Share content in social networks:

Charter of the Imperial St. Petersburg Yacht Club was signed

7 October 1846

On September 25 (October 7) 1846 Nicholas I signed the Charter of the Imperial St. Petersburg Yacht Club — the first official yacht club in Russia.

The history of sailing sport in Russia dates back to the times of Peter I, when in April 1718 the Emperor set up the “Neva Poteshny Fleet” (literary: Neva Amusement Fleet) in St. Petersburg. With a special decree Tsar ordered not only his admirals, shipwrights and doctors, but also dignitaries, bishops and even monks “who abide in St. Petersburg, to sail across the Neva River if the wind permits”. He granted them “perpetual and hereditary possession” of 141 vessels, and prohibited to use them for transportation or any other needs, “because vessels have been granted to be used like carriages and coaches on the road, and not like dung carts”. Meanwhile on the Fontanka River bank opposite the Summer Garden was established a “particular” (civil) shipyard responsible for building fairly small sport and travelling ships for “…the beauty of the reigning city, as well as for amusement of citizens, but still more for the best training”.

After the death of Peter I the “Neva Poteshny Fleet” ceased to exist and it was only in 1840s during the reign of Nicholas I, that the first St. Petersburg Imperial Yacht Club was officially registered.

To run this institution a special committee was set up which included Duke A.Ya. Lobanov-Rostovsky, Rear-Admiral M.A. Putyatin, I.A. Ribeaupierre, Count I.A. Shuvalov, Duke B.D. Golitsyn and Count F.K. Apraksin. Among its honorary members were Admirals F.F. Bellingshausen and M.P. Lazarev — discoverers of Antarctica, and also Admiral F.P. Litke — explorer of the Arctic Ocean, initiator of foundation of the Russian Geographic Society and its vice chairman.

The first paragraph of the society’s charter read that the yacht club was given the name of the Imperial. Accordingly in the picture of its flag (the white with a blue cross) appeared an image of the Imperial crown. The charter also stipulated that only noblemen, who owned “a sailing vessel not less than 20 t in weight, which did not have a trading purpose” were allowed to become members of the yacht club.

At first the member list of the yacht club numbered only 19 people, who possessed five yachts. These were mainly representatives of military élite, court officials, representatives of foreign states’ diplomatic services.

On July 8 (20) 1847 members of the yacht club held the first sailing race in Russia, which brought together seven yachts. The winner was called the tender “Varyag”.

As long as the club’s yachts were equaled to military vessels with a right to hold St. Andrew’s Flag during long voyages, their permanent crew often included Navy officers and Guards depots sailors, seldom hired sailors.

An active work of the Imperial St. Petersburg Yacht Club members lasted only for about 12 years, which was caused by the Crimean War and loss of interest to sailing sport (more and more often members of the yacht club were buying more comfortable steam vessels, unlike yachts). The last sailing race launched by the yacht club took place in 1859.

In 1860 was officially set up the first public St. Petersburg River Yacht Club, with a larger number of members but smaller sized yachts.

Until 1917 about 70 sport associations, which practiced sailing, rowing and other sports were operating in Russia.

Lit.: Ларионов А. Л. Из истории императорских яхт российского флота // Гангут. 2000. № 22-24; Леонтьев Е. П. Школа яхтенного рулевого. М., 1974; Санкт-Петербургский Императорский яхт-клуб // Большая иллюстрированная энциклопедия яхт-клубов. М., 2005.

From the Presidential library materials:

Полное собрание законов Российской империи. СПб., 1847. Т. 21, отд-ние 2: 1846. № 20466. С. 311.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Подписан устав Императорского Санкт-Петербургского яхт-клуба

7 октября 1846

25 сентября (7 октября) 1846 г. Николаем I был подписан устав Императорского Санкт-Петербургского яхт-клуба — первого официального яхт-клуба России.

История парусного спорта в России восходит ко времени Петра I, когда в апреле 1718 г. императором был основан в Санкт-Петербурге «Невский потешный флот». Специальным указом царь повелел не только своим адмиралам, корабельным мастерам и врачам, но и сановникам, архиереям и даже монахам «которые в Петербурге обретаются, во время ветра ездить Невою-рекой на судах парусами». Для этого он раздал им «в вечное и потомственное владение» 141 судно, запретив использовать эти суда для перевозки и каких-либо иных надобностей, «ибо сии суды даны, дабы их употребляли так, как на сухом пути кареты и коляски, а не как навозные телеги». Одновременно на берегу Фонтанки, напротив Летнего сада, была создана Партикулярная верфь по строительству небольших спортивных и разъездных судов для «…красоты царствующего града, так и для увеселения своего народа, наипаче же для лучшего обучения».

После смерти Петра I «Невский потешный флот» прекратил свое существование и только в 40-е гг. XIX в., в царствование Николая I, был официально зарегистрирован первый Санкт-Петербургский императорский яхт-клуб.

Для руководства этим учреждением был образован специальный комитет в составе князя А. Я. Лобанова-Ростовского, контр-адмирала М. А. Путятина, И. А. Рибопьера, графа И. А. Шувалова, князя Б. Д. Голицына и графа Ф. К. Апраксина. В числе почётных членов состояли адмиралы Ф. Ф. Беллинсгаузен и М. П. Лазарев — первооткрыватели Антарктиды, а также адмирал Ф. П. Литке — исследователь Северного Ледовитого океана, инициатор создания Русского Географического общества и его вице-председатель.

Первый параграф устава Общества гласил, что яхт-клубу присваивалось наименование Императорского. Соответственно на утверждённом рисунке его флага (белого с синим крестом) появилось изображение императорской короны. Уставом также определялось, что членами яхт-клуба могли быть только дворяне, владеющие «морским парусным судном не менее, как в 20 т, и которое не имело торгового назначения».

В списке членов яхт-клуба значилось поначалу всего 19 человек, владевших пятью яхтами. В основном это были представители военной элиты, придворные чины, представители дипломатических служб иностранных государств.

8 (20) июля 1847 г. члены нового яхт-клуба провели первую в России парусную гонку, в которой участвовало семь яхт. Победителем стал тендер «Варяг».

Поскольку яхты клуба приравнивались к военным судам с правом несения в дальнем плавании Андреевского флага, постоянные команды их чаще всего комплектовались флотскими офицерами и матросами гвардейских экипажей, реже наёмными моряками.

Активная деятельность членов Императорского Санкт-Петербургского яхт-клуба продолжалась лишь около 12 лет, причинами тому послужили Крымская война и потеря интереса к парусному спорту (всё чаще члены яхт-клуба приобретали не яхты, а более комфортабельные паровые суда). Последнюю свою парусную гонку яхт-клуб провёл в 1859 г.

В 1860 г. был официально учреждён первый общедоступный всесословный Санкт-Петербургский речной яхт-клуб, с большим числом членов, но с яхтами меньших размеров.

До 1917 г. в России действовало около 70 спортивных объединений, практикующих парусный, гребной и другие виды спорта.

Лит.: Ларионов А. Л. Из истории императорских яхт российского флота // Гангут. 2000. № 22-24; Леонтьев Е. П. Школа яхтенного рулевого. М., 1974; Санкт-Петербургский Императорский яхт-клуб // Большая иллюстрированная энциклопедия яхт-клубов. М., 2005.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Полное собрание законов Российской империи. СПб., 1847. Т. 21, отд-ние 2: 1846. № 20466. С. 311.