Birthday anniversary of Andrey M. Zayonchkovsky, commander, military theorist and historian

20 December 1862

8 (20) December 1862 in the Orlov Province, into a noble family was born Andrey M., Russian commander, military theorist and historian, infantry general.

Zayonchkovsky was educated in the N. I. Bakhtin Orlov Military school; in 1883 graduated from the Nikolai Engineer College; in 1888 – the Academy of the General Staff.

He participated in the Russo-Japanese war of 1904-1905  as the commander of the 85th Vyborg infantry regiment and then the 2nd brigade of the 3rd Siberian Infantry Division.

In 1908-1912 Zayonchkovsky occupied the post of the assistant to the Grand Duke Alexander Mikhailovich in managing of the Sevastopol Museum.

Andrey Zayonchkovsky began the World War I of 1914-1918 as the commander of the 37th infantry division of the 18th corps which took part in the Battle of Galicia. In 1916 Zayonchkovsky commanded the 30th corps which participated in the Brusilov Offensive. In autumn of 1916 he was appointed the commander of an independent corps in Dobrudzh which soon developed into the whole army.

In April of 1917 Zayonchkovsky entered the reserve of ranks under the staff of the Petrograd military district; in May of 1917 he resigned.

For his military deeds Zayonchkovsky was awarded with the Order of St. Stanislav of three classes, the Order of St. Anna, three classes, the Order of St. Vladimir, 4th and 3rd class and the Gold arm.

In 1919 Zayonchkovsky entered the Red Army and served in the All-Russian Headquarters. From August 1919 he was at the South front as the head of the 13th army’s staff which fought with the armies of Denikin; then he was attached to the Head of the Field Staff of the Revolutionary Military Council of the Republic. He also was the assistant of the president of the Military-Historical Commission and the headed the research of the experience of the World War I.

From 1922 to 1926 Zayonchkovsky had been a professor at the M. V. Frunze Military Academy, first at the Strategy Department, and then – at the Department of the World History.

A. M. Zayonchkovsky was a prominent military theorist and author of a large number of works, among which: The Eastern War of 1853-1856 in relation with the political situation of the time (St. Petersburg, 1908—1913); Sevastopol Defence (2nd edition, St. Petersburg, 1904); Strategic Essay of the 1914-1918 War (part 6-7. Moscow, 1923); Russia prepares for the imperialistic war (Moscow, 1926); Russia prepares for the world war from international aspect (Leningrad, 1926); World War 1914-1918 (3rd edition, volume 1-3. Moscow, 1938—1939).

All his military-historical works represent the first processing of the archival materials with the use of foreign sources, and are valuable by their rich facts presented in quite a condensed form. Zayonchkovsky has made a significant contribution to the research of problems of strategic planning and management, popularization of military-scientific works of Russian and West European classics.

22 March 1926 Andrey M. Zayonchkovsky died and was buried in Moscow, at the Novodevichy Monastery cemetery.

Lit.: Зайончковский Андрей Медардович [Электронный ресурс]  // Руниверс. Б. д. URL: http://www.runivers.ru/personals/author3099/; Леонидов Л. Военно-исторические исследования А. М. Зайончковского // Военно-исторический журнал. 1972. № 6.

Based on the Presidential Library’s materials:

Зайончковский А. М. Оборона Севастополя. Подвиги защитников. СПб., 1900;

Зайончковский А. М. Подготовка России к империалистической войне: очерки военной подготовки и первоначальных планов: по архивным документам. М., 1926.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Родился военачальник, военный теоретик и историк Андрей Медардович Зайончковский

20 декабря 1862

8 (20) декабря 1862 г. в Орловской губернии, в дворянской семье родился Андрей Медардович Зайончковский, российский военачальник, военный теоретик и историк, генерал от инфантерии.

Образование Андрей Медардович получил в Орловской военной гимназии имени Н. И. Бахтина, в 1883 г. окончил Николаевское инженерное училище, а в 1888 г. — Академию Генерального штаба.

Участвовал в русско-японской войне 1904-1905 гг. в качестве командира 85-го Выборгского пехотного полка и затем 2-ой бригады 3-й Сибирской пехотной дивизии.

В 1908-1912 гг. А. М. Зайончковский занимал пост помощника великого князя Александра Михайловича по управлению Севастопольским музеем.

Первую мировую войну 1914-1918 гг. Андрей Медардович начал в должности начальника 37-й пехотной дивизии 18-го корпуса, с которой принимал участие в Галицийской битве. В 1916 г. Зайончковский командовал 30-м корпусом, который участвовал в Брусиловском прорыве. Осенью 1916 г. ему было поручено командование отдельным корпусом в Добрудже, скоро развернувшимся в целую армию.

В апреле 1917 г. Зайончковский был зачислен в резерв чинов при штабе Петроградского военного округа, а в мае 1917 г. ушёл в отставку.

За военные заслуги Зайончковский был награждён орденом Св. Станислава 3-х степеней, орденом Св. Анны 3-х степеней, орденом Св. Владимира 4-й и 3-й степени, а также Золотым оружием.

В 1919 г. Андрей Медардович вступил в Красную Армию и служил во Всероссийском главном штабе. С августа 1919 г. находился на Южном фронте на посту начальника штаба 13-й армии, сражавшейся с деникинскими войсками; затем состоял при начальнике Полевого штаба РВС Республики. Был помощником председателя Военно-исторической комиссии и руководителем работ по исследованию опыта Первой мировой войны.

С 1922 г. по 1926 г. Зайончковский состоял профессором при Военной академии им. М. В. Фрунзе сначала на кафедре стратегии, а затем — истории мировой войны.

А. М. Зайончковский являлся крупным военным теоретиком и автором большого числа работ, среди которых: Восточная война 1853-1856 гг. в связи с современной ей политической обстановкой (СПб, 1908—1913); Оборона Севастополя (2 изд., СПб, 1904); Стратегический очерк войны 1914-1918 гг. (Ч. 6—7. М., 1923); Подготовка России к империалистической войне (М., 1926); Подготовка России к мировой войне в международном отношении (Л., 1926); Мировая война 1914-1918 гг. (3 изд. Т. 1—3. М., 1938—1939).

Все его военно-исторические труды представляют первую обработку архивных материалов с использованием заграничных источников и являются ценными по собранному в них богатому фактическому материалу, изложенному в весьма сжатой форме. Зайончковский внёс большой вклад в исследование проблем стратегического планирования и стратегического руководства, популяризацию военно-научных работ русских и западноевропейских военных классиков.

22 марта 1926 г. Андрей Медардович Зайончковский скончался и был похоронен в Москве на кладбище Новодевичьего монастыря.

Лит.: Зайончковский Андрей Медардович [Электронный ресурс]  // Руниверс. Б. д. URLhttp://www.runivers.ru/personals/author3099/; Леонидов Л. Военно-исторические исследования А. М. Зайончковского // Военно-исторический журнал. 1972. № 6.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Зайончковский А. М. Оборона Севастополя. Подвиги защитников. СПб., 1900;

Зайончковский А. М. Подготовка России к империалистической войне: очерки военной подготовки и первоначальных планов: по архивным документам. М., 1926.