Mikhail Glinka (1804–1857)

Mikhail Glinka (1804–1857)

The collection is timed to coincide with the 215th anniversary of the birth of the Russian composer Mikhail Glinka, the first Russian classical composer, founder of the Russian national school of the world opera. Like Alexander Pushkin in literature, the composer created a new language of Russian music.

Mikhail Glinka’s output is not prolific. It includes A Life for the Tsar and Ruslan and Lyudmila operas, symphonic music, in particular, Waltz Fantasy and Kamarinskaya overture, chamber music, romances and other vocal compositions. The romance Do Not Tempt Me, which was one of the first works composed in 1825, is still in the repertoire of many vocalists.

The music of Mikhail Glinka is deeply national and patriotic. It is not by chance that it was his Patriotic Song that had been the national anthem of the Russian Federation for ten years (from 1991 to 2000).

The collection contains electronic copies of books, brochures, archive documents and visual materials. Of particular interest is the magazine publication of Mikhail Glinka’s Memoirs, published through the efforts of the composer’s sister L. I. Shestakova. These memoirs can be found in the “Composer’s Life and Work” section.

The collection also includes materials about two operas produced by Mikhail Glinka - A Life for the Tsar and Ruslan and Lyudmila: archive documents related to the operatic performances, as well as photographs of opera singers in makeup dressed up as characters of Glinka’s works.

The collection features materials from N. V. Balachenkova’s private collection, the Children's Postcard Museum, the Russian State Historical Archive, the Moscow Regional State Research Library and other sources.

Share content in social networks:

М. И. Глинка (1804–1857)

М. И. Глинка (1804–1857)

Коллекция приурочена к 215-летию со дня рождения русского композитора М. И. Глинки, первого в России композитора-классика, родоначальника русского национального направления в мировом оперном искусстве. Подобно А. С. Пушкину в словесности, композитор создал новый язык русской музыки.

Наследие М. И. Глинки немногочисленно: оперы «Жизнь за царя» и «Руслан и Людмила», симфоническая музыка, в частности, «Вальс-фантазия» и увертюра «Камаринская», камерная музыка, романсы и другие вокальные произведения. Одним из первых в 1825 году был написан романс «Не искушай», и сегодня входящий в репертуар многих вокалистов.

Музыка М. И. Глинки проникнута глубоко национальными, патриотическими мотивами. Неслучайно, что именно его «Патриотическая песня» на протяжении десяти лет (с 1991 по 2000 годы) служила в качестве государственного гимна Российской Федерации.

В предлагаемую коллекцию вошли цифровые копии книг, брошюр, архивных документов и изобразительных материалов. Особого внимания заслуживает журнальная публикация «Записок» М. И. Глинки, изданных стараниями сестры композитора Л. И. Шестаковой. Эти мемуары помещены в раздел «Жизнь и деятельность композитора».

Также в коллекции представлены материалы о двух операх М. И. Глинки «Жизнь за царя» и «Руслан и Людмила». Это архивные документы, связанные с представлениями опер, а также фотографии оперных певцов в гриме и костюмах героев произведений Глинки.

Для подготовки коллекции были использованы материалы из частного собрания Н. В. Балаченковой, Детского музея открытки, Российского государственного исторического архива, Московской областной государственной научной библиотеки и других источников.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: