History of statistics of the Altai (Mining) District

History of statistics of the Altai (Mining) District

The collection is created by the specialists of the Vyacheslav Shishkov Altai Regional Universal Scientific Library - winners of the first contest "Our Region: Selected Pages of History" held by the Presidential Library in 2019-2020.

The collection features digital copies of materials provided by the Vyacheslav Shishkov Altai Regional Universal Scientific Library and the State Archives of Altai Territory.

In the second half of the XIX century, the Altai (Mining) District belonged to the industry territories and was part of a larger administrative area - Tomsk Province. The pre-revolutionary Altai covered a huge territory of Western Siberia. It included not only the lands of the modern Altai Territory and the Altai Republic but also most of the present Novosibirsk and Kemerovo regions, the southern areas of Tomsk Region and several eastern districts of the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Departmental statistical accounting in the Altai (Mining) District was distinct from the provincial system of statistics. It was arranged according to the administrative-territorial principle. The mechanism of statistical service of the district was based on the principle of a "paramilitary management system", being an integral part of the mining and metallurgical industry..

The first section of the collection features works by modern authors. They analyze the development of the system of state and zemstvo statistics in Russia, determine the role of statistical services for state practice, as well as features of the development of statistical accounting in the Altai (Mining) District.

The second section includes publications of the Statistical Department under the General Directorate of the Altai District (until 1917). It reveals the history of statistics indirectly; it describes it through the prism of life and activities of the population and the structure of authorities. Presented studies, based on industry statistics, illustrate the level of economic development of this region.

The third section of the collection is devoted to the activities of employees of the Statistical Department under the General Directorate of the Altai District. They, besides their official duties, were engaged in organizing expeditions and exploring the territories and population of the district as members of the Altai Explorers Society, founded in 1891 (since 1902 - the Altai Branch of the West Siberian Department of the Imperial Russian Geographical Society). The major part of the materials is the research of land use and farming of Siberian peasants - old-residents and back-settlers, a description of their villages. Some materials reveal the activities of the Statistical Bureau of the Altai (Mining) District, the problems of the formation of the Statistical Party and its activities.

Share content in social networks:

История статистики Алтайского (горного) округа

История статистики Алтайского (горного) округа

Коллекция сформирована сотрудниками Алтайской краевой универсальной научной библиотеки им. В. Я. Шишкова – победителями первого конкурса «Наш регион: избранные страницы истории», проведённого Президентской библиотекой в 2019–2020 годах.

В коллекцию включены цифровые копии материалов, хранящихся в Алтайской краевой универсальной научной библиотеке им. В. Я. Шишкова и в Государственном архиве Алтайского края.

Во второй половине XIX века Алтайский (горный) округ относился  к ведомственным территориальным образованиям и входил в состав более крупной административной единицы – Томской губернии. Дореволюционный Алтай охватывал огромную территорию Западной Сибири и включал в свои границы не только земли современных Алтайского края и Республики Алтай, но и большую часть нынешних Новосибирской и Кемеровской областей, южные районы Томской области и некоторые восточные районы Республики Казахстан.

Ведомственный статистический учёт в Алтайском (горном) округе был организован иначе, чем в губернской системе статистики, выстроенной по административно-территориальному принципу. Механизм статистического учёта округа строился по принципу «военизированной системы управления», являясь составной частью горнозаводского механизма.

Первый раздел коллекции составляют работы современных авторов, в которых анализируется процесс развития системы государственной и земской статистики в России, определяется роль статистических служб для государственной практики, а также особенности становления статистики в Алтайском (горном) округе.

Второй раздел содержит издания Статистического отдела при Главном управлении Алтайского округа до 1917 года, которые раскрывают историю статистики опосредованно, через призму вопросов жизни и деятельности населения и организации власти. В представленных исследованиях на основе отраслевых статистических данных характеризуется уровень экономического развития региона.

Третий раздел коллекции посвящён деятельности сотрудников статистического отделения при Главном управлении Алтайского округа, которые помимо служебных обязанностей занимались организацией экспедиций и исследованием территорий и населения округа как члены Общества любителей исследования Алтая, основанного в 1891 году (с 1902 года – Алтайский подотдел Западно-Сибирского отдела Императорского русского географического общества). Существенная часть материалов – это исследования землепользования и организации хозяйства крестьян-старожилов и переселенцев в Сибири, описание переселенческих поселков. Ряд источников затрагивают вопросы деятельности Статистического бюро Алтайского (горного) округа, проблемы формирования Статистической партии и её функционирования.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: