Share content in social networks:

History of Russia: Exhibition "Cossacks. History of the Cavalry Regiments of the Russian Imperial Army" launched in Saint-Petersburg

2 March 2021

The Military Historical Museum of Artillery, Engineers and Signal Corps (Saint-Petersburg) launched the exhibition "Cossacks. History of the Cavalry Regiments of the Russian Imperial Army". It highlights the unique military estate of the Russian Empire.

Modern science states that the Cossacks are an ethnic, social and historical community with several common characteristics. It unites all Cossacks, primarily Russians, as well as Ukrainians, Kalmyks, Buryats, Tatars, Bashkirs, etc.

The Cossacks appeared in the XIV century. By the end of the XV century, several large communities inhabited central Europe near main trade routes. They lived, in particular, in the lower reaches of rivers - Danube, Dnieper, Don, Vistula and Neretva. They acquired lots of immigrants from neighbouring provinces, some Polish territories and other states. As a result, by the XVI century, some groups turned into large free military formations called Cossack troops.

In 1802, the Russsian authorities developed the first Regulations for the Cossack troops. All Cossack men were committed to military service for 20 years. Unlike the regular army, which drafting protocol had some benefits and exclusions, the Cossacks were obliged to serve all without exception.

The Cossacks excelled on the battlefields of the Northern and Seven Years' Wars, during the Italian and Swiss campaigns of Alexander Suvorov in 1799. During the Patriotic War of 1812, the Cossack regiments as part of the Cossack corps of the cavalry general Mikhail Platov played a significant role in Napoleon's defeat. The Cossack units took an active part in the conquest of the Caucasus, Kazakhstan and Central Asia, the development of the territories of Siberia and the Far East.

The First World War engaged more than 300 thousand Cossacks. However, the war showed the ineffective use of large horse masses (the Cossacks were 2/3 of the Russian cavalry) considering an extensive frontline and a high density of infantry and artillery fire.

The new exhibition provides a detailed history of the Cossacks. It presents their weapons, uniforms and spotlights their feats.

The exposition includes such unique exhibits as an officer's sabre that belonged to Emperor Nicholas II; children's Cossack officer's cavalry sword of his son - Grand Prince Alexei Nikolaevich; an officer's Cossack sword of Grand Prince Mikhail Nikolayevich Romanov, etc.

The most precious item is a smoking pipe of Yemelyan Pugachev, the leader of the Peasant War of 1773-1775, who was one of the most famous Cossacks.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

История России: Выставка «Казаки. Из истории кавалерийских полков Русской императорской армии» представлена в Санкт-Петербурге

2 марта 2021

В Военно-историческом музее артиллерии, инженерных войск и войск связи (Санкт-Петербург) открылась выставка «Казаки. Из истории кавалерийских полков Русской императорской армии». Она посвящена особому воинскому сословию Российской империи.

Современная наука утверждает, что казачество – это этносоциальная и историческая общность, объединявшая по ряду особенностей всех казаков, в первую очередь русских, а также украинцев, калмыков, бурят, татар, башкир и др., как отдельные субэтносы своих народов в единое целое.

Казачество формировалось с XIV в., и уже к концу XV в. образовалось несколько крупных сообществ, проживавших в центральной Европе возле крупных торговых путей того времени, в частности, рек – в низовьях Дуная, Днепра, Дона, Вислы и Неретвы. К ним присоединилось заметное количество переселенцев из соседних княжеств, некоторых польских воеводств и прочих земель. В результате к XVI в. некоторые группы выросли в крупные вольные воинские формирования, называемые казачьими войсками.

В 1802 г. было разработано первое Положение для казачьих войск. Все казаки мужского пола считались обязанными к военной службе со сроком 20 лет. В отличие от регулярной армии, призыв в которую был обусловлен рядом льгот и изъятий, казаки были обязаны к службе все поголовно.

Воинская слава казачества укрепилась на полях сражений в Северную и Семилетнюю войны, во время Итальянского и Швейцарского походов А. В. Суворова в 1799 г. Во время Отечественной войны 1812 года казачьи полки, входившие в казачий корпус генерала от кавалерии М. И. Платова, сыграли важную роль в поражении Наполеона. Казачьи части приняли активное участие в покорении Кавказа, присоединении Казахстана и Средней Азии, освоении территорий Сибири и Дальнего Востока.

В период Первой мировой войны на полях сражений находилось более 300 тысяч казаков. Однако война показала неэффективность использования больших конных масс (казаки составляли 2/3 численности русской кавалерии) в условиях сплошного фронта и высокой плотности огневой мощи пехоты и артиллерии.

Более детально с историей казачества можно познакомиться на новой выставке, где представится возможность увидеть, с каким оружием воевали, какую форму носили и какими подвигами прославились казаки.

Среди уникальных экспонатов – офицерский клыч (разновидность сабли), принадлежавший императору Николаю II, детские казачьи офицерские шашки его сына – наследника цесаревича великого князя Алексея Николаевича, офицерская казачья шашка великого князя Михаила Николаевича Романова и др.

Наибольший интерес представляет мемориальная вещь, связанная с биографией едва ли не самого знаменитого казака – курительная трубка, которая принадлежала донскому казаку, предводителю Крестьянской войны 1773-1775 гг. Емельяну Пугачёву.