Surgut

Surgut

Surgut today is a city under district (okrug) jurisdiction of Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area - Yugra, one of the centers of oil industry in Russia. It is located on the right bank of the Ob River, in its middle course.

It was founded in the late 16th century. The year 1594 - its first written record in the order of Tsar Fyodor Ivanovich - is considered to be the year of its foundation. At that time there was a small fortress, a voivode’s house, a church, and some houses in Surgut. It was inhabited by the Cossacks, and it served as an outpost for the Russians to move eastwards and northwards in the 17th century.

In 1782 Surgut was granted the status of a district center of the vicegerency of Tobolsk, and on March 17, 1785 the coat of arms of Surgut was approved. The main occupations of inhabitants of Surgut were fishing, hunting, skin dressing, gathering of pine nuts, etc. Surgut gradually became a significant trading center - by the end of the 18th century fairs were held there every year.

This town was also a place of exile. Decembrists, Narodniks and revolutionaries, war prisoners of different wars were sent there to serve their sentences.

Moreover, travellers, historians, ethnographers visited the town and described it in their memoirs. On July 20, 1891 an heir to the throne, Nicholas Romanov who travelled across Siberia and the Far East, went to the town. After the revolution of 1917, the Soviet power was established in the town only in April 1918. In the autumn of 1923 Surgut lost its status of a town and became a village.

The town enjoyed its revival after the discovery of the West-Surgut oil deposits in 1962. The development of oil fields began in 1964. On June 25, 1965 Surgut was transformed into a city under district (okrug) jurisdiction. The city began to develop dynamically and turned into the largest industrial and cultural center of Khanty-Mansi Autonomous Area - Yugra. It became an important transport hub, which includes a railway, a highway, an airport and a river harbour. Pipeline transport is well-developed. The system-forming enterprise of the city is Surgutneftegaz oil company, which occupies one of the leading positions among oil companies in Russia. In 2018 the population exceeded 370,000 people.

The collection, dedicated to the 425th anniversary of the foundation of Surgut, includes legal acts, research works, archival documents, statistical studies, periodicals, maps and visual materials.

Share content in social networks:

Город Сургут

Город Сургут

Сегодня Сургут является городом окружного подчинения Ханты-Мансийского автономного округа – Югры, одним из центров нефтедобывающей промышленности России. Он располагается на правом берегу реки Оби, в среднем её течении.

Основан он был в конце XVI века, по первому его упоминанию в наказе царя Фёдора Ивановича годом основания принято считать 1594 год. В это время Сургут включал небольшую крепость, церковь, воеводский двор и жилые дома. Его населяли казаки, и он выполнял функции форпоста для продвижения русских на восток и север в XVII веке.

В 1782 году Сургуту был присвоен статус уездного центра Тобольского наместничества, а 17 марта 1785 года был утверждён герб Сургута. Наиболее распространёнными занятиями жителей Сургута были рыбная ловля, охота, выделка кож и шкур, сбор кедрового ореха и др. Постепенно Сургут становится и заметным торговым центром – к концу XVIII века здесь стали ежегодно проходить ярмарки.

Выступал этот город и в качестве места ссылки. Здесь отбывали наказание декабристы, народники и революционеры, направлялись военнопленные различных войн.

Кроме того, город посещали путешественники, историки, этнографы, которые оставили о нём свои воспоминания. А 20 июля 1891 года в городе побывал наследник престола Николай Александрович Романов, совершавший поездку по Сибири и Дальнему Востоку. После революции 1917 года советская власть в городе установилась только в апреле 1918 года. Осенью 1923 года Сургут потерял статус города и превратился в село.

Второе рождение город пережил после обнаружения Западно-Сургутского месторождения нефти в 1962 году. С 1964 года началось его освоение. 25 июня 1965 года Сургут преобразован в город окружного подчинения. Город стал динамично развиваться и превратился в крупнейший промышленный и культурный центр Ханты-Мансийского автономного округа – Югры. Он стал важным транспортным узлом: здесь проходят железная дорога, автомагистраль, аэропорт и речной порт. Развит трубопроводный транспорт. Системообразующим предприятием города является нефтяная компания «Сургутнефтегаз», которая занимает одно из ведущих мест среди нефтяных компаний в России. Численность населения в 2018 году составляла более 370 тыс. человек.

В коллекцию, посвящённую 425-летию основания Сургута, вошли нормативно-правовые акты, исследования, архивные документы, труды по статистике, периодические издания, картографические и изобразительные материалы.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: