Smolensk in Illustrations and Sound Recordings

Smolensk in Illustrations and Sound Recordings

Smolensk city is the administrative, industrial and cultural center of the Smolensk Region. Smolensk is one of the oldest cities in Russia. Its first mention in chronicles dates back to 863. In 2013, the city celebrated its 1150th anniversary.

Smolensk has a special place in the national history. The development of the city was affected by its advantageous location at the crossroads of trade routes. Events of the Time of Troubles, the Patriotic War of 1812, the Great Patriotic War left An important mark in the history of Smolensk.

The collection includes about 150 postcards, photos, drawings and plans of the end of the 18th – 20th centuries. They depict various attractions of Smolensk, including the Assumption Cathedral and Smolensk Fortress Wall, city streets and squares, monuments. Studying at the documents, one can see how the city has changed over the centuries.

Materials of the collection are grouped by thematic sections, such as "Monasteries and Temples", "Smolensk Fortress Wall", "Civil Architecture", "Monuments," "Streets and Parks." Every attraction is provided with a brief historical background. The collection also has a general section, which includes panoramic views of the city, sets of cards and audio records, which tell about the history of Smolensk from ancient times to the present day.

Access to the entire array is provided through the electronic reading room, a number of documents is freely available on the library’s website.

Specialist developing the collection used the materials from the Library of Congress, Russian State Historical Archive, Tretyakov Gallery, radio station "Nashe Radio" and private collections.

To compile historical annotations they used Internet resources on the Smolensk Region.

Share content in social networks:

Смоленск в иллюстрациях и звукозаписях

Смоленск в иллюстрациях и звукозаписях

Город Смоленск является административным, промышленным и культурным центром Смоленской области. Смоленск – один из древнейших городов России. Первое летописное упоминание Смоленска относится к 863 году. В 2013 году город празднует свое 1150-летие.

В отечественной истории Смоленск занимает особое место. На развитие города влияло выгодное расположение на перекрестке торговых путей. Важный след в истории Смоленска оставили события Смутного времени, Отечественной войны 1812 года, Великой Отечественной войны.

В коллекцию включено около 150 открыток, фотографий, чертежей и планов конца XVIII–XX веков. На них запечатлены различные достопримечательности Смоленска, в том числе Успенский собор, Смоленская крепостная стена, городские площади и улицы, монументы. Рассматривая представленные документы, можно представить себе, как менялся город на протяжении столетий.

Материалы коллекции размещены в тематических разделах «Монастыри и храмы», «Смоленская крепостная стена», «Гражданская архитектура», «Монументы», «Улицы, парки». О каждой из достопримечательностей приведена краткая историческая справка. Также в коллекции имеется общий раздел, в который включены панорамные виды города, комплекты открыток и аудиозаписи, в которых повествуется об истории Смоленска с древнейших времен до наших дней.

Доступ ко всему массиву осуществляется в электронном читальном зале, ряд документов доступен в открытом доступе на портале библиотеки.

Для подготовки коллекции были использованы материалы из фондов Библиотеки Конгресса США, Российского государственного исторического архива, Галереи Третьякова, радиостанции «Наше Радио» и частных собраний.

Для составления исторических аннотаций были использованы интернет-ресурсы по Смоленской области.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: