Share content in social networks:

The first dated printed book published in Russia

1 March 1564

Before the book printing began in Russia a book was an expensive object. Only cathedrals, the largest convents and tsar’s libraries stored relatively complete collections of the handwritten books. In spite of the fact that the book printing was invented in the middle of the 15th century, the first Russian printed books appeared only a century after that owing to the creation of the tsar’s typography in 1553 in Moscow. Before the reforms of the patriarch Nikon in 1650-1660 the typography had issued about 250.000 books.

At first the Russian editions were published without notice on the date of issue. The first dated printed book in Russia appeared only in 1564. On April 19, 1563 Ivan Feodorov supported by his apprentice and assistant Pyotr Mstislavets with the blessing of metropolitan Makariy started to print the ‘Apostolos’. According to the printers the work was completed ‘… in the year of 7070 on the first day of March  [March 1st, 1564] in the time of archbishop Afanasiy, the metropolitan of All Russia. All the output data of the book and the history of its issue the authors placed in the ‘Apostol’ afterword.

The text of the book is written systematically, in the beginning of each part is presented the table of contents of the subsections and their contents in brief. There are no obsolete words or non Slavic expressions. Ivan Feodorov made rich headpieces for each section, colorful vignettes in the upper part of a page, initial capitals in the beginning of the paragraphs. The book is supplied with a large frontispiece gravure representing a evangelist Luka. It was the first gravure in the history of the Russian art where a man’s figure is the center of the composition.

Right after the issue of ‘Apostol’ the printers became subject to persecutions from books’ copyist fearing competition. After the arson which destroyed their workshop Feodorov and Mstislavets were forced to run away to the Grand Duchy of Lithuania where they continued their work in the typography founded in the estate of hetman Khodkevitch.

Lit.: Апостол 1564 года [Электронный ресурс] // Книжные памятники Русского Севера. Б. д. URL: http://virtmuseum.aonb.ru/z5/z5_ap64.html; Бахтиаров А. А. История книги на Руси. СПб., 1890; Апостол. М., 1564; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://www.spsl.nsc.ru/rbook/Издания%20Ивана%20Федорова/Апостол-московское%20издание/index.html; Немировский Е. Л. Иван Федоров (Москвитин) // Словарь книжников и книжности Древней Руси. Вып. 2 (вторая половина XIV-XVI в.). Ч. 2. Л., 1989; У истоков русского книгопечатания. М., 1959.

From the Presidential library materials:

Denisov L. I. First printers Johann Gutenberg and Ivan Fedorov. Moscow, 1908;

Ivan Fedorov, first printer: [collection]. Moscow; Leningrad, 1935;

Petrushevich A. S. Ivan Fedorov Russian first printer: historical-bibliographic reasoning. Lviv, 1883;

Savelyev A. A. Ivan Fedorov's publications in the collection of the St. Petersburg State University scientific library: [video lecture]. St. Petersburg, 2014. 57 min 58 sec.;

Sirenov A. V. Handwritten and printed book in Russia XVI-XVII centuries. : [video lecture]. St. Petersburg, 2014. 48 min 04 sec.;

Yemelyanova E. A. The 450th anniversary of the beginning of printing in Russia: [video lecture]. St. Petersburgrary, 2014. 30 min 43 sec.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Вышла первая датированная печатная книга Руси

1 марта 1564

До начала книгопечатания книга на Руси была дорогой вещью. Относительно полные собрания рукописных книг имели только кафедральные соборы, крупнейшие монастыри и царские библиотеки. Несмотря на изобретение книгопечатания ещё в середине XV в., первые русские печатные книги появились лишь спустя столетие благодаря основанию в Москве в 1553 г. Государева печатного двора. До начала реформ патриарха Никона в 1650-1660-х гг. эта типография выпустила около 250 тыс. книг.

Сначала русские издания выходили без указания даты выпуска. Первая датированная печатная книга появилась на Руси лишь в 1564 г. 19 апреля 1563 г. Иван Фёдоров вместе со своим учеником и помощником Петром Тимофеевичем Мстиславцем, с благословения митрополита Макария, начали печатать «Апостол». И по свидетельству самих печатников, окончена работа была «…в год 7070 второй марта в 1-й день [1 марта 1564 г.] при архиепископе Афанасии, митрополите всея Руси…». Все выходные данные книги и история ее выпуска были размещены авторами в послесловии «Апостола».

Текст книги изложен систематично, в начале каждого раздела даны оглавления подразделов и краткое их содержание. Язык освобождён от архаизмов, неславянских выражений и оборотов. Иваном Федоровым были сделаны богатые заставки для каждого раздела, красочные виньетки в верхней части страниц, буквицы-инициалы в начале абзацев. Книга снабжена большой фронтисписной гравюрой с изображением евангелиста Луки. Это первая в истории русского искусства гравюра, композиционным центром которой является фигура человека.

Сразу после издания «Апостола» начались гонения на печатников со стороны переписчиков книг, справедливо опасавшихся конкуренции. После поджога, уничтожившего их мастерскую, Фёдоров и Мстиславец вынуждены были бежать в Великое княжество Литовское, где продолжили своё дело в типографии, основанной в имении гетмана Ходкевича.

Лит.: Апостол 1564 года [Электронный ресурс] // Книжные памятники Русского Севера. Б. д. URL: http://virtmuseum.aonb.ru/z5/z5_ap64.html; Бахтиаров А. А. История книги на Руси. СПб., 1890; Апостол. М., 1564; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://www.spsl.nsc.ru/rbook/Издания%20Ивана%20Федорова/Апостол-московское%20издание/index.html; Немировский Е. Л. Иван Федоров (Москвитин) // Словарь книжников и книжности Древней Руси. Вып. 2 (вторая половина XIV-XVI в.). Ч. 2. Л., 1989; У истоков русского книгопечатания. М., 1959.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Денисов Л. И. Первопечатники Иоганн Гутенберг и Иван Фёдоров. М., 1908;

Емельянова Е. А. 450-летие начала книгопечатания в России : [видеолекция]. СПб., 2014. 30 мин. 43 с.;

Иван Фёдоров, первопечатник: [сборник]. М.; Л., 1935;

Петрушевич А. С. Иван Фёдоров русский первопечатник. Львов, 1883;

Савельев А. А. Издания Ивана Федорова в собрании научной библиотеки СПбГУ : [видеолекция]. СПб., 2014. 57 мин. 58 с.;

Сиренов А. В. Рукописная и печатная книга в России XVI-XVII вв. : [видеолекция]. СПб., 2014. 48 мин. 04 с.