Share content in social networks:

Nikita Sergeyevich Khrushchev elected the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the USSR

27 March 1958

On March 27, 1958 Nikita Sergeyevich Khrushchev took the post of the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the USSR combining it with the post of the First Secretary of the Central Committee. He had been holding these positions until October 14, 1964 when the October plenum of the Central Committee, convoked during Khrushchev’s vacation, relieved him from all the party and state positions ‘due to a poor state of health’.

N. S. Khrushchev was born in 1894 in the village of Kalinovka, Kursk region in a family of worker. In 1918 he joined the Bolshevik party. After the end of the Civil war he fulfilled the economical and party work in Ukraine. In 1929 he studied in Industry Academy in Moscow and then served as a party member. From the middle of 1930s he occupied the post of the First Secretary of Moscow Committee and Moscow municipal committee of the all-Union Communist Party. Later he became the First Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine.

During the Great Patriotic War N. Khrushchev was a member of military councils of the South-Western direction. In 1943 he received a military rank of Lieutenant General. After the war he served as the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Ukraine and then was again elected the First Secretary of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine. From December of 1949 he was transferred to the post of the First Secretary of Moscow regional Committee and the Secretary of the Central Committee of the Party.

After the death of I. V. Stalin, Khrushchev was one of the main originators of dismissal from all the posts and the arrest of the assistant to the Chairman of the Council of Minister of the USSR, the Minister of Domestic Affairs, Marshal of the Soviet Union L. P. Beria who was accused of ‘antiparty and antistate activities intended to undermine the Soviet state’.

In September if 1953 N. Khrushchev was elected the First Secretary of the Central Committee. Three years later at the 20th Congress of the party he made an accusing speech in regards of Stalin’s personality cult. Having gained the victory over Stalin’s former companions-in arms V. M. Molotov, G. M. Malenkov and L. M. Karanovich during June plenum of the Central Committee in 1957, N. Khrushchev took the highest governmental post in 1958.

During October plenum of the Central Committee of 1964 which stripped Khrushchev of power it was acknowledged unreasonable for him to continue to combine the duties of the Party’s leader and the government leader.

Lit.: Искандеров А. И. Мемуары Н. С. Хрущёва как исторический источник // Вопросы истории. 1995. № 5-6; Медведев Р. А. Никита Сергеевич Хрущёв. Политическая биография. М., 1990; Попов Г., Аджубей Н. Пять выборов Никиты Хрущёва // Наука и жизнь. 2008. № 1; Превратности судьбы. О двух поворотных рубежах в политической биографии Н. С. Хрущёва. М., 1994; Хрущёв Н. С. Воспоминания: Избранные фрагменты. М., 1997;; Хрущёв Н. С. Доклад на закрытом заседании XX съезда КПСС «О культе личности и его последствиях». М., 1959; Хрущёв С. Н. Никита Хрущёв: кризисы и ракеты: Взгляд изнутри. М., 1994.

From the Presidential library materials:

Абрамян К. А. Партийно-политическая и хозяйственная деятельность Н. С. Хрущева в Москве (1929 - 1938 гг.). Автореф. дис. на соиск. учён. степ. канд. ист. наук. М., 2006;

Страницы советской истории : [фрагменты кинохроники]. СПб., 2011.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Никита Сергеевич Хрущёв избран председателем Совета Министров СССР

27 марта 1958

27 марта 1958 г. Никита Сергеевич Хрущёв занял пост председателя Совета Министров СССР, совместив его с высшей партийной должностью первого секретаря Центрального Комитета. На этих постах он находился до 14 октября 1964 г., когда Октябрьский пленум ЦК, созванный во время пребывания Хрущёва на отдыхе, освободил его от всех партийных и государственных должностей «по состоянию здоровья».

Н. С. Хрущёв родился в 1894 г. в селе Калиновка Курской области в семье рабочего. В 1918 г. вступил в партию большевиков, и после окончания Гражданской войны находился на хозяйственной и партийной работе на Украине. В 1929 г. учился в Промышленной академии в Москве, а затем состоял на партийной работе. С середины 1930-х гг. работал первым секретарём Московского комитета и Московского городского комитета ВКП(б), позже — первым секретарём ЦК Коммунистической партии Украины.

В годы Великой Отечественной войны Н. С. Хрущёв был членом военных советов Юго-Западного направления, получив в 1943 г. воинское звание генерал-лейтенант. По окончании войны работал Председателем Совета Министров Украинской ССР, а затем вновь был избран первым секретарём ЦК КП(б) Украины. С декабря 1949 г. он был переведён в должности первого секретаря Московского областного и секретаря Центрального комитетов партии.

После смерти И. В. Сталина Н. С. Хрущёв был одним из основных инициаторов смещения со всех постов и ареста заместителя Председателя Совета Министров СССР, министра внутренних дел СССР, Маршала Советского Союза Л. П. Берии, обвинённого в «антипартийной и антигосударственной деятельности, направленной на подрыв Советского государства».

В сентябре 1953 г. Н. Хрущёв был избран первым секретарём ЦК. Три года спустя, на XX съезде партии, он выступил с докладом, осуждающим культ личности Сталина. Одержав окончательную победу над бывшими соратниками И. В. Сталина В. М. Молотовым, Г. М. Маленковым и Л. М. Кагановичем на июньском пленуме ЦК 1957 г., Н. С. Хрущёв в 1958 г. занял высшую правительственную должность.

Октябрьский пленум ЦК 1964 г., отстранивший Хрущёва от власти, признал нецелесообразным дальнейшее совмещение обязанностей лидера партии и руководителя правительства.

Лит.: Искандеров А. И. Мемуары Н. С. Хрущёва как исторический источник // Вопросы истории. 1995. № 5-6; Медведев Р. А. Никита Сергеевич Хрущёв. Политическая биография. М., 1990; Попов Г., Аджубей Н. Пять выборов Никиты Хрущёва // Наука и жизнь. 2008. № 1; Превратности судьбы. О двух поворотных рубежах в политической биографии Н. С. Хрущёва. М., 1994; Хрущёв Н. С. Воспоминания: Избранные фрагменты. М., 1997; Хрущёв Н. С. Доклад на закрытом заседании XX съезда КПСС «О культе личности и его последствиях». М., 1959; Хрущёв С. Н. Никита Хрущёв: кризисы и ракеты: Взгляд изнутри. М., 1994.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Абрамян К. А. Партийно-политическая и хозяйственная деятельность Н. С. Хрущева в Москве (1929 - 1938 гг.). Автореф. дис. на соиск. учён. степ. канд. ист. наук. М., 2006;

Страницы советской истории : [фрагменты кинохроники]. СПб., 2011.