Share content in social networks:

The end of Yalta conference of the heads of governments of the USSR, USA and Great Britain

11 February 1945

By the beginning of 1945 as a result of the Soviet Army offensive and the invasion of Normandy by the Allied forces, the military actions were transferred to the German territory and the war against the Nazi entered its final stage. Due to these events the Allies of Russia in the World War II decided to summon a conference to discuss the issues of the postwar reorganization of Europe.

The meeting of the heads of governments of the USSR, USA and Great Britain was held from February 4 to February 11, 1945 in the Livadia Palace, near Yalta. Besides the President of the People’s Commissars of the USSR Council V.I. Stalin, the USA president F. Roosevelt and the Great Britain Prime minister W. Cherchill in conference took part the Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the three powers: V. Molotov, E. Stattinius and A. Iden along with the General Staff’s representatives.

As a result of the discussion regarding further plans for military actions were made the important decisions about the offensive coordination of the Allied forces in the center of Germany. The Allies approved the agreements developed by the European consultation committee ‘On the occupation zones of Germany and “The Big Berlin” administration’ as well as ‘On the mechanism of control in Germany’. It was provided that the whole Germany would be divided into occupation zones.

After the discussion of the issue regarding the reparation of damages by Germany to the USSR and other Allied states, it was decided to create in Moscow a special inter-associate committee on reparations.

‘The declaration of the liberated Europe’ adopted in the course of the conference, stipulated the interaction of the USA, USSR and Great Britain at resolving political and economic problems of the liberated Europe in accordance with democratic principles.

During the meeting in Yalta it was also decided to convene in April of 1945 in Saint-Francisco a conference of the United Nations with the view to elaborate regulations for a new international organization intended to maintain peace.

One of the most important issues during the conference was one regarding Poland. It was decided to create a Polish government on the basis of the current Provisional government including democratic figures from the Poland itself and Poles from abroad. The issue on borders was not completed but it was supposed that the Polish-Soviet border will be passing along “Kerzon line” established back in 1920 with some deviations of 5 to 8 km in favor of Poland.

The leaders of the USSR, USA and England had elaborated the recommendations regarding the creation of the united Yugoslavian government from the representatives of the National committee of Yugoslavia liberation and emigrant Yugoslavian government based in London, as well as the creation of a Provisional government of Yugoslavia on the basis of the anti-Nazi popular assembly of the national liberation.

In Yalta it was agreed that the Soviet Union, two-three months after the end of military actions in Europe will start a war with Japan demanding the restoration of the Russian rights at the Far East – return of the Southern Sakhalin and passing over Kuril islands.

On February 13, 1945 it was published a communiqué on the Crimea conference signed by the heads of the three governments. In the last section the great powers expressed their resolution to maintain and strengthen the principle of the united action in the post-war period which had been elaborated during the years of the World War II.

The contradictions between the USSR and its allies, which sharpened after the war along with the change of political leaders at the end of the forties, decreased significantly the possibilities of cooperation. However the decisions made in the course of Yalta conference became a fundament for the post-war world layout and had a great impact on the future history of the 20th century.

Lit.: Крымская конференция 1945 г. // Большая советская энциклопедия. Т. 13. М., 1973; Крымская (Ялтинская) конференция [Электронный ресурс] // Хронос. 2000. URL: http://www.hrono.ru/sobyt/1900sob/1945krym.php; Материалы Крымской (Ялтинской) конференции руководителей трёх союзных держав — СССР, США и Великобритании [Электронный ресурс] // Электронная библиотека исторического факультета МГУ. 1999-2018. URL: http://www.hist.msu.ru/ER/Etext/War_Conf/krim.htm; Советский Союз на международных конференциях периода Великой Отечественной войны 1941–1945 гг. М., 1984; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://militera.lib.ru/docs/da/confww2/index.html; Ялта-45. Начертания нового мира / Под ред. Н. Нарочницкой. М., 2010; Ялтинская конференция (4-11 февраля 1945 г.) [Электронный ресурс] // Победа, 1941-1945. 2004-2018. URL: http://victory.rusarchives.ru/index.php?p=32&sec_id=51.

From the Presidential library materials:

Крымская (Ялтинская) конференция [фотография]. The Crimea Conference [graphic]. 1945;

International Conferences. Yalta Conference, 4-11 February 1945 // The Memory of the Great Victory: collection.

Government heads of the USSR, USA and Great Britain at the Tehran conference // On this day. 28 November;

The first diplomatic and trade treaty between Japan and Russia signed // On this day. 7 February;

Протокол работы Крымской конференции = Protocol of the proceedings of the Crimea conference. Ялта, 11 февр. 1945;

Соглашение = Agreement. Ялта, 11 февр. 1945.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Завершилась конференция глав правительств СССР, США и Великобритании в Ялте

11 февраля 1945

К началу 1945 г., в результате наступления Советской Армии и высадки союзных войск в Нормандии военные действия были перенесены на германскую территорию, и война против фашистской Германии вступила в завершающую стадию. На фоне этих событий союзники по антигитлеровской коалиции решили созвать конференцию для обсуждения вопросов послевоенного устройства Европы.

Встреча глав правительств СССР, США и Великобритании проходила с 4 по 11 февраля 1945 г. в Ливадии, под Ялтой. Помимо председателя Совета народных комиссаров СССР И. В. Сталина, президента США Ф. Рузвельта и премьер-министра Великобритании У. Черчилля, в работе конференции приняли участие министры иностранных дел трёх держав — В. М. Молотов, Э. Стеттиниус и А. Иден, — а также представители генеральных штабов.

В результате обсуждения планов дальнейшего ведения войны были приняты важные решения о координации наступательных действий союзных армий в центре Германии. Союзники утвердили разработанные европейской консультативной комиссией соглашения «О зонах оккупации Германии и об управлении «Большим Берлином», а также «О контрольном механизме в Германии». Предусматривалось, что вся Германия будет разделена на оккупационные зоны.

По результатам обсуждения вопроса о возмещении Германией материального ущерба, нанесённого СССР и другим странам антигитлеровской коалиции, было принято решение о создании в Москве специальной межсоюзной комиссии по репарациям.

Принятая на конференции «Декларация об освобождённой Европе» предусматривала совместные действия США, СССР и Великобритании при разрешении политических и экономических проблем освобождённой Европы в соответствии с демократическими принципами.

В Ялте было достигнуто соглашение о созыве в апреле 1945 г. в Сан-Франциско конференции Объединенных Наций для выработки устава новой международной организации по поддержанию мира.

Большое место на конференции занял вопрос о Польше. Было принято решение о создании польского правительства на основе действовавшего в стране Временного правительства с включением в него демократических деятелей из самой Польши и поляков из-за границы. Вопрос о границах окончательно решён не был, но предполагалось, что польско-советская граница пройдёт по «линии Керзона», установленной ещё в 1920 г., с отступлением от неё в некоторых районах от 5 до 8 км в пользу Польши.

Главы СССР, США и Англии выработали рекомендации в отношении образования объединённого югославского правительства из представителей Национального комитета освобождения Югославии и эмигрантского югославского правительства в Лондоне, а также создания на основе Антифашистского Веча национального освобождения Временного парламента Югославии.

В Ялте было достигнуто соглашение о том, что Советский Союз через два-три месяца после завершения военных действий в Европе вступит в войну с Японией на условиях восстановления принадлежавших России прав на Дальнем Востоке — возвращения Южного Сахалина и передачи Курильских островов.

13 февраля 1945 г. было опубликовано коммюнике о Крымской конференции, подписанное главами трёх правительств. В последнем разделе великие державы провозгласили решимость сохранить и упрочить в послевоенный период принцип единства действий, сложившиеся в годы Второй мировой войны.

Противоречия между СССР и его союзниками,  обострившиеся после завершения войны, и смена политических лидеров уже в конце 1940-х гг. существенно  снизили возможности взаимного сотрудничества. Но выработанные на Ялтинской конференции решения стали основой послевоенного устройства мира и во многом определили последующую историю XX в.

Лит.: Крымская конференция 1945 г. // Большая советская энциклопедия. Т. 13. М., 1973; Крымская (Ялтинская) конференция [Электронный ресурс] // Хронос. 2000. URL: http://www.hrono.ru/sobyt/1900sob/1945krym.php; Материалы Крымской (Ялтинской) конференции руководителей трёх союзных держав — СССР, США и Великобритании [Электронный ресурс] // Электронная библиотека исторического факультета МГУ. 1999-2018. URL: http://www.hist.msu.ru/ER/Etext/War_Conf/krim.htm; Советский Союз на международных конференциях периода Великой Отечественной войны 1941–1945 гг. М., 1984; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://militera.lib.ru/docs/da/confww2/index.html; Ялта-45. Начертания нового мира / Под ред. Н. Нарочницкой. М., 2010; Ялтинская конференция (4-11 февраля 1945 г.) [Электронный ресурс] // Победа, 1941-1945. 2004-2018. URL: http://victory.rusarchives.ru/index.php?p=32&sec_id=51.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Крымская (Ялтинская) конференция [фотография]. The Crimea Conference [graphic]. 1945;

Международные конференции. Ялтинская конференция, 4 - 11 февраля 1945 // Память о Великой Победе: коллекция;

Началась Тегеранская конференция глав правительств СССР, США и Великобритании // День в истории. 28 ноября 1943 г.;

Подписан первый дипломатический и торговый трактат между Японией и Россией // День в истории. 7 февраля 1855 г.;

Протокол работы Крымской конференции = Protocol of the proceedings of the Crimea conference. Ялта, 11 февр. 1945;

Соглашение = Agreement. Ялта, 11 февр. 1945.