Share content in social networks:

The Military Order of the Saint Grand Martyr and the Triumphant George has been established

7 December 1769

On November 26 (December 7) 1769 under the decree of Catherine II there was established the imperial military order of the Saint Grand Martyr and the Triumphant George of the Four Classes.

The Order of Saint George was the fourth Russian order and from the very beginning became especially significant as a military award given for a personal courage. 

In the Order’s statute it was specified that “neither a high origin, nor the previous merits or wounds received in battles are taking into account while attributing the Order of Saint George for the feat of arms; honored with it are just those who not only accomplished their obligations according to the oath of allegiance, honor and duty, but in addition to this distinguished himself in the battle to the benefit and glory of the Russian arms”.  

The Order had four classes and at first was awarded the lowest fourth class accompanied, as the third one, with a small cross. The first and the second classes were accompanied with a big cross and a decoration of the four-pointed gold star.

The Order of all the four classes had the form of a golden cross with rays covered with white enamel. In the central round medallion of the decoration on a rose (from the thirties of 19th century – on a red) background there was an image of the Saint George on a horse striking a serpent with a spear. The St. George ribbon had two black stripes and two yellow (orange ones).

The first holder of the Order of Saint George of the First Class was a prominent Russian commander P.A. Rumyantsev-Zadunaisky who received this award on July 27 (August 7), 1770 for the victory near Largue. During the entire history of Russia the First Class of the Order was awarded to only 25 persons; and there were just four holders of all the Four Classes of the Order: M.I. Kutuzov-Smolensky, M.B. Barklai de Tolly, I.F. Paskevich-Erivansky and I.I. Dibich-Zabalkansky.

From 1849 the names of the Order holders were engraved on special marble plates in Georg Hall of the Great Nikolai Palace in Moscow Kremlin. The holders of the Saint George Order were respected in the army and society and benefited from a series of privileges.

In 1917 the Order of Saint George was abolished along with other “attributes” of tsar Russia. On August 8, 2000 under the decree of the president it was re-established as the national highest military award.

Lit.: Дуров В. Ордена России. М., 1993; Орден Святого Георгия [Электронный ресурс] // Ордена и медали России. 2006-2014. URL: http://rusorden.ru/?nr=add&nt=2; Шепелев Л. Е. Титулы, мундиры, ордена в Российской империи. Л., 1991.

From the Presidential library materials:

День Героев Отечества // День в истории. 9 декабря 2007 г.;

Российские императорские и царские ордена. СПб., 1901.

Учреждён Императорский военный орден Святого Великомученика и Победоносца Георгия

7 декабря 1769

26 ноября (7 декабря) 1769 г. указом Екатерины II был учреждён императорский военный орден Святого Великомученика и Победоносца Георгия четырёх степеней.

Орден святого Георгия стал четвёртым российским орденом и с самого начала приобрёл особое значение именно как военная награда, выдаваемая за личную храбрость.

В статуте ордена специально оговаривалось, что «ни высокий род, ни прежние заслуги, ни полученные в сражениях раны не приемлются в уважение при удостоении к ордену Святого Георгия за воинские подвиги; удостаивается же оного единственно тот, кто не только обязанность свою исполнил во всем по присяге, чести и долгу, но сверху сего ознаменовал себя на пользу и славу Российского оружия особенным отличием».

Орден имел четыре степени, причём сначала присуждалась четвёртая, низшая степень, к которой, как и к третьей, полагался малый крест. К первой и второй степеням прибавлялся большой крест и знаки с четырёхлучевой золотой звездой.

Знак ордена IV-I степеней представлял собой золотой крест с лучами, покрытыми белой эмалью. В центральном круглом медальоне знака на розовом (с 30-х гг. XIX в. — красном) фоне помещалось изображение св. Георгия на коне, поражающего копьём змея. Георгиевская лента имела три чёрные и две жёлтые (оранжевые) продольные полосы.

Первым кавалером ордена Святого Георгия I степени стал выдающийся русский полководец П. А. Румянцев-Задунайский, получивший награду 27 июля (7 августа) 1770 г. за победу при Ларге. За всю историю России первая степень вручалась лишь двадцать пять раз, а полных Георгиевских кавалеров, имеющих все четыре степени ордена, было лишь четверо: М. И. Кутузов-Смоленский, М. Б. Барклай-де-Толли, И. Ф. Паскевич-Эриванский и И. И. Дибич-Забалканский.

С 1849 г. имена кавалеров ордена стали заноситься на специальные мраморные доски в Георгиевском зале Большого Николаевского дворца в Московском Кремле. Георгиевские кавалеры в армии и в обществе пользовались уважением и имели ряд привилегий.

В 1917 г. вместе с остальными «признаками» царской России орден Святого Георгия был упразднён, а 8 августа 2000 г. возрождён указом президента как высшая военная награда страны.

Лит.: Дуров В. Ордена России. М., 1993; Орден Святого Георгия [Электронный ресурс] // Ордена и медали России. 2006-2014. URL: http://rusorden.ru/?nr=add&nt=2; Шепелев Л. Е. Титулы, мундиры, ордена в Российской империи. Л., 1991.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

День Героев Отечества // День в истории. 9 декабря 2007 г.;

Российские императорские и царские ордена. СПб., 1901.