Share content in social networks:

Anniversary of the adoption of the Hero of the Soviet Union title

16 April 1934

April 16, 1934, the Central Executive Committee of the USSR decree "On establishing of the highly order - the Hero of the Soviet Union" was adopted.

The document said that "Hero of the Soviet Union is the highest degree of excellence and is awarded for personal or collective merits before the Soviet state and society associated with accomplishment of a heroic deed." According to the Decree, the Heroes of the Soviet Union received a special mention of the CEC of the USSR.

April 20, 1934, the CEC USSR signed the first decree to confer the title on seven pilots who had shown courage and bravery in rescuing the crew of the "Cheliuskin" icebreaker wrecked in the ice of the Arctic Ocean. Among the Heroes were: A. V. Liapidevsky, M. V. Vodop'yanov, I. D. Doronin, N. P. Kamanin, S. A. Levanevsky, V. S. Molokov, M. T. Slepnyov. The eighth title of the Hero of the Soviet Union was awarded to a famous test pilot M. M. Gromov September 28, 1934.

July 29, 1936 the Regulations about the rank of the Hero of the Soviet Union were published. It introduced a procedure for awarding the Heroes of the Soviet Union, in addition to the deed of the CEC, the Order of Lenin - the highest award of the USSR. According to the document the title of Hero of the Soviet Union could be assigned only once. The Hero of the Soviet Union could be deprived of the title due to a special resolution of the CEC.

August 1, 1939, by a decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR "On additional insignia for Heroes of the Soviet Union" there was introduced a special distinguishing mark - the medal "Hero of the Soviet Union", which was awarded simultaneously with the rank of Hero of the Soviet Union and the Order of Lenin. Under the decree of October 16, 1939, the appearance of the medal in the shape of a five-pointed star, dubbed "Gold Star" was approved.

Unlike the Regulations of 1936, the Decree of 1939 provided for the possibility of multiple awarding of the "Gold Star". Hero of the Soviet Union, having performed the second heroic feat, was awarded a second "Gold Star" medal, and the bust of the hero was to be constructed in his homeland; twice Hero of the Soviet Union was awarded the third medal when his bronze bust was constructed at the Palace of Soviets in Moscow. Those awarded the second and third medals did not receive additional Orders of Lenin.

The title of the Hero of the Soviet Union was the first of the two higher decorations of the USSR, Hero of the Soviet Union and Hero of Socialist Labor. This is the highest and most honorable award of the Soviet period, although by no means the most rare. An overwhelming number of Heroes of the Soviet Union appeared in the Great Patriotic War; over the entire period of the Soviet rule the title of the Hero of the Soviet Union was awarded to 12,776 people (excluding 72 deprived of the title and 13 canceled Decrees).

After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the "Hero of the Soviet Union" was abolished. Instead, the "Hero of the Russian Federation" was established March 20, 1992 in Russia, also assigned for outstanding feats in the glory of the motherland.

Lit.: Герои Советского Союза: Краткий биографический словарь / Пред. ред. коллегии И. Н. Шкадов. М., 1987. Т. 1 (Абаев — Любичев); То же. М., 1988. Т. 2 (Любов — Ящук); Статистика по героям Советского Союза [Электронный ресурс] // Патриотический интернет-проект «Герои страны». 2000-2019. URL: http://www.warheroes.ru/stats.asp.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Утверждено звание Героя Советского Союза

16 апреля 1934

16 апреля 1934 г. было принято постановление Центрального Исполнительного Комитета СССР «Об установлении высшей степени отличия — звания Героя Советского Союза».

В документе говорилось, что «Звание Героя Советского Союза является высшей степенью отличия и присваивается за личные или коллективные заслуги перед Советским государством и обществом, связанные с совершением геройского подвига». Согласно Постановлению Героям Советского Союза  выдавалась особая грамота ЦИК СССР.

20 апреля 1934 г. было подписано первое постановление ЦИК СССР о присвоении этого звания семи лётчикам, проявившим мужество и отвагу при спасении экипажа ледокола «Челюскин», потерпевшего бедствие во льдах Северного Ледовитого океана. Героями стали А. В. Ляпидевский, М. В. Водопьянов, И. Д. Доронин, Н. П. Каманин, С. А. Леваневский, В. С. Молоков, М. Т. Слепнёв. Восьмым Героем Советского Союза 28 сентября 1934 г. стал известный лётчик-испытатель М. М. Громов.

29 июля 1936 г. вышло Положение о звании Героя Советского Союза. Оно вводило порядок вручения Героям Советского Союза, помимо грамоты ЦИК, ордена Ленина — высшей награды СССР. Согласно документу звание Героя Советского Союза могло быть присвоено только один раз. Герой Советского Союза мог быть лишен этого звания на основании особого Постановления ЦИК.

1 августа 1939 г. указом Президиума Верховного Совета СССР «О дополнительных знаках отличия для Героев Советского Союза» был введён особый отличительный знак — медаль «Герой Советского Союза», которая вручалась одновременно с присвоением звания Героя Советского Союза и вручением ордена Ленина. Указом от 16 октября 1939 г. был утверждён внешний вид медали в форме пятиконечной звезды, получившей название «Золотая Звезда».

В отличие от Положения 1936 г. в Указе 1939 г. предусматривалась возможность многократного награждения «Золотой Звездой». Герой Советского Союза, совершивший вторичный героический подвиг, награждался второй медалью «Золотая Звезда», а на родине героя сооружался его бюст; дважды Герой Советского Союза награждался третьей медалью с сооружением бронзового бюста при Дворце Советов в Москве. Выдача орденов Ленина при награждении второй и третьей медалями не предусматривалась.

Звание Героя Советского Союза по порядку учреждения являлось первой из двух высших степеней отличия СССР: звания Героя Советского Союза и звания Героя Социалистического Труда. Это самая высокая и самая почётная награда советского периода, хотя и далеко не самая редкая. Подавляющее число Героев Советского Союза появилось в период Великой Отечественной войны, а всего за время существования СССР звания Героя Советского Союза были удостоены 12 776 человек (без учёта 72 лишённых звания и 13 отменённых Указов).

После распада СССР звание «Герой Советского Союза» было упразднено. Вместо него 20 марта 1992 г. в России было учреждено звание «Герой Российской Федерации», также присваиваемое за выдающиеся подвиги во славу Родины.

Лит.: Герои Советского Союза: Краткий биографический словарь / Пред. ред. коллегии И. Н. Шкадов. М., 1987. Т. 1 (Абаев — Любичев); То же. М., 1988. Т. 2 (Любов — Ящук); Звание Героя Советского Союза. 16.05.2009 [Электронный ресурс] // Общественная организация ветеранов (инвалидов) войны и военной службы республики Татарстан. 2007-2014. URL: http://tatveteran.ru/news/smi/?id=37; Статистика по героям Советского Союза [Электронный ресурс] // Патриотический интернет-проект «Герои страны». 2000-2013. URL: http://www.warheroes.ru/stats.asp.