Share content in social networks:

Anniversary of the defeat of the Nazi forces in Stalingrad battle

2 February 1943

On February 2 the Russian Federation celebrates the Military Glory Day of Russian. On this day in 1943 the Soviet army in the battle near Stalingrad smashed the German forces marking a radical turning point in the course of the Great Patriotic war and the World War II.

The battle for Stalingrad, which began on July 17, 1942, had a strategic significance. The one who won it would obtain the access to the oil regions of Caucasus and rich agricultural regions of Don and Kuban.

As a result of severe battles by the beginning of winter the Soviet forces succeeded to stop the enemy’s offensive. Having evaluated the situation and correlation of forces, the Soviet high command began to prepare a return attack that was codenamed ‘Uran’. In the course of the operation conducted with combined forces of three fronts, South-Western (Colonel General N.F. Vatutin), Stalingrad (Colonel General A.I. Eremenko) and Don (Lieutenant General K.K. Rokossovsky), it was intended to surround and destroy the enemy’s force near Stalingrad. In order to achieve this goal, in the main lines of advance there was provided a double and a triple superiority of forces.

As a result of counterattack which began on November 19, 1942 the Wehrmacht forces suffered serious losses, the remains were pushed aside and blocked. The operation on the surrounded force destruction codenamed “Circle” was completely under the authority of Don front. It joined all the forces set in motion near Stalingrad. Seeking to minimize the losses, on January 8 the Soviet command put forth to the 6th army commander General Field Marshal Paulus an ultimatum on cease of resistance which was declined by order from Berlin.

In the morning of January 10, 1943 after the artillery preparation, the Soviet forces assumed the offense dividing the surrounded force in two parts. On January 31 the enemy resistance in the Southern part of the city was broken down and the 6th army headed by Paulus himself yielded prisoners. The commander of the southern force Major General F. Roske followed his example.

On February 2 after the concentrated blows of artillery and aviation, the Northern group of German forces under the command of the Colonel General K. Shteker, the commander of the 11th army corps capitulated. The battle of Stalingrad which lasted 200 days and nights ended by the absolute victory of the Soviet forces.

In the course of the counterattack were completely destroyed 32 divisions and 3 brigades of the enemy, 16 divisions suffered 50-75% losses of the crew and lost their fighting efficiency. In all during the Stalingrad battle the fascist block armies lost about 25% of their forces operating on the Soviet-German front. Up to 1.5 million of the enemy officers and soldiers were killed, wounded and taken prisoners. The great losses of men and means affected badly the general situation of the Nazi Germany. The enemy’s defeat on Volga river marked the breaking point in the course of the Great Patriotic war and the World War II.

For the distinguished military services 55 formations and units were awarded the orders, 213 were transformed into the Guards ones, 46 received honorary names of Stalingrad, Don, Middle Don, Tatsyn, Kantemirov, etc.

On December 22, 1942 was established the medal ‘For the defense of Stalingrad’ which was awarded to over 750 thousand city defenders.

On May 8, 1965 Stalingrad was named ‘The hero city’.

In commemoration of the exploits of Stalingrad battle heroes in 1963-1967 a memorial complex was erected on Mamayev Kurgan.

Lit.: Самсонов А. М. Сталинградская битва. М., 1989; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://militera.lib.ru/h/samsonov1/index.html; Сталинградская битва [Электронный ресурс] // Победа. 1941-1945. 2004-2018. URL: http://victory.rusarchives.ru/index.php?p=32&sec_id=8.

Музей-заповедник «Сталинградская битва»: сайт. Бд. URL: http://www.stalingrad-battle.ru/.

From the Presidential library materials:

 

The Battle of Stalingrad. Combat operations (TASS Photo chronicle) // The Memory of the Great Victory: collection;

The Battle of Stalingrad. The might of the Russian arms: military operations during the Great Patriotic War 1941-1945 // The Memory of the Great Victory: collection.

Отмечается годовщина разгрома немецко-фашистских войск в Сталинградской битве

2 февраля 1943

2 февраля Российская Федерация празднует День воинской славы России. В этот день в 1943 г. советская армия в битве под Сталинградом  разгромила немецкие войска, обеспечив начало коренного перелома в ходе Великой Отечественной и Второй мировой войны.

Битва за Сталинград, начавшаяся 17 июля 1942 г., имела стратегическое значение. От её исхода зависело, кто будет иметь доступ к нефтяным районами Кавказа и богатым сельскохозяйственным районам Дона и Кубани.

В результате тяжёлых боёв к началу зимы советским войскам удалось остановить наступление противника.  Оценив обстановку и общее соотношение сил, советское командование приступило к подготовке ответного удара, получившего кодовое название «Уран». В ходе операции, проводившейся силами трёх фронтов — Юго-Западного (генерал-полковник Н. Ф. Ватутин), Сталинградского (генерал-полковник  А. И. Ерёменко) и Донского  (генерал-лейтенант К. К. Рокоссовский), — предполагалось окружить и уничтожить группировку противника под Сталинградом. Для этого на направлении главных ударов было обеспечено двойное и тройное превосходство сил.

В результате контрнаступления, начавшегося 19 ноября 1942 г., войска Вермахта понесли значительные потери, их остатки были оттеснены и блокированы. Проведение операции по уничтожению окружённой группировки под кодовым названием «Кольцо» целиком возлагалось на Донской фронт, в состав которого были преданы все войска, задействованные под Сталинградом. Стремясь минимизировать потери, советское командование 8 января предъявило командующему 6-й армии генерал-фельдмаршалу  Паулюсу ультиматум о прекращении сопротивления, который был отклонён по требованию Берлина.

Утром 10 января 1943 г. после артиллерийской подготовки советские войска перешли в наступление, в ходе которого расчленили окружённую группировку на две части. 31 января сопротивление противника в южной части города было сломлено, 6-я армия во главе с самим Паулюсом сдалась в плен. Его примеру последовал командующий южной группировки генерал-майор Ф. Роске.

2 февраля после массированных артиллерийских и авиационных ударов капитулировала северная группа немецких войск под командованием командира 11-го армейского корпуса, генерал-полковника К. Штрекера. Битва под Сталинградом, продолжавшаяся 200 дней и ночей, завершилась полной победой советских войск.

В ходе контрнаступления были полностью разгромлены 32 дивизии и 3 бригады противника, 16 дивизий понесли потери в личном составе от 50 до 75% и утратили боеспособность. Всего за время Сталинградской битвы армии фашистского блока потеряли около 25% сил, действовавших на советско-германском фронте. До 1,5 млн. солдат и офицеров противника было убито, ранено и взято в плен. Огромные потери сил и средств катастрофически отразились на общем положении фашистской Германии. Разгром врага на Волге ознаменовал начало коренного перелома в ходе Великой Отечественной войны и  Второй мировой войны в целом.

За боевые отличия, проявленные в ходе Сталинградской битвы, 55 соединений и частей были награждены орденами, 213 преобразованы в гвардейские, 46 получили почётные наименования Сталинградских, Донских, Среднедонских, Тацинских, Кантемировских и др.

22 декабря 1942 г. была учреждена медаль «За оборону Сталинграда», которую получило более 750 тыс. защитников города.

8 мая 1965 г. Сталинграду было присвоено звание «Города-героя».

В ознаменование подвига героев Сталинградской битвы в 1963-1967 гг. на Мамаевом кургане был сооружён мемориальный комплекс.

Лит.: Самсонов А. М. Сталинградская битва. М., 1989; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://militera.lib.ru/h/samsonov1/index.html; Сталинградская битва [Электронный ресурс] // Победа. 1941-1945. 2004-2015. URL: http://victory.rusarchives.ru/tematicheskiy-katalog/stalingradskaya-bitva.

Музей-заповедник «Сталинградская битва»: сайт. Б. д. URL: http://www.stalingrad-battle.ru/.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Боевые операции в период Великой Отечественной войны 1941-1945 гг. // Память о Великой Победе: коллекция.