Rossica

Rossica

The collection presents publications of foreigners dedicated to Russia during 10th – 19th cc. The collection is mainly built up of memoirs, diaries, reports, accounts of foreigners, who traveled to Russia. The purpose of the visit (diplomatic, military, trading, information gathering) defines the emphasis of the work. Nevertheless, prior to the middle of 17th century they represent the most important sources of social history and give an insight into the general state of the society of that time. Despite various inaccuracies and limited perception of Austrian, British, French, and Polish travelers (they did not speak Russian language and had not much freedom to travel), they easily noticed the distinctive features of the country's way of life, its major differences from the Western civilization.

The most significant works of this period are the publications of diplomats: “Notes on Muscovite Affairs” by Austrian diplomat Sigismund von Herberstein (1486–1566) and “The Journey to Muscovy of Baron Augustin Mayerberg” by Augustin Meyerberg (1612–1688); “About the Russian State” by the British diplomat Giles Fletcher (1548–1611)); “A Detailed Account of the Journey of Holstein Ambassadors to Muscovy and Persia” by Adam Olearius (1603-1671), as well as “The Russian State and the Grand Duchy of Moscow” by the French mercenary Jacques Margeret (c. 1550s - not earlier than 1618). The collection features books, studies and archival materials, which cast light on the history of translation and publication of their works.

A great number of foreign works spotlight the Time of Troubles, when there were a lot of invaders from Poland and Sweden in Russia. They are available for study as part of the multivolume collected works “The Accounts of Contemporaries of False Dmitry”, and as individual publications.

The collection also features little-known names. The book of the Swedish military engineer and member of the embassy to Russia in 1673 “Notes on Russia” by Erich Palmquist (first Swedish edition and translated Russian edition) is available, too. A few works, which deal with this important and detailed account of the visit to Russia, are presented, too.

In the 18th – 19th cc. it was easier for travelers to go to Russia; many foreigners were invited to work in the Russian Empire, where they wrote down their records. Most works are dedicated to the time of Peter I. Of particular interest are the works, which describe Siberia and Kamchatka. The most famous is the publication of the French traveler Astolphe de Custine, who was critical of Russia during the reign of Nicholas I. Along with the book, you can study some of its extracts, as well as the reaction to the publication of the cavalry general, Chairman of the Committee of Ministers and the State Council I. V. Vasilchikov (1776–1847).

The collection includes publications of foreigners, pre-revolutionary, Soviet and modern studies, materials of scientific collections, maps and plans, which were part of foreign publications, reprinted on individual sheets. 

The collection is based on the materials from holdings of the Russian State Historical Archive, the Swedish National Archives, the Russian State Library, the State Public Historical Library, the St. Petersburg State University Library, the Ural Federal University Library and the Russian State Pedagogical University Library; the Yugra State Library; the Moscow Regional State Research Library, the Vladimir Regional Research Library, the Tver Regional Research Library, the Tula Regional Research Library, the State Russian Museum Manuscript Department, the Russian Geographical Society, “Lomonosov” Publishing House, “Nashe Radio” radio station.

Share content in social networks:

Россика

Россика

В коллекцию включены сочинения иностранцев о России X–XIX вв. В первую очередь комплекс документов был сформирован на основе воспоминаний, дневников, донесений, заметок иностранцев, которые совершили путешествия в Россию. В зависимости от цели визита (дипломатическая, военная, купеческая, разведывательная) меняются и те акценты, которые сделаны в сочинении, но до середины XVII они являются важнейшими источниками по социальной истории, понимания общей картины общества того периода. Несмотря на различного рода ошибки и ограниченность восприятия австрийских, английских, французских, польских путешественников (незнание языка, ограниченность возможностей для передвижения), им было легче подмечать особенности быта страны, ее значительные отличия от западной цивилизации.

Наиболее значительными сочинениями этого периода являются работы дипломатов – австрийцев Сигизмунда фон Герберштейна (1486–1566) «Записки о московитских делах» и Августина Мейерберга (1612–1688) «Путешествие в Московию барона Августина Майерберга»; англичанина Джайлс Флетчер (1548–1611) «О государстве русском»; немца Адама Олеария (1603-1671) «Подробное описание путешествия голштинского посольства в Московию и Персию», а также французского наемника Жака Маржерета (ок. 1550-х – не ранее 1618) «Состояние Российской державы и Великого княжества Московского». В коллекции представлены тексты сочинений, исследования и архивные материалы по истории перевода и публикации их трудов.

Значительное число иностранных трудов посвящено периоду Смутного времени, когда на территории России в большом количестве были интервенты из Польши и Швеции. Они представлены в многотомном собрании «Сказания современников о Дмитрии самозванце», а также ряде отдельных изданий.

В коллекции представлены и малоизвестные имена. Сочинение шведского фортификатора участника посольства в Россию в 1673 г. «Заметки о России» Эрика Пальмквиста представлено в его первом издании на шведском языке и современном переводе на русский язык. Также указаны немногочисленные труды, в которых уделено внимание этому значительному и подробному отчету о визите в Россию.

В XVIII–XIX вв. посещение России было более доступным, на службу в Российскую империю нанималось значительное число иностранцев, которые оставили свои заметки. Наибольшее число работ посвящено эпохе Петра I. Интерес также представляют труды, в которых описываются Сибирь и Камчатка. Наиболее известным является сочинение французского путешественника Астольфа де Кюстина, который критически описывал Россию эпохи Николая I. Представлено не только само сочинение, но и отдельные выписки из него и реакция на работу генерала от кавалерии, председателя Комитета министров и Государственного Совета И.В. Васильчикова (1776–1847).

В коллекцию включены непосредственно сочинения иностранцев, дореволюционные, советские и современные исследования, материалы научных сборников, переиздания на отдельных листах карт и планов, которые входили в состав сочинений иностранных авторов.

При подготовке коллекции были использованы материалы из фондов Российского государственного исторического архива, Государственного архива Швеции, Российской государственной библиотеки, Государственной публичной исторической библиотеки, библиотек СПбГУ, УрФУ и РГПУ; Государственной библиотеки Югры; Московской областной государственной научной библиотеки, Владимирской областной универсальной научной библиотеки, Тверской областной универсальной научной библиотеки, Тульской областной универсальной научной библиотеки, отдела рукописей Государственного Русского музея, Русского географического общества, издательства "ЛомоносовЪ", радиостанции «Наше Радио».

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: