Share content in social networks:

The Civil Defense Forces Day of the RF Ministry of Emergency Situations

4 October 2000

On October 4 Russia celebrates the Civil Defense Forces Day of the RF Ministry of Emergency Situations. The Civil Defense of the Russian Federation originated from the local anti-aircraft defense, founded in 1932.

The need to protect the population and national economic facilities from air attacks and set up the local anti-aircraft and chemical defense arose during the years of the World War I with an appearance of aviation and thus warring parties jumped at a chance to launch attacks on inhabited localities and economic facilities in the rival’s rear.

The term “aircraft defense”, which implied a set of forces, means, and  measures to fight the enemy’s air forces and protect the homeland troops and facilities from his actions, was used in Russia for relatively short period of time — from 1914 to 1926, the term “air-chemical defense” existed during 1926 - 1927, whereas the term “anti-aircraft defense” was introduced in 1928. It was in the beginning of 1924 that the term “anti-aircraft defense” for the first time appeared in the official document, and from 1928 was legitimated by the resolution of the Revolutionary Military Council of the USSR.

On October 4 1932 the Council of People’s Commissars of the USSR approved new Regulations concerning anti-aircraft defense of the USSR, in accordance to which a local anti-aircraft defense was made a separate independent part of the whole system of anti-aircraft defense of the USSR. The key aims of the local anti-aircraft defense encompassed: to warn the population about the threat of air attack and notify of threat avoidance; to camouflage inhabited localities and national economic facilities from air attacks (especially blackouts); to eliminate the aftermath of air attacks, including those with the use of toxic chemicals; to prepare bomb and gas-proof shelters for the population; to organize primary health and medical care to victims of air attacks; to render veterinary aid to injured animals; to maintain public order and enforce the regime, established by authorities and local anti-aircraft defense in vulnerable regions.  These aims were implemented by forces and means of the local authorities and national economics facilities. This defined the name of the anti-aircraft defense system.

On June 22 1941 all the headquarters, services and forces of the local anti-aircraft defense were brought in combat readiness. The Great Patriotic War became a severe test for the local anti-aircraft defense, it displayed the system’s high readiness, and meanwhile revealed some shortcomings, which were immediately eliminated.

In the post-war time the local anti-aircraft defense was being streamlined taking into account the appearance of nuclear, chemical and bacteriological weapons. Right then the new regulations on local anti-aircraft defense, which reflected positive expertise of the former local anti-aircraft defense activities, specified its aims and organizational structure, were enacted.

In 1961 the local anti-aircraft defense was reorganized into Civil Defense (GO) of the USSR. At that time theoretical fundamentals of population protection were developed, whereas a complex of organizational, engineering, sanitation, anti-epidemic and other special measures was implemented countrywide.

From September 1971 the direct control over the Civil Defense system was assigned to the military department. In early 1990’s the Civil Defense of the USSR became a part of the unified state system of prevention and elimination of emergencies. On December 27 1990 was founded the Russian Rescue Corps. In 1991 the State Committee for Civil Defense Matters, Emergencies and Natural Disaster Relief was set up under the President of Russia. In 1993 Russia entered the International Civil Defense Organization as its fully-fledged member. The Ministry for Affairs of Civil Defense, Emergencies and Disaster Relief was set up in 1994 by the order of the President of Russia.

From 1991 the Federal executive body on emergency situations has been headed by the Colonel General, Hero of Russia, Sergei Shoigu.

In recent years the forces of the civil defense are more often involved in evacuation of the population in cases of the emergencies and natural disasters, disaster relief, restoration of damaged facilities and communications, escort of humanitarian freights, protection of objects of special importance, as well as localization and extinguishing of forest and peat fires.

Lit.: Лит.: Войска противовоздушной обороны страны. М., 1968; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://militera.lib.ru/h/pvo/index.html; Зарождение и развитие противовоздушной обороны страны // Военно-исторический журнал. № 12. 2004; МЧС России. 2016. URL: http://www.mchs.gov.ru/.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

День войск гражданской обороны МЧС РФ

4 октября 2000

4 октября в России отмечается День войск гражданской обороны МЧС РФ. Родоначальником гражданской обороны РФ была местная противовоздушная оборона, созданная в 1932 г.

Необходимость защиты населения и народно-хозяйственных объектов от ударов с воздуха и создания местной противовоздушной и противохимической обороны (ПВХО) возникла в годы Первой мировой войны, когда появилась авиация и воюющие стороны получили возможность наносить удары по населённым пунктам и экономическим объектам в тылу противника.

Термин «воздушная оборона», под которым понималась совокупность сил и средств, а также организационных мер для борьбы с военно-воздушным флотом противника и защиты от его действий своих войск и объектов, употреблялся в России сравнительно непродолжительное время — с 1914 по 1926 гг., в 1926-1927 гг. использовался термин «воздушно-химическая оборона», с 1928 г. — «противовоздушная оборона». Впервые название «противовоздушная оборона» в официальном документе появилось в начале 1924 г., а с 1928 г. было узаконено постановлением Реввоенсовета СССР.

4 октября 1932 г. Совет Народных Комиссаров СССР утвердил новое Положение о противовоздушной обороне Союза ССР, согласно которому местная противовоздушная оборона была выделена в самостоятельную составную часть всей системы противовоздушной обороны Советского государства. Основными задачами МПВО являлись: предупреждение населения об угрозе нападения с воздуха и оповещение о миновании угрозы; осуществление маскировки населённых пунктов и объектов народного хозяйства от нападения с воздуха (особенно светомаскировки); ликвидация последствий нападения с воздуха, в том числе и с применением отравляющих веществ; подготовка бомбоубежищ и газоубежищ для населения; организация первой медицинской и врачебной помощи пострадавшим в результате нападения с воздуха; оказание ветеринарной помощи пострадавшим животным; поддержание общественного порядка и обеспечение соблюдения режима, установленного органами власти и МПВО в угрожаемых районах. Выполнение всех этих задач предусматривалось силами и средствами местных органов власти и объектов народного хозяйства. Этим определялось и название данной системы противовоздушной обороны.

22 июня 1941 г. все штабы, службы и силы МПВО были приведены в боевую готовность. Великая Отечественная война стала серьёзным испытанием для МПВО, она показала высокую готовность системы и одновременно вскрыла некоторые её недостатки, которые быстро устранялись.

В послевоенный период МПВО совершенствовалась с учётом появления ядерного, химического и бактериологического оружия. Было введено в действие новое положение о местной противовоздушной обороне, в котором нашёл отражение весь положительный опыт предшествовавшей деятельности МПВО, уточнены её задачи и организационная структура.

В 1961 г. МПВО была реорганизована в Гражданскую оборону (ГО) СССР. В это время были разработаны теоретические основы защиты населения, а на территории всей страны осуществлён комплекс организационных, инженерно-технических, санитарно-гигиенических, противоэпидемических и других специальных мероприятий.

С сентября 1971 г. непосредственное руководство системой ГО было передано военному ведомству. В начале 1990-х гг. ГО СССР стала составной частью Единой государственной системы предупреждения и ликвидации чрезвычайных ситуаций. 27 декабря 1990 г. был создан Российский корпус спасателей. В 1991 г. при президенте России организован Государственный комитет по делам ГО, ЧС и ликвидации последствий стихийных бедствий. В 1993 г. Россия стала полноправным членом Международной организации гражданской обороны (МОГО). В 1994 г. указом Президента России образовано Министерство по делам гражданской обороны, чрезвычайным ситуациям и ликвидации последствий стихийных бедствий.

Федеральный исполнительный орган по чрезвычайным ситуациям с 1991 г. возглавляет генерал-полковник, Герой России Сергей Шойгу.

В последние годы войска гражданской обороны все чаще привлекаются к эвакуации населения в случаях чрезвычайных ситуаций и стихийных бедствий, решению вопросов его первоочередного жизнеобеспечения, восстановлению пострадавших объектов и коммуникаций, сопровождению гуманитарных грузов, охране особо важных объектов, а также локализации и тушению крупных очагов лесных и торфяных пожаров.

Лит.: Войска противовоздушной обороны страны. М., 1968; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URLhttp://militera.lib.ru/h/pvo/index.html; Зарождение и развитие противовоздушной обороны страны // Военно-исторический журнал. № 12. 2004; МЧС России. 2016. URL: http://www.mchs.gov.ru/.