Share content in social networks:

Admiral Fyodor Ushakov’s feat and legacy to be highlighted at the Presidential Library’s video lecture

18 February 2020

On February 18, 2020 at 11:00, the Presidential Library will host a video lecture from the Knowledge of Russia series dedicated to the outstanding Russian naval commander, Admiral Fyodor Ushakov (1744–1817), who was ranked a saint in 2001. The event will be broadcasted live on the library’s portal, in the official group on the VKontakte social network and on the institution’s YouTube channel.

A descendant of the famous naval commander, Father George (Yuri Vasilievich Ushakov), rector of the Church of the Archangel Michael in Melnitsa village in Pskov Region will be as a guest of honor at the event. He has a very interesting and at the same time difficult fate. He was born in Leningrad on the day of the death of Admiral Ushakov, October 15, 1937, in the family of the famous artist Vasily Ushakov. The child survived the difficult siege days, then traveled around the country a lot, but returned to his hometown, graduated from the Mukhina Leningrad Higher Art and Industrial School (today the Saint Petersburg Stieglitz State Academy of Art and Design), In 1977 he was ordained a deacon, and later a priest. Guests of the Presidential Library will be able to ask Father George their questions, including family stories related to the name of the illustrious ancestor and his heroic merits.  

Admiral Ushakov did not lose a single battle, for which he was compared with Generalissimo Alexander Suvorov. The highlight of his career was the campaign in the Mediterranean Sea in 1798-1800. Then the Black Sea Fleet, under his command, expelled French troops from Greece and Italy, and the successful assault on the Corfu fortress held during the company took a firm place in textbooks on military history, literature and cinema. Those significant events, relying on the “Historical Journal of Admiral Ushakov’s Squadron in the Mediterranean Sea in 1798–1800” and other unique documents from the collections of the Russian State Archive of the Navy will be told about by Alexei Yemelin, Candidate of Historical Sciences.

Via video conferencing mode from Kaliningrad Deputy Director, Head of the Department of Information Support and Exhibition Activities Denis Losev, Ph.D. (Military Sciences), assistant professor of tactics at the Military Training and Research Center branch of the Kuznetsov Naval Academy will tell about “The image of the invincible Admiral Ushakov in the training of military personnel”.

The history of the naval educational institution, the Kronstadt Naval Cadet Military Corps of the Ministry of Defence of the Russian Federation will be told by the head of the educational work department Igor Leonidovich Masich.

 

Accreditation of media representatives is until February 17, 2020, 15:00.

Please forward applications for accreditation following the attached form with the note “Media accreditation” to the email addresses: media@prlib.ruhudjakova@prlib.ru Alexandra Khudyakova, tel.: (812) 305-16-21, ext. 167; mob. +7 (981) 788-28-08.

The letter should include the name, date and place of birth, passport data (series, number, place of registration), a list of carry-on equipment, contact numbers, the name of the media.

Please note that media representatives should send applications for accreditation and arrive at the event in advance.

 

Admission to the Presidential Library is possible only by prior registration and upon showing a passport: media representatives go through the entrance № 2; participants and guests of the event go through the entrance № 1.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

О подвиге и наследии адмирала Ф. Ф. Ушакова расскажут на видеолектории в Президентской библиотеке

18 февраля 2020

18 февраля 2020 года в 11:00 в Президентской библиотеке состоится видеолекторий из цикла «Знание о России», посвящённый выдающемуся российскому флотоводцу, адмиралу Фёдору Фёдоровичу Ушакову (1744–1817), причисленному в 2001 году к лику святых. Мероприятие будет транслироваться в прямом эфире на портале библиотеки, в официальной группе в социальной сети «ВКонтакте» и на youtube-канале учреждения.

В качестве почётного гостя приглашён потомок знаменитого флотоводца – отец Георгий  (Юрий Васильевич Ушаков), настоятель храма Архангела Михаила в деревне Мельницы Псковской области. У него очень интересная и в то же время непростая судьба. Родился в Ленинграде в день преставления адмирала Ф. Ф. Ушакова, 15 октября 1937 года, в семье известного художника Василия Ушакова. Ребёнком пережил тяжёлые блокадные дни, затем много ездил по стране, но вернулся в родной город, закончил Ленинградское высшее художественно-промышленное училище имени В. И. Мухиной (сегодня это Санкт-Петербургская художественно-промышленная академия имени А. Л. Штиглица), в 1977 году принял сан дьякона, а позже – священника. Гости Президентской библиотеки смогут задать отцу Георгию интересующие их вопросы, в том числе и о семейных историях, связанных с именем прославленного предка, его героических заслугах.

Как известно, венцом карьеры адмирала Ф. Ф. Ушакова, не проигравшего ни одного сражения, за что его сравнивали с генералиссимусом А. В. Суворовым, стала кампания в Средиземном море в 1798–1800 годах. Тогда Черноморский флот под его командованием изгнал из Греции и Италии французские войска, а состоявшийся в ходе компании успешный штурм крепости Корфу  занял прочное место в учебниках по военной истории, в литературе и кинематографе. О тех знаменательных событиях, опираясь на «Исторический  журнал эскадры адмирала Ф. Ф. Ушакова в Средиземном море в 1798–1800 гг.»  и другие уникальные документы из фонда Российского государственного архива Военно-Морского Флота (РГАВМФ), расскажет Алексей Юрьевич Емелин, кандидат исторических наук, и. о. заместителя директора, начальник отдела информационного обеспечения и выставочной деятельности РГАВМФ.

Перед гостями Президентской библиотеки по видео-конференц-связи из Калининграда с сообщением на тему «Образ непобедимого адмирала Ф. Ф. Ушакова в подготовке военных кадров» выступит Денис Евгеньевич Лосев – кандидат военных наук, доцент кафедры тактики  филиала Военного учебно-научного центра Военно-Морского Флота «Военно-морская академия имени Адмирала Флота Советского Союза Н. Г. Кузнецова».

Об истории военно-морского учебного заведения, Кронштадского морского кадетского военного корпуса Министерства обороны Российской Федерации (КМКВК), расскажет заведующий отделом воспитательной работы КМКВК Игорь Леонидович Масич.  

 

Аккредитация представителей СМИ заканчивается 17 февраля 2020 года в 15:00.

Заявки на аккредитацию просим направлять по прилагаемой форме с пометкой «Аккредитация СМИ» на электронные адреса: media@prlib.ru, hudjakova@prlib.ru Александре Худяковой, тел.: (812) 305-16-21, доб. 167; моб. +7 (981) 788-28-08.

В письме необходимо указать ФИО, дату и место рождения, паспортные данные (серию, номер, место регистрации), перечень проносимой аппаратуры, контактные телефоны, наименование СМИ.

Обращаем внимание представителей СМИ, что направлять заявки на аккредитацию и прибывать на мероприятие необходимо заблаговременно.

Вход в Президентскую библиотеку осуществляется только по предварительной регистрации и при наличии паспорта: представителей СМИ – через подъезд № 2; участников и гостей мероприятия – через подъезд № 1.