Share content in social networks:

The decree “On declaring the scientific, literary, musical and art works the national heritage” established

26 November 1918

On November 26, 1918 the Council of the Peoples’ Commissars of the RSFSR issued a decree “On declaring scientific, literary, musical and art works the national heritage”.

In accordance with the decree it became possible to declare the published and not published works of the dead and living authors the heritage of the RSFSR. The works were declared the national heritage and the organizations using them had to pay the authors’ emoluments according to the fixed rates.  

The dead authors’ heirs’ rights were not usually recognized in accordance with the Council of the Peoples’ Commissars decree of April 28, 1918 “About the inheritance abolishment”. Though the heirs obtained a support in the form of a living wage but the circle of heirs or the expiration date of the succession were not determined.

The authors whose works were not announced the national heritage reserved all the rights on them. The decree established that “the works not declared the national heritage could not be multiplied and distributed without the author’s agreement”. The author’s rights for the works not declared the national heritage remained reserved during 6 months after the author’s death. Enjoying the granted authority, the Peoples’ Commissariat for Education of the RSFSR declared the national heritage the works of 47 writers and 17 composers.

In 1925-1928 the author’s rights Principles were approved. Later they developed into a law of RSFSR “On the author’s rights” (of October 8, 1928). In accordance with it the authors had the exclusive rights for their works valuable for 25 years from the day of the work’s first edition (publishing). From 1928 the author’s rights were reserved during the whole author’s life. The author’s rights were transferred to the heirs for 15 years after the author’s death.

Lit.: Антимонов Б. С., Флейшиц Е. А. Авторское право. М., 1957; Рузакова О. А. Право интеллектуальной собственности. М., 2004.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Издан декрет «О признании научных, литературных, музыкальных и художественных произведений государственным достоянием»

26 ноября 1918

26 ноября 1918 г. был издан декрет Совета народных комиссаров РСФСР «О признании научных, литературных, музыкальных и художественных произведений государственным достоянием».

В соответствии с данным декретом предоставлялась возможность признавать достоянием РСФСР опубликованные и неопубликованные произведения умерших и живых авторов. Произведения объявлялись достоянием государства, за их использование организации-пользователи должны были выплачивать авторам гонорар по установленным ставкам.

Права наследников умерших авторов, по общему правилу, не признавались, что согласовывалось с декретом СНК от 28 апреля 1918 г. «Об отмене наследования». Правда, наследникам гарантировалось содержание в размере прожиточного минимума, хотя ни круг наследников, ни срок действия наследственных прав не оговаривались.

За авторами произведений, не объявленных достоянием государства, сохранялись все права по распоряжению ими. Декрет устанавливал, что «не объявленные государственным достоянием произведения не могут быть при жизни автора размножены и распространены иначе как по соглашению с автором». Срок авторско-правовой охраны произведений, не объявленных достоянием государства, составлял 6 месяцев со дня смерти автора. Пользуясь предоставленными полномочиями, Наркомпрос РСФСР объявил достоянием государства произведения 47 писателей и 17 композиторов.

В 1925-1928 гг. были приняты Основы авторского права, а в их развитие — Закон РСФСР «Об авторском праве» (от 8 октября 1928 г.). За всеми авторами признавалось исключительное право на созданные ими произведения, которое действовало в течение 25 лет с момента первого издания (опубликования) произведения. С 1928 г. авторское право стало охраняться в течение всей жизни автора. Переход авторского права к наследникам предусматривался на 15 лет после смерти автора.

Лит.: Антимонов Б. С., Флейшиц Е. А. Авторское право. М., 1957; Рузакова О. А. Право интеллектуальной собственности. М., 2004.