Share content in social networks:

Birthday anniversary of S. P. Korolev, Soviet constructor of space rocket systems

12 January 1907

December 30, 1906 (January 12, 1907) in Zhitomir, in the family of a teacher of Russian literature was born a Soviet scientist, designer of space rocket systems, a member of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR, twice Hero of Socialist Labor Sergei Pavlovich Korolev.

In 1924, Sergei Pavlovich graduated from Odessa construction vocational school and filed a request for admission to the Air Forces Academy. The question of acceptance was delayed, and he entered the Kiev Polytechnic Institute, Aviation Department, then transferred to the Bauman Higher Technical School in Moscow. At this time, Sergei Korolev was designing and building aircrafts: gliders “Koktebel", "Red Star "and a light airplane SK-4, designed to achieve a record distance flight. These works have clearly demonstrated the talent of Korolev as aircraft designer.

In 1930, Sergei Pavlovich graduated from Moscow Higher Technical School and began working at the Central Institute of aerodynamic, and in 1933 joined the newly established Rocket Research Institute. In RRI Korolev was working on creation of cruise missiles with a gyroscopic autopilot and a guidance system, equipped with a liquid rocket engine designed by V. Glushko. In addition, he worked on the project of a rocket glider (rocket glider RP-318-1, created on the basis of Korolev’s airframe and Glushko’s engine, made its first flight on February 28, 1940).

At the end of 1930 on false charges of sabotage Korolev was arrested, sentenced to 10 years of imprisonment in labor camps of a strict regime and sent to the Kolyma.

July 27, 1944 by decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR Korolev and several other staff members of the controlled-access Construction Bureau (CB) were expunged from previous convictions. After the war ended, in the second half of 1945, Sergei Korolev, among other specialists, was sent to Germany to study German technology. Of particular interest to him was the German V-2 rocket,   having a flight range of about 300 km while its starting weight was about 13 tons.

From 1946 until the end of his life Sergei Korolev was Chief designer of long-range ballistic missiles, rocket and space systems. In mid-1950s in Korolev’s CB was created the famous R-7 - two-stage rocket, using which on October 4, 1957 was put into near-earth orbit the first artificial Earth satellite in the history of mankind. Its flight was a resounding success and gained for our country a high international prestige.

In 1958, Korolev received the title of academician. Since 1959, he directed the research program of the Moon. Under this program, several spacecrafts were sent to the Moon, including vehicles with a soft landing.

April 12, 1961 Korolev and his team conducted a successful launch of spacecraft "Vostok-1" with cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin on board. This flight opened the era of manned spaceflight. The similar flight in the U.S. was made more than a year later.

The founder of practical astronautics, an outstanding designer and organizer of the works on creation of space rocket technology in the USSR, died in the sixtieth year of his life on January 14, 1966. The urn containing his ashes was installed on Red Square in the Kremlin wall.

In the history of space exploration with the name of Korolev is associated the era of the first remarkable achievements. Scientific and technical ideas of Korolev have been widely used in rocket and space technology. Under his leadership, were created many geophysical and ballistic missiles, launch vehicles and manned spacecrafts Vostok and Voskhod, on board of which, for the first time in history, were made man’s space flight and man’s space walk. Rocket and space systems, the development of which was led by Korolev, allowed for the first time in the world to launch artificial satellites of the Earth and the Sun, flights of unmanned interplanetary stations to the Moon, Venus and Mars, make a soft landing on the lunar surface.

For outstanding contribution to the defense of the motherland and the development of practical astronautics, Academician Sergei Pavlovich Korolev was twice named a Hero of Socialist Labor (1956, 1961), he was awarded the Lenin Prize (1957) and a gold medal of K. E. Tsiolkovsky. The name of Korolev as one of the founders of practical astronautics was given to the largest formation (thalassoeidés) on the reverse side of the Moon.

Lit.: Апенченко О. Сергей Королёв. М., 1969; Асташенков П. Т. Академик С. П. Королёв. М., 1969; Гордость твоя, Поморье! Архенгельск, 2005; Королёв Сергей Павлович // Большая советская энциклопедия. М., 1969-1978; То же [Электронный ресурс] URL: http://slovari.yandex.ru/~книги/БСЭ/Королёв%20Сергей%20Павлович/; Сергей Павлович Королёв [Электронный ресурс] // Федеральное космическое агентство (Роскосмос). Б. д. URL:http://www.federalspace.ru/main.php?id=102.

From the Presidential library materials:

Cosmonauts Training Center created in USSR // On this day. 11 January 1960;

Pilot-cosmonaut of USSR A. A. Leonov the first in the world to conduct a space walk // On this day. 18 March 1965;

Foundation of “Baikonur” Space Center // On this day. 2 June 1955;

Open Space: collection;

The first woman-cosmonaut Valentina Tereshkova flies to space // On this day. 16 June 1963;

A new arm of the service, Space forces, created under the Decree of the RF President // On this day. 24 March 2001.

Родился советский учёный, конструктор ракетно-космических систем Сергей Павлович Королёв

12 января 1907

30 декабря 1906 г. (12 января 1907 г.) в Житомире в семье преподавателя русской словесности родился советский учёный, конструктор ракетно-космических систем, академик АН СССР, дважды Герой Социалистического Труда Сергей Павлович Королёв.

В 1924 г. Сергей Павлович окончил Одесскую строительную профессиональную школу и в этом же году подал просьбу о зачислении в Академию воздушного флота. Решение вопроса о зачислении затянулось, и он поступил в Киевский политехнический институт на авиационное отделение, затем перевёлся в Московское высшее техническое училище им. Н. Э. Баумана. В это время Сергей Королёв проектировал и строил летательные аппараты: планеры «Коктебель», «Красная Звезда» и лёгкий самолет СК-4, предназначенный для достижения рекордной дальности полёта. Эти работы показали явные способности Королёва как авиационного конструктора.

В 1930 г. Сергей Павлович закончил МВТУ и начал работать в Центральном аэродинамическом институте, а в 1933 г. перешёл в только что организованный Реактивный НИИ. В РНИИ Королёв занимался созданием крылатых ракет с гироскопическим автопилотом и с гирокомандной системой наведения, снабжённых жидкостным ракетным двигателем конструкции В. Глушко. Кроме того, он работал над проектом ракетоплана (ракетоплан РП-318-1, созданный на базе планера Королёва и двигателя Глушко, совершил первый полёт 28 февраля 1940 г.).

В конце 1930-х гг. по ложным обвинениям во вредительстве Королёв был арестован, осуждён на 10 лет заключения в исправительно-трудовых лагерях строгого режима и отправлен на Колыму.

27 июля 1944 г. по указу Президиума Верховного Совета СССР Королёв и ряд других сотрудников режимного КБ были досрочно освобождены со снятием судимости. После окончания войны во второй половине 1945 г. Сергей Королёв в числе других специалистов был командирован в Германию для изучения немецкой техники. Особый интерес для него представляла немецкая ракета V-2 (Фау-2), обладавшая дальностью полёта около 300 км при стартовой массе около 13 т.

С 1946 г. и до конца жизни Сергей Королёв был Главным конструктором баллистических ракет дальнего действия, ракетно-космических систем. В середине 1950-х гг. в КБ Королёва была создана знаменитая Р-7 — двухступенчатая ракета, с помощью которой 4 октября 1957 г. на околоземную орбиту был выведен первый в истории человечества искусственный спутник Земли. Его полёт имел ошеломляющий успех и создал нашей стране высокий международный авторитет.

В 1958 г. Королёв получил звание академика. С 1959 г. руководил программой исследований Луны. В рамках этой программы к Луне было направлено несколько космических аппаратов, в том числе аппаратов с мягкой посадкой.

12 апреля 1961 г. Королёв вместе со своим коллективом осуществил успешный запуск космического корабля «Восток-1» с космонавтом Юрием Гагариным на борту. С этого полёта началась эра пилотируемой космонавтики. Аналогичный полёт в США был осуществлён более года спустя.

Основоположник практической космонавтики, выдающийся конструктор и организатор работ по созданию ракетно-космической техники в СССР скончался на шестидесятом году жизни 14 января 1966 г. Урна с его прахом была установлена на Красной площади в Кремлёвской стене.

В истории освоения космического пространства с именем Королёва связана эпоха первых замечательных достижений. Научные и технические идеи Королёва получили широкое применение в ракетной и космической технике. Под его руководством были созданы многие баллистические и геофизические ракеты, ракеты-носители и пилотируемые космические корабли «Восток» и «Восход», на которых впервые в истории совершены космический полёт человека и выход человека в космическое пространство. Ракетно-космические системы, во главе разработки которых стоял Королёв, позволили впервые в мире осуществить запуски искусственных спутников Земли и Солнца, полёты автоматических межпланетных станций к Луне, Венере и Марсу, произвести мягкую посадку на поверхность Луны.

За выдающийся вклад в оборону Родины и в развитие практической космонавтики академик Сергей Павлович Королёв был дважды удостоен звания Героя Социалистического Труда (1956, 1961), ему была присуждена Ленинская премия (1957) и золотая медаль имени К. Э. Циолковского. Имя Королёва, как одного из основоположников практической космонавтики, присвоено крупнейшему образованию (талассоиду) на обратной стороне Луны.

Лит.: Апенченко О. Сергей Королёв. М., 1969; Асташенков П. Т. Академик С. П. Королёв. М., 1969; Гордость твоя, Поморье! Архенгельск, 2005; Королёв Сергей Павлович // Большая советская энциклопедия. Т. 13. М., 1973; Сергей Павлович Королёв [Электронный ресурс] // Федеральное космическое агентство (Роскосмос). Б. д. URLhttp://www.federalspace.ru/main.php?id=102.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

В СССР создан Центр подготовки космонавтов // День в истории. 11 января 1960 г.;

Лётчик-космонавт СССР А. А. Леонов совершил первый в мире выход в открытый космос // День в истории. 18 марта 1965 г.;

Основание космодрома Байконур // День в истории. 2 июня 1955 г.;

Открытый Космос: коллекция;

Полёт в космос первой женщины-космонавта // День в истории. 16 июня 1963 г.;

Указом Президента Российской Федерации создан новый род войск — Космические войска // День в истории. 24 марта 2001 г.