Share content in social networks:

The “Stalin” Constitution adopted

5 December 1936

In the autumn of 1935 the Central Executive Committee of the USSR created the Constitution Committee presided by I. V. Stalin, along with 12 sub-committees in order to develop a new version of the Constitution of the USSR which was to reflect the ideas about the victory of socialism in the Soviet Union.

12 June 1936 the draft of the Constitution was published and discussed for six months at all levels – from workers’ meetings at enterprises to republican congresses of Soviets. In the discussion took part more than half of the adult population of Russia, the Committee received 154, 000 proposals, amendments, additions. The editorial commission accepted 47 amendments and additions to more than 30 articles.

5 December 1936 the VIII Extraordinary Congress of Soviets adopted the new Constitution of the USSR.

The Constitution included 13 chapters with 146 articles. The document declared that the political basis of the USSR is Soviets of Workers’ Deputies to whom belongs the power in the country. The main body of state power in the USSR was now the Supreme Soviet of the USSR elected for 4 years; between its sessions the country was led by the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet. The government of the country, the Soviet of People’s Commissars of the USSR, was the supreme executive body subject to the Supreme Soviet and its Presidium.

There was introduced the principle of the universal, equal and direct suffrage with voting by secret ballot, the system of organization of the state power was democratized, the competence of each government body was defined more strictly. All citizens were granted equal rights for labor and rest, financial support in the old age and sickness, there was proclaimed the liberty of conscience, the freedom of speech, of the press, of assembly and meetings.

The 1936 Constitution was very democratic for its time. However, the realization of the declared rights and freedoms was not supported by the effective legislation, while the politics of mass repressions pursued by the power absolutely contradicted the main national law.

7 October 1977, instead of the 1936 Constitution, the Supreme Soviet of the USSR adopted the third Constitution of the USSR (the “Brezhnev” one).

Lit.: Конституция СССР 1936 г. // Кукушкин Ю. С., Чистяков О. И. Очерк истории Советской конституции. М., 1987. Редакции Конституции СССР 1936 г. [Электронный ресурс] // Конституция Российской Федерации. 2003-2013.URL: http://constitution.garant.ru/DOC_5005.htm.

From the Presidential library materials:

Constitution – Basic law: collection;

The first Constitution of RSFSR adopted // On this day. 10 July 1918;

The first Constitution of the USSR adopted // On this day. 31 January 1924.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Принята «Сталинская» конституция

5 декабря 1936

Осенью 1935 г. Центральный исполнительный комитет СССР создал Конституционную комиссию под председательством И. В. Сталина и 12 подкомиссий для разработки нового варианта Конституции СССР, в котором должны были найти отражение представления о победе социализма в Советском Союзе.

12 июня 1936 г. проект Конституции был опубликован и обсуждался в течение полугода на всех уровнях — от собраний трудящихся на предприятиях до республиканских съездов Советов. В обсуждении участвовало более половины взрослого населения страны, комиссия получила 154 тыс. предложений, поправок, дополнений. Редакционная комиссия приняла 47 поправок и дополнений к более чем 30 статьям.  

5 декабря 1936 г. VIII Чрезвычайный Съезд Советов принял новую Конституцию СССР.

Конституция состояла из 13 глав и 146 статей. В документе объявлялось, что политическую основу СССР составляют Советы депутатов трудящихся, которым принадлежит вся власть в стране. Высшим органом государственной власти в СССР стал Верховный Совет СССР, избиравшийся на 4 года, а в перерывах между его сессиями — Президиум Верховного Совета СССР. Правительство страны — Совет народных комиссаров СССР — являлось высшим исполнительным органом, подотчётным Верховному Совету и его Президиуму.

Был введён принцип всеобщего, равного и прямого избирательного права при тайном голосовании, демократизирована система организации государственной власти, более чётко разграничена компетенция между органами власти и их исполнительно-распорядительными органами. Всем гражданам предоставлялись равные права на труд и отдых, материальное обеспечение в старости и болезни, провозглашалась свобода совести, слова, печати, собраний и митингов.

Для своего времени Конституция 1936 г. была очень демократичной, однако реализация продекларированных в ней прав и свобод не была обеспечена действующим законодательством, а проводившаяся властью политика массовых репрессий полностью противоречила основному закону страны.

7 октября 1977 г. Верховным советом СССР взамен Конституции 1936 г. была принята третья Конституция СССР («Брежневская»).

Лит.: Конституция СССР 1936 г. // Кукушкин Ю. С., Чистяков О. И. Очерк истории Советской конституции. М., 1987. Редакции Конституции СССР 1936 г. [Электронный ресурс] // Конституция Российской Федерации. 2003-2016.URL: http://constitution.garant.ru/DOC_5005.htm.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Конституция — Основной закон: коллекция;

На Всероссийском съезде Советов в Москве принята первая Конституция РСФСР // День в истории. 10 июля 1918 г.;

Принята первая Конституция СССР // День в истории. 31 января 1924 г.