костромская губерния входила в 3-й ополченческий округ. В губернии было сформировано пять полков и отдельный батальон, общей численностью около 16 тысяч человек. В 1813–1814 годы Костромское ополчение принимало участие в осаде крепости Глогау.

Каждая рота Костромского ополчения имела свой ротный знак с изображением вензеля императора Александра I и герба Костромы. Один из знаков представлен на выставке.

Костромской музей-заповедник знакомит московскую публику с портретами участников Отечественной войны 1812 года работы выдающихся русских мастеров В. А. Тропинина и А. В. Полякова. Уроженец Костромской губернии А. В. Поляков вместе с английским живописцем Дж. Доу в 1820-е годы участвовал в создании грандиозной Военной галереи Зимнего дворца в Санкт-Петербурге.

На выставке представлены предметы офицерского походного быта начала XIX века и документы о наградах участников войны 1812 года – жителей Костромской губернии. В числе редких образцов холодного оружия Эпохи 1812 года – русская золотая шпага с надписью «За храбрость» и прусская сабля с изображением Железного креста.