Alexander Radishchev (1749–1802)

Alexander Radishchev (1749–1802)

Alexander Radishchev (1749–1802) was the Russian writer and thinker of the late 18th century, one of the most remarkable and controversial figures of the Russian Enlightenment. The image of Radishchev as a martyr to the ideals of liberty, which was formed from the early 19th century, was transformed into the idea about ​​the "first Russian revolutionary”. Meanwhile, Alexander Radishchev’s works are diverse and, in addition to the famous A Journey from St. Petersburg to Moscow and the Liberty ode, include poetry, which is largely innovative, as well as philosophical, legal and other works.

Alexander Radishchev was born in 1749 in Penza Governorate. He spent his childhood on his father’s estate in the village of Nemtsovo, Kaluga Governorate. He received an education in the Corps of Pages (1762-1766) and was among the best graduates, who were sent to Leipzig University (1767–1771) to study law. Radishchev’s The Life of Fyodor Ushakov (1789) provides a description of the years of study at Leipzig University and the “riot” of Russian students that took place there. On returning to Russia in December 1771 Radishchev was appointed as record keeper at the Senate.

The translation of Abbé de Mably’s Observations on the History of Greece, which was published anonymously in 1773, marked Radishchev's debut in print. Later, Radishchev also translated the three-volume work of Jean-Baptiste-Barthélemy de Lesseps - Travels in Kamchatka and the South of Siberia.

In May 1773 Radishchev resigned from the Senate and became a chief auditor (legal adviser) at the headquarters of the Finnish division. In March 1775 he resigned his post. At the end of 1777 Radishchev was appointed to the Collegium of Commerce. In 1780 he became an assistant to customs adviser (St. Petersburg Governorate) and in 1790 he took up a post of the head of Customs.

In 1782 Radishchev started working on A Word on Lomonosov. Circa 1783 Radishchev finished the ode Liberty, which was an indictment of tyranny and contained reaction to political events in Europe (the English Civil War of the 17th century) and North America (the War of Independence). Catherine II viewed the ode as "clearly rebellious”. However Liberty is notable not just in terms of its socio-political content, but also as a work of poetry.

In the mid-1780s Radishchev embarked on his major undertaking – A Journey from St. Petersburg to Moscow, which comprised some previously written works (A Word on Lomonosov and fragments of the Liberty ode). The chapters of A Journey named after postal stations on the way from St. Petersburg to Moscow, are different in terms of size and subjects. The book is multifaceted: various aspects of the political and public life of Russia are sharply criticized in it. It features the description of life of different classes. The peasant theme is in the spotlight of the whole book: rightless serfs, their sale, conscript obligation, miserable life. The traveller-narrator plays an important unifying role. The book includes publicistic elements, has some features of oratorical prose, didactic literature and satire.

The anonymous book was printed at Radishchev's home printing house at the end of May 1790 with a circulation of about 650 copies. On May 30–31 A Journey went on sale at the shop of bookseller G. K. Zotov in Gostiny Dvor. Catherine II also read the book. The empress thought that the book “was full of various impudent expressions, which could lead to immoral behaviour, disobedience to authorities and many public disorders” and ordered to conduct an investigation to identify the author, whom she called “a rebel worse than Pugachev”, chancellor A. A. Bezborodko recalled.

On June 30 Radishchev was arrested and imprisoned in the Peter and Paul Fortress. On July 13 the empress ordered to put Radishchev on trial and signed a rescript, which banned his book. On July 24, the Criminal Court Chamber issued a death sentence to the writer, which was later commuted to 10 years’ exile in Siberia.

En route Radishchev wrote Sketches of a Journey to Siberia, which contained geographical, historical, ethnographic records, as well as observations on the life of local people. On arriving at Ilimsk in 1792, Radishchev started working on the treatise On Man, His Mortality and Immortality – the most important of the works written in Siberia, which touched upon a wide range of literary and philosophical problems. The writer spent six years in Siberian exile.

After Catherine’s death in 1796 Paul I allowed Radishchev to settle on his estate in Nemtsovo, although he remained under the police control. The writer enjoyed complete freedom only in March 1801 during the reign of Alexander I. Alexander Radishchev was appointed to the Law Drafting Commission, where he took part in drafting legislative reforms. In September 1802 Radishchev passed away. Suicide, accident or illness - there is still no unanimity on causes of his death.

Radishchev's works were banned in Russia until 1905, but this did not prevent the distribution of copies of A Journey from St. Petersburg to Moscow manuscript. In 1858 A. I. Herzen published A Journey in London. Research on the writer's legacy was in fact undertaken only in the 20th century. The three-volume Complete Works by Radishchev edited by G. Gukovsky were published between 1930 and 1950. Many of his texts, including philosophical and legal works, were printed for the first time.

The collection, which is built up ahead of the 270th anniversary of the birth of Alexander Radishchev, contains his writings, studies focused on the writer’s life and work, and materials intended to perpetuate his memory.

Share content in social networks:

А. Н. Радищев (1749–1802)

А. Н. Радищев (1749–1802)

Александр Николаевич Радищев – русский писатель и мыслитель конца XVIII века, одна из самых ярких и спорных фигур русского Просвещения. Складывавшийся с начала XIX века образ Радищева как страдальца за идеалы вольности трансформировался в массовое представление о «первом русском революционере». Между тем сочинения Радищева разнообразны и помимо знаменитых «Путешествия из Петербурга в Москву» и оды «Вольность» включают поэзию, во многом новаторскую, философские, юридические и другие сочинения.

Радищев родился в 1749 году в Пензенской губернии, детство провёл в отцовском имении в селе Немцово Калужской губернии. Получил общее образование в Пажеском корпусе (1762–1766). Для изучения юридических наук в числе лучших выпускников был отправлен в Лейпцигский университет (1767–1771). О годах учения в Лейпцигском университете и произошедшем там «бунте» русских студентов Радищев рассказал в «Житии Федора Васильевича Ушакова» (1789). Вернувшись в Россию, в декабре 1771 года Радищев был назначен протоколистом в Сенат.

Первым печатным выступлением Радищева стал перевод книги аббата Мабли «Размышления о греческой истории», изданный  анонимно в 1773 году. Впоследствии Радищев также перевёл трёхтомный труд Бартелеми де Лессепса «Путешествие по Камчатке и по южной стороне Сибири».

В мае 1773 года Радищев уволился из Сената и начал служить обер-аудитором (юридическим советником) в штабе Финляндской дивизии. В марте 1775 года вышел в отставку. В конце 1777 года Радищев поступил на службу в Коммерц-коллегию. В 1780 году стал помощником советника таможенных дел по Санкт-Петербургской губернии и к 1790 году дослужился до должности начальника Таможни.

В 1782 году Радищев начал работать над «Словом о Ломоносове». Около 1783 года Радищев закончил оду «Вольность», которая имеет ярко выраженный тираноборческий характер и содержит отклики на политические события в Европе (Английская революция XVII века) и Северной Америке (Война за независимость). Екатерина II восприняла оду как «совершенно явно и ясно бунтовскую». Вместе с тем «Вольность» значительна не только своим общественно-политическим содержанием, но и как поэтическое произведение.

В середине 1780-х годов Радищев приступил к работе над своим главным произведением – «Путешествием из Петербурга в Москву», в которое ввёл ряд сочинений, написанных ранее (в том числе «Слово о Ломоносове» и фрагменты оды «Вольность»). Главы «Путешествия», имеющие названия почтовых станций на пути из Петербурга в Москву, различны по своему объёму и тематике. Книга многопланова: здесь подвергаются резкой критике самые разные стороны политической и общественной жизни России, предстают зарисовки быта и нравов разных сословий. Доминирует на протяжении всего повествования крестьянская тема: бесправие крепостных, их продажа, рекрутчина, убогий быт. Важную объединяющую роль играет образ самого путешественника-повествователя. Книга включает публицистические элементы, сближаясь с традициями ораторской прозы, дидактической литературы и сатиры.

Книга была отпечатана в домашней типографии Радищева без указания его имени в конце мая 1790 года тиражом около 650 экземпляров. 30–31 мая началась продажа «Путешествия» в Гостином дворе в лавке книгопродавца Г. К. Зотова. Прочитала книгу и Екатерина II. По свидетельству канцлера А. А. Безбородко, императрица нашла книгу «наполненною разными дерзостными изражениями, влекущими за собой разврат, неповиновение власти и многие в обществе расстройства» и повелела начать расследование с целью установить имя автора, которого она назвала «бунтовщиком хуже Пугачева».

30 июня Радищев был арестован и заключен в Петропавловскую крепость. 13 июля был подписан приказ императрицы о предании Радищева уголовному суду и рескрипт о запрещении его книги. 24 июля Палата уголовного суда вынесла писателю смертный приговор, который впоследствии был заменен десятилетней ссылкой в Сибирь.

По пути в ссылку Радищев вёл «Записки путешествия в Сибирь», содержащие географические, исторические, этнографические сведения, а также наблюдения над бытом местных жителей. По прибытии в Илимский острог в 1792 году Радищев начал работать над самым значительным из написанных им в Сибири произведений – трактатом «О человеке, его смертности и бессмертии», затрагивавшим широкий круг литературных и философских проблем. В сибирской ссылке писатель провёл шесть лет.

После смерти Екатерины в 1796 году Павел I разрешил Радищеву поселиться на родине в Немцове, но под полицейским надзором. Полную свободу писатель получил лишь в марте 1801 года при Александре I. Назначенный в Комиссию составления законов, Радищев занимался составлением проектов законодательных реформ. В сентябре 1802 года Радищев скончался. Единства во мнениях по поводу причин его смерти до сих пор нет, бытуют версии самоубийства, несчастного случая и болезни.  

Сочинения Радищева были запрещены в России вплоть до 1905 года, однако это не помешало распространению «Путешествия из Петербурга в Москву» в рукописных списках. В 1858 году А. И. Герцен издал «Путешествие» в Лондоне. Научное исследование наследия писателя по сути началось только в XX веке. В 1930–1950 годы под редакцией Г. Гуковского было осуществлено издание трёхтомного «Полного собрания сочинений» Радищева, где свет впервые увидели многие его тексты, в том числе философские и юридические.

В коллекцию, приуроченную к 270-летию со дня рождения А. Н. Радищева, включены его сочинения, исследования о жизни и творчестве писателя, материалы,  посвящённые сохранению памяти о нём.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: