Share content in social networks:

Presidential Library to present the history of Russia’s “first women’s university”

8 October – 14 November 2018

The exhibition “The Library as a Mirror of the Bestuzhev Courses: 140th Anniversary of Foundation of the Higher Women's (Bestuzhev) Courses” is open until November 14, 2018, Senate Square, 3. Residents and guests of St. Petersburg have a chance to see rare publications, photographs, documents, and other rarities, which cast light on the history of Russia’s first “women's university”. The exhibition is a joint project of the Presidential Library and St. Petersburg State University.   

Higher Women’s (Bestuzhev) Courses – a  unique phenomenon in our country - were set up in October 1878. It was then that women were given an opportunity to receive higher education for the first time.

Visitors of the exhibition will learn about the development of women’s university education, establishment of the Higher Women's Courses, first women scientists, public and political figures. Anniversary albums, compiled by girls for personal use, will give an opportunity to “see” Bestuzhev courses female students through their own eyes.

The Bestuzhev Library, the library that was opened at the courses, today is the fundamental book collection, one of the largest university libraries in St. Petersburg, a notable example of the national library culture. Visitors of the exhibition in the Presidential Library will be able to discover it, learn about the estate library of Prince A. D. Saltykov, book collections of the famous literary critic N. M. Mikhailovsky, Professor of History Ye. Ye. Zamyslovsky and other prominent people.

The St. Petersburg State University M. Gorky Research Library and the Central State Archive of Film, Photo and Sound Documents of St. Petersburg are partners of the exhibition.

To visit the exposition, please call (812) 334-25-14 or send an e-mail excursion@prlib.ru.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

История «первого женского университета» России – на выставке в Президентской библиотеке

8 октября – 14 ноября 2018

Раритетные издания, фотографии, документы, а также другие редкие материалы на выставке в Президентской библиотеке рассказывают жителям и гостям Петербурга историю первого в России «женского университета». Экспозиция «Бестужевские курсы в зеркале библиотеки: к 140-летию основания Высших женских (Бестужевских) курсов», подготовленная совместно с Санкт-Петербургским государственным университетом, открыта до 14 ноября 2018 года на Сенатской площади, д. 3.

Высшие женские (Бестужевские) курсы, образованные в октябре 1878 года, – явление для нашей страны уникальное. Именно тогда у женщин впервые появилась возможность получить полноценное высшее образование.

Посетители выставки узнают о развитии университетского женского образования, возникновении Высших женских курсов, воспитании первых русских женщин-учёных, общественных и политических деятелей, смогут «увидеть» бестужевок их же глазами – через юбилейные альбомы, которые девушки составляли о себе и для себя.

При Бестужевских курсах была образована библиотека – сегодня фундаментальное книжное собрание, одна их крупнейших вузовских библиотек Санкт-Петербурга, редчайший памятник отечественной библиотечной культуры. Посетители экспозиции в Президентской библиотеке смогут прикоснуться к нему, ознакомиться с усадебной библиотекой князя А. Д. Салтыкова, именными книжными коллекциями известного литературного критика Н. М. Михайловского, профессора истории Е. Е. Замысловского и других выдающихся людей.

Партнёрами выставки выступили Научная библиотека им. М. Горького Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета, Центральный государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов Санкт-Петербурга.

Для посещения экспозиции необходимо предварительно записаться по телефону (812) 334-25-14 либо отправить электронное письмо на адрес: excursion@prlib.ru.