Share content in social networks:

Anniversary of the State Bank of the RSFSR foundation

4 October 1921

October 4, 1921 V. I. Lenin signed a decree of the Council of People's Commissars on the establishment of the State Bank of the RSFSR. October 7, 1921 the decree was approved by the 4th Session of the Central Executive Committee.

The State Bank was established in Russia in 1860, according to the decree of Alexander II as a result of the reorganization of the State commercial bank. After the October Revolution, 14 (27) December 1917 under a decree of the Central Executive Committee "On the nationalization of banks" in the country was introduced the state monopoly on banking. Private lending institutions were nationalized and merged with the State Bank, which a month later was renamed to the People's Bank of the Russian Republic (later the People's Bank of the RSFSR). During 1918 and 1919 all other types of pre-revolutionary credit institutions (land banks, city banks, mutual credit societies) were also eliminated.

However, in 1919, under War Communism, due to the naturalization of economic life, the introduction of non-monetary transactions between state enterprises and institutions, and the depreciation of money, banking functions of the People's Bank of the RSFSR were simplified and reduced to a minimum. In late 1919 the Bank's branches were reorganized into sub-sections of provincial and district financial authorities, and January 19, 1920 the People's Bank of the RSFSR was abolished. Its assets and liabilities were transferred to the Central Payments & Accounting Office under the People's Commissariat of Finance.

With the transition to the New Economic Policy (NEP), the preconditions necessary for the development of the banking industry formed. June 30, 1921 was issued a decree of the Council of People's Commissars on the abolition of restrictions regarding monetary circulation and on measures for the development of deposit and conversion operations.   In October 1921, under the resolutions of the CPC and the Central Executive Committee the bank was rebuilt under the name of "The State Bank of the RSFSR."

According to the Regulations of the State Bank of the RSFSR, adopted by the Central Executive Committee October 13, 1921, it was a business organization established "to contribute by credit and other banking operations to the development of industry, agriculture and trade, as well as to concentrate money circulation and use other measures designed to establish the proper circulation of money." It had the right to grant loans to industrial and commercial enterprises of various ownership forms, as well as agriculture and artisans only "provided that they are secure and economically viable." The State Bank was a part of the People's Commissariat of Finance and reported directly to the People's Commissar of Finance.

During the first year of its operation the State Bank executed only credit and settlement operations; it was granted the exclusive right to conduct operations with foreign currency and currency values​​, it also had to set the official rate of precious metals and foreign currency, regulating private transactions, authorized in 1922 , of buying and selling of gold, silver, foreign currencies, as well as checks and bills of exchange drawn in foreign currency at the Stock Exchange.

Under a decree of the CPC October 11, 1922 the State Bank was granted the right to issue bank notes. The State Bank was also charged with issuance of treasury bills and coins.

In 1923, the State Bank of the RSFSR was transformed into the State Bank of the USSR.

During the period of the NEP, were used such types of bank credits as discounting bills, loan demand from special current accounts, secured by promissory notes and term loans secured by promissory notes. In addition to these loans, the bank, three years after its creation, started to provide a goal-oriented crediting. In October 1924, was first prepared a consolidated credit plan of the State Bank for all offices.

December 20, 1991 the State Bank of the USSR was disbanded and all its assets and liabilities, as well as property in the territory of the RSFSR were transferred to the Central Bank of the RSFSR. A few months later the bank was renamed to the Central Bank of the Russian Federation (Bank of Russia).

Lit.: Денежное обращение и кредитная система Союза ССР за 20 лет: Сб. важнейших законодательных материалов. М., 1939; Первый год деятельности. [отчёт Гос. Банка]. М., 1922; Развитие Государственного банка СССР. М., 1958; Четыре года существования Государственного банка СССР 1921—1925. Самара, 1925.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Учреждён Государственный банк РСФСР

4 октября 1921

4 октября 1921 г. В. И. Лениным был подписан декрет Совета Народных Комиссаров об учреждении Государственного банка РСФСР. 7 октября 1921 г. Декрет был утверждён 4-й сессией ВЦИК.

Государственный банк был учреждён в России в 1860 г. в соответствии с указом Александра II в результате реорганизации Государственного коммерческого банка. После Октябрьской революции, 14 (27) декабря 1917 г. Декретом ВЦИК «О национализации банков» в стране была введена государственная монополия на банковское дело. Частные кредитные учреждения были национализированы и слиты с Государственным банком, который месяц спустя стал называться Народным банком Российской Республики (позднее Народным банком РСФСР). В течение 1918 и 1919 гг. были также ликвидированы все остальные виды дореволюционных кредитных учреждений (земельные банки, городские банки, общества взаимного кредита).

Однако в 1919 г., в условиях военного коммунизма, в связи с натурализацией хозяйственной жизни, внедрением безденежных расчётов между государственными предприятиями и учреждениями и обесцениванием денег банковские функции Народного банка РСФСР были упрощены и сведены к минимуму. В конце 1919 г. филиалы Банка были реорганизованы в подотделы губернских и уездных финансовых органов, а 19 января 1920 г. Народный банк РСФСР был упразднён. Его активы и пассивы были переданы Центральному бюджетно-расчётному управлению (ЦБРУ) Наркомата финансов.

С переходом к новой экономической политике (НЭП) образовались предпосылки, необходимые для развития банковского дела. 30 июня 1921 г. был издан декрет Совета Народных Комиссаров об отмене ограничений денежного обращения и мерах к развитию вкладной и переводной операций, а в октябре 1921 г. постановлениями ВЦИК и СНК банк был восстановлен под названием «Государственный банк РСФСР».

Согласно Положению о Государственном банке РСФСР, принятому ВЦИК 13 октября 1921 г., он являлся хозяйственной организацией, созданной «с целью способствовать кредитом и прочими банковыми операциями развитию промышленности, сельского хозяйства и товарооборота, а также с целью концентрации денежных оборотов и проведения других мер, направленных к установлению правильного денежного обращения». Он имел право предоставлять кредиты промышленным и торговым предприятиям различных форм собственности, а также сельским хозяйствам и кустарям только «при условии обеспеченности их и экономической целесообразности». Госбанк находился в составе Наркомата финансов и подчинялся непосредственно Наркому финансов.

В течение первого года деятельности Госбанк выполнял только кредитные и расчётные операции; ему было предоставлено монопольное право на проведение операций с валютой и валютными ценностями, он должен был также устанавливать официальный курс на драгоценные металлы и иностранную валюту, регулируя разрешённые в 1922 г. частные сделки по купле-продаже на бирже золота, серебра, иностранной валюты, а также чеков и векселей, выписанных в иностранной валюте.

Декретом СНК от 11 октября 1922 г. Госбанку было предоставлено право эмиссии банковских билетов. На Госбанк также была возложена эмиссия казначейских билетов и разменной монеты.

В 1923 г. Государственный банк РСФСР был преобразован в Государственный банк СССР.

В период НЭПа практиковались такие виды банковского кредита, как учёт векселей, ссуды до востребования со специальных текущих счетов, обеспеченных векселями, а также срочные ссуды под залог векселей. В дополнение к этим кредитам банк спустя три года после своего создания стал осуществлять прямое целевое кредитование. В октябре 1924 г. был впервые составлен сводный кредитный план Госбанка по всем конторам.

20 декабря 1991 г. Государственный банк СССР был упразднён и все его активы и пассивы, а также имущество на территории РСФСР были переданы Центральному банку РСФСР. Несколько месяцев спустя банк стал называться Центральным банком Российской Федерации (Банком России).

Лит.: Денежное обращение и кредитная система Союза ССР за 20 лет: Сб. важнейших законодательных материалов. М., 1939; Первый год деятельности. [отчёт Гос. Банка]. М., 1922; Развитие Государственного банка СССР. М., 1958; Четыре года существования Государственного банка СССР 1921—1925. Самара, 1925.