Share content in social networks:

The Governorate reform of 1775

18 November 1775

On November 7 (18) 1775 the Empress Catherine II issued the “Constitution for the Administration of Governorates of the Russian Empire”. Under it during 1775-1785 was carried out a major reform of the administrative-territorial division of the Russian Empire. The Governorate reform of 1775 was targeted at consolidation of the power of gentry in order to prevent peasant uprisings.

Until 1775 governorates of the Russian Empire divided into provinces, while provinces were subdivided into districts (Russian: uezd). Under the new decree governorates were now divided only into districts. The main purpose of the reform was adaptation of the new administrative apparatus to fiscal and police matters.

The division was implemented without regard for geographic, national or economic characteristics; it was based merely on a quantitative criteria — the number of population. Under the new decree the population of each governorate ranged between 300 000 - 400 000 men, while the population of a district amounted to 30 000 people.

At the head of the governorate was a governor, who was appointed and removed by a monarch. In his career he relied on a governorate administration, which was formed from a governorate prosecutor and two sotniks. Financial and economic issues were managed by the Treasury Chamber. Schools and charitable institutions were controlled by the Public Charity Office, whose members were elected representatives of estates under the chairmanship of an official. Lawfulness in governorates was guaranteed by a governorate prosecutor and two governorate attorneys.

The executive body in districts was a lower zemstvo court headed by a district police officer, elected by the local gentry. In the chief town of a district the power belonged to an appointed mayor.

Governorate General, who was under the direct supervision of the Empress and the Senate, was assigned to govern over several governorates. Governorate General exercised control over governors of subordinate governorates and regions, supervised the officials, and oversaw the political mood of the estates.

Adoption of the governorate reform of 1775 entirely changed the judicial system. The class principle underlay the system, i.e. for each estate — its own electoral court. Landowners were tried by the Upper zemstvo court in governorates, and a district court in districts; state peasants were tried by the Upper Court (Russian: “rasprava”) in governorates and the Lower Court in the district, citizens were brought to court by a city magistrate in the district and a governorate magistrate in the governorate. All these courts were electoral, except for the Lower courts, which were appointed by the governor. The supreme judicial body in the country was a Senate, while in governorates — Criminal and Civil Court chambers. New to Russia was a non-estate court called “sovestny” (form Russian “sovest” - consciousness) based on humanity, which was called to make an end to faction and reconcile the quarreling parties.

The governorate reform resulted into abolishment of collegia, with the exception of the Foreign Affairs, Military and Admiralty collegia. Functions of collegia were delegated to local governorate authorities.  In 1775 was abolished Zaporizhian Sich, while most Cossacks were moved to Kuban.

Within the implementation of the 1775 reform were undertaken measures aimed at strengthening the power of the gentry at the central and local levels. For the first time in the Russian legislation appeared a document which specified the activities of the local government and court. The system set up by this reform survived until 1864, whereas the administrative-territorial division remained until 1917.

Lit.: Исаев И. А. История государства и права России. М., 1996. Гл. 26; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://www.bibliotekar.ru/istoria-prava-rossii/29.htm; История государства и права СССР / под ред. С. А. Покровского. Ч. I. М., 1959. Гл. 7; Тархов С. А. Изменения административно-территориального деления России за последние 300 лет // География. 2001. № 15.

From the Presidential library materials:

Administrative and territorial division // Territory of Russia: collection;

Благочестивейшия самодержавнейшия великия государыни имп. Екатерины Вторыя.. учреждения для управления губерний Всероссийской империи. М., 1775;

Issued Manifesto on annexation of Courland to the Russian Empire // On this day. 26 April 1795;

Catherine II Manifesto on annexation of Crimea peninsula, Taman Island and Kuban region to the Russian empire adopted 230 years ago // On this day. 19 April 1783;

Manifesto on the Empire’s General Land Survey promulgated // On this day. 30 September 1765;

Полное собрание законов Российской империи, с 1649 года. СПб., 1830. Т. 20 (1775-1780). № 14392. С. 434;

Georgian kingdom // On this day. 30 January 1801;

Senate approved Peter the Great’s decree on governorates’ administrative division // On this day. 9 June 1719 .

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Губернская реформа 1775 года

18 ноября 1775

7 (18) ноября 1775 г. императрицей Екатериной II было издано «Учреждение для управления губерний Российской империи», в соответствии с которым в 1775-1785 гг. была проведена кардинальная реформа административно-территориального деления Российской империи. Задачей губернской реформы 1775 г. было укрепление власти дворянства на местах с целью предотвращения крестьянских восстаний.

До 1775 г. губернии Российской империи делились на провинции, а провинции — на уезды. Согласно новому указу губернии стали делиться только на уезды. Основной целью реформы было приспособление нового административного аппарата к фискальным и полицейским делам.

Деление осуществлялось без учёта географических, национальных и экономических признаков; в его основу был положен исключительно количественный критерий — численность населения. По новому указу на территории каждой губернии проживало от 300 до 400 тыс. душ, на территории уезда — около 30 тыс. душ.

Во главе губернии стоял губернатор, назначаемый и смещаемый монархом. В своей деятельности он опирался на губернское правление, в которое входили губернский прокурор и два сотника. Финансами и хозяйственными делами занималась Казённая палата. Школами и богоугодными заведениями — Приказ общественного призрения, в котором заседали выборные представители сословий под председательством чиновника. Надзор за законностью в губернии осуществлял губернский прокурор и два губернских стряпчих.

Органом исполнительной власти в уездах был нижний земский суд во главе с капитан-исправником, избираемым местным дворянством. В уездных городах власть принадлежала назначаемому городничему.

Руководство несколькими губерниями поручалось генерал-губернатору, состоявшему под непосредственным контролем императрицы и Сената. Генерал-губернатор контролировал деятельность губернаторов подведомственных ему губерний и областей, осуществлял общий надзор за чиновниками, следил за политическими настроениями сословий.

В связи с принятием губернской реформы 1775 г. полностью изменилась судебная система. Она была построена по сословному принципу: для каждого сословия — свой выборный суд. Помещиков судил Верхний земский суд в губерниях и уездный суд в уездах, государственных крестьян судила Верхняя расправа в губернии и Нижняя расправа в уезде, горожан — городовой магистрат в уезде и губернский магистрат в губернии. Все эти суды были выборными, исключая суды нижней расправы, которые назначал губернатор. Высшим судебным органом в стране становился Сенат, а в губерниях — палаты уголовного и гражданского суда. Новым для России был бессословный Совестный суд, призванный прекращать распри и мирить ссорящихся.

Губернская реформа привела к ликвидации коллегий, за исключением Иностранной, Военной и Адмиралтейской. Функции коллегий перешли к местным губернским органам. В 1775 г. была ликвидирована Запорожская Сечь, а большинство казаков переселили на Кубань.

В ходе осуществления реформы 1775 г. были приняты меры по укреплению власти дворянства в центре и на местах. Впервые в российском законодательстве появился документ, определивший деятельность местных органов государственного управления и суда. Созданная этой реформой система сохранилась до 1864 г., а административно-территориальное деление до 1917 г.

Лит.: Исаев И. А. История государства и права России. М., 1996. Гл. 26; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://www.bibliotekar.ru/istoria-prava-rossii/29.htm; История государства и права СССР / под ред. С. А. Покровского. Ч. I. М., 1959. Гл. 7; Тархов С. А. Изменения административно-территориального деления России за последние 300 лет // География. 2001. № 15.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Административно-территориальное деление // Территория России: коллекция;

Благочестивейшия самодержавнейшия великия государыни имп. Екатерины Вторыя.. учреждения для управления губерний Всероссийской империи. М., 1775;

Издан Манифест о присоединении Курляндии к Российской империи // День в истории. 26 апреля. 1795 г.;

Манифест императрицы Екатерины II о присоединении к Российской империи Крымского полуострова, острова Тамань и Кубанской области // День в истории. 19 апреля 1783 г.;

Обнародован Манифест о генеральном размежевании земель всей империи // День в истории. 30 сентября 1765 г.;

Полное собрание законов Российской империи, с 1649 года. СПб., 1830. Т. 20 (1775-1780). № 14392. С. 434;

Присоединение Грузинского (Картли-Кахетинского) царства к России // День в истории. 30 января 1801 г.;

Сенатом принят именной указ Петра I об устройстве губерний // День в истории. 9 июня 1719 г.