The Presidential Library

The Presidential Library

On May 27, 2014, the Presidential Library celebrated the 5th anniversary of its work in St. Petersburg. The institution opened under a directive of the President of the Russian Federation V. V. Putin as a multifunctional center meeting the up-to-date requirements of the information society. Over the period of 2009-2013, the Presidential Library established the basis for the nationwide repository of digital copies of the most important documents on the history, theory and practice of Russian statehood, and the subjects of the Russian language as the state language. The library stock includes more than 310 thousand entries of various types of materials (printed editions, official documents, written and audiovisual resources).

The Presidential Library also grows as a multimedia, cultural, outreach and awareness raising, educational, research and analytical center. During 2009-2013, several million users visited the Presidential Library website. The resource is also accessible in about 100 electronic reading rooms, located in federal and regional cultural and educational institutions, as well as outside the Russian Federation on the basis of Russian centers of science and culture.

The library effectively works to meet state’s and nation’s demand for information, to save the historical and cultural heritage, to grant people an assured free and equal access of to knowledge and artifacts, to cultivate political and legal culture, citizenship and patriotism, to build a civic consciousness, and strengthen a state governed by the rule of law.

The Presidential Library is actively developing, oriented to the future. Particular tasks, scheduled for the period until 2020, allow foreseeing further gradual increase of resources and modernization of technologies, active involvement of new partner organizations in civic engagement, scientific research work, outreach and awareness raising campaigns.

Share content in social networks:

Президентская библиотека

Президентская библиотека

27 мая 2014 года исполнилось 5 лет работы в Санкт-Петербурге Президентской библиотеки. Она открыта по распоряжению Президента Российской Федерации В. В. Путина как многофункциональный центр, отвечающий самым современным требованиям информационного общества. За период 2009–2013 годов в Президентской библиотеке сложилась основа общегосударственного электронного хранилища цифровых копий важнейших документов по истории, теории и практике российской государственности, вопросам русского языка как государственного. Фонд включает в себя более 310 тыс. единиц хранения различного вида материалов (печатных изданий, официальных документов, рукописных и аудиовизуальных ресурсов).

Президентская библиотека развивается также как мультимедийный, культурно-просветительский, научно-образовательный и информационно-аналитический центр. За 2009–2013 годы портал Президентской библиотеки посетило несколько миллионов удалённых пользователей. Доступность ресурса обеспечивается также посредством около 100 электронных читальных залов, открытых в федеральных и региональных учреждениях культуры и образования, а также за пределами Российской Федерации на базе российских центров науки и культуры.

Библиотека эффективно работает на удовлетворение информационных потребностей общества и государства, сохранение историко-культурного наследия, обеспечение гарантированного свободного и равного доступа граждан к информации и культурным ценностям, воспитание политической и правовой культуры, гражданственности и патриотизма, формирование гражданского общества, укрепления правового государства.

Президентская библиотека активно развивается, ориентирована в будущее. Конкретные задачи, определённые на период до 2020 года, позволяют говорить о дальнейшем планомерном наращивании ресурсов и модернизации технологий, активном вовлечении в общественную, научную, просветительскую деятельность новых организаций-партнёров.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: