Share content in social networks:

Electronic resources: Royal Society opens access to historical journal archives

30 October 2011
Source: The Guardian

Beginning October 26th 2011 the historical archives of the peer-reviewed journal, Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society, have been made permanently free to online access from anywhere in the world, according to an announcement by The Royal Society.

The Royal Society, established in 1660, began publishing the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society - world's first scientific journal - in March 1665. In 1886, it was divided into two journals, Philosophical Transactions A (mathematics, physics and engineering) and Philosophical Transactions B (biological sciences), both of which are published to this day. Its historical archives are defined as all scientific papers published 70 years or longer ago. These historical archives include more than 60,000 scientific papers.

During its long history, the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society has published seminal papers by scientific luminaries such as Charles Darwin, Michael Faraday, and William Herschel; it helped launch the scientific career of Isaac Newton after he published this paper, New Theory about Light and Colours, in 1672, and it published Benjamin Franklin's account of his electrical kite experiment, which has achieved near-legendary status amongst American schoolchildren.

Opening its historical archive is part of the Royal Society's ongoing commitment to open access in scientific publishing. It coincides with The Royal Society's 5th annual Open Access Week, and also comes soon after the launch of its first ever fully open access journal, Open Biology. All of the Royal Society's journals provide free access to selected papers, hot-off-the-presses. Further, it's worth noting that all Proceedings B content from 2001 onwards is open access one year after publication, whilst all post-2001 Proceedings A content is open access two years after publication. The Royal Society's two newer journals, Biology Letters and Interface, are open access one year after publication.

"The release of these papers opens a fascinating window on the history of scientific progress over the last few centuries and will be of interest to anybody who wants to understand how science has evolved since the days of the Royal Society's foundation", said Professor Uta Frith FRS, Chair of the Royal Society library committee, in a press release.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Электронные ресурсы: Лондонское королевское общество открыло свободный доступ к архивам исторического журнала

30 октября 2011
Источник: The Guardian

26 октября 2011 г. Лондонское королевское общество (the Royal Society of London) объявило об открытии свободного доступа к электронным историческим архивам своего научного журнала под названием «Философские труды Королевского общества» (Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society).

Основанное в 1660 г., Королевское общество начало публикацию «Философских трудов» - первого научного журнала в мире – в марте 1665 г. В 1886 г. издание было разделено на “Philosophical Transactions A” (журнал по физико-математическим и техническим наукам) и “Philosophical Transactions B” (журнал по биологическим наукам), оба из которых издаются и по сей день. Под историческими архивами журнала понимаются все научные статьи, опубликованные 70 и более лет назад. Всего исторические архивы журнала насчитывают более 60 тыс. научных работ.

В течение всей своей долгой истории в «Философских трудах Королевского общества» публиковались важные труды таких светил науки как Чарльз Дарвин, Майкл Фарадей и Уильям Гершель. Журнал положил начало научной карьере Исаака Ньютона, после того как тот в 1672 г. опубликовал свою работу «Новая теория света и цветов» (New Theory about Light and Colours). Среди статей также имеется отчёт Бенджамина Франклина об эксперименте с воздушным змеем.

Открытие исторического архива журнала является частью инициативы Королевского общества по предоставлению свободного доступа к научным публикациям. Недавно Королевское общество объявило о наличии свободного доступа к журналу Open BiologyОткрытая биология»). Новость об открытии исторического архива «Философских трудов» совпала с проходящей V ежегодной Неделей открытого доступа (Open Access Week).

Королевское общество обеспечивает свободный доступ к избранным статьям всех своих научных журналов. Необходимо также отметить, что все выпуски «Proceedings B», начиная с 2001 г. и далее, свободно доступны в течение одного года после их публикации, тогда как содержание выпусков журнала «Proceedings A» также с 2001 г. доступно в течение двух лет после их выхода в свет. Такие новые издания Королевского общества как Biology Letters («Письма по биологии») и Interface («Связь») - междисциплинарный журнал, включающий статьи по естественным и биологическим наукам – находятся в открытом доступе в течение одного года после публикации.

«Свободный доступ, предоставленный к этим архивам, открывает удивительное окно в историю научного прогресса за последние несколько столетий. Они будут интересны всем тем, кто стремится понять, как развивалась наука с момента основания Королевского общества», - заявила Ута Фрит (Uta Frith), сотрудница Королевского общества, председатель библиотечного комитета Лондонского королевского общества.