Share content in social networks:

Society and Culture: Exhibition of Vladimir Makovsky's illustrations to Alexander Pushkin's works opened in Saint-Petersburg

22 February 2021

The exhibition of Vladimir Makovsky's illustrations to Alexander Pushkin's works from the collections of the Scientific Research Museum at the Russian Academy of Arts was opened at the Brodsky Museum-Apartment (Saint-Petersburg).

Vladimir Yegorovich Makovsky is usually known as a painter, but he also was an illustrator.

In the early 1880s, the artist created a series of illustrations for Alexander Pushkin's works. Numerous pencil drawings were intended for mass poet's publications, produced for city and country schools, gymnasiums, colleges and institutes.

Makovsky's drawings spotlight various literary genres of Pushkin's oeuvre: poems and fairy tales, verses and the novel "Eugene Onegin" (1823-1830), the historical drama "Boris Godunov" (1825), plays from the cycle "Little Tragedies" and the novel "The Captain's Daughter" (1836).

Makovsky's illustrations are very detailed and specific - they are almost a precise reflection of Pushkin's text.

A complete series of Makovsky's drawings illustrating Pushkin's works were part of the artist Isaac Brodsky's collection. Now it enters the collections of the Scientific Research Museum at the Russian Academy of Arts. It features more than 50 items and is exhibited in full for the first time.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Общество и культура: Выставка иллюстраций В. Е. Маковского к произведениям А. С. Пушкина открылась в Санкт-Петербурге

22 февраля 2021

В Музее-квартире И. И. Бродского (Санкт-Петербург) открылась выставка иллюстраций В. Е. Маковского к произведениям А. С. Пушкина из фондов Научно-исследовательского музея при Российской академии художеств.

Владимир Егорович Маковский, известный прежде всего как живописец, неоднократно выступал в качестве иллюстратора.

В начале 1880-х годов художник создал большой цикл иллюстраций к произведениям А. С. Пушкина. Многочисленные карандашные рисунки предназначались для массовых изданий сочинений поэта, выпускавшихся для городских и сельских школ, гимназий, реальных училищ и институтов.

В своих рисунках В. Е. Маковский обращался к различным литературным жанрам в творчестве Пушкина: поэмам и сказкам, отдельным стихотворениям и роману в стихах «Евгений Онегин» (1823–1830), исторической драме «Борис Годунов» (1825), пьесам из цикла «Маленькие трагедии» и роману «Капитанская дочка» (1836).

Иллюстрации Маковского очень подробны, детализированы и конкретны – они являются практически дословным отражением пушкинского текста.

Полная серия рисунков В. Е. Маковского, посвящённых произведениям А. С. Пушкина, входила в коллекцию художника Исаака Бродского и в настоящее время находится в фондах Научно-исследовательского музея при Российской академии художеств. Она насчитывает более 50 произведений и впервые экспонируется в полном объёме.