THE ARCHAEOGRAPHIC COMMISSION

THE ARCHAEOGRAPHIC COMMISSION

The St. Petersburg Archaeographic Commission was established by an imperial decree in 1834. By this time, owing to the archaeographic expeditions of P. M. Stroev and Y. I. Berednikov, a lot of sources on the history of medieval Russia were already discovered and brought to St. Petersburg — first of all the acts kept in the monastic archives. The Archaeographic Commission was tasked with preparing scientific publications of the sources found. The long-term rewarding activity of the St. Petersburg Archaeographic Commission on studying and publication of historical sources has begun from this. Serial editions of the Archaeographic Commission later earned sizable reputation: The Enactments of the Archaeographic Expedition, Historical Enactments, the Complete Collection of Russian Chronicles (the series continues to the present day), the Russian Historical Library and others. Periodical edition entitled “Chronicle of events of the Archaeographic Commission” became a reference book in the field of the source studies and the methods of scientific description of sources, which published the research works of both the members of the Commission and Russian and foreign nonmembers scientists. Among the members of the Archaeographic Commission there were many globally renowned scientists: Pavel Mikhailovich Stroyev, Afanasy Fedorovich Bychkov, Alexey Alexandrovich Shakhmatov, Sergey Fyodorovich Platonov, Nikolay Petrovich Likhachyov and others. Their contribution to the development of source studies and archaeography was reviewed, among other sources, in publications of the Archaeographic Commission.

The efficient work of the Commission on publications was not interrupted even by the revolutionary events of 1917 followed by disruption. Only the total reorganization of Soviet science system in the 1930s of XX century led to the annulment of the Archaeological Commission: in 1931 the Commission was transformed into the Historical-Archaeological Institute, which was liquidated in 1936. Already in the postwar period, in 1956, on the initiative of Academic M. N. Tikhomirov, the Archaeographic Commission was restored in Moscow. Yet, this is another institution with currently ongoing activities.

The history of the St. Petersburg Archaeographic Commission has come to the end, but its significant scientific legacy, which has not lost its relevance and scientific value, remains today, since many evidences are published exclusively in the publications of the Archaeographic Commission. This source is unique because of the fact that for the first time, based on bibliographic indexes and stocks of the major libraries of Russia, all the editions of the St. Petersburg Archaeographic Commission, which are, apart from professional historians, also in demand of anyone interested in the history of Russia, have been collected at one place.

The sources for this collection courtesy of the Russian State Library, the State Archives of the Russian Federation, St. Petersburg State University, the State Public Historical Library of Russia, the Moscow Regional State Scientific Library named after N. K. Krupskaya, the Herzen Russian State Pedagogical University, the Tyumen Regional Scientific Library named after D. I. Mendeleyev, the Irkutsk Regional State Universal Scientific Library named after I. I. Molchanov-Sibirsky, the “Link of Times” Cultural-Historical Foundation of the Faberge Museum.

Share content in social networks:

Археографическая комиссия

Археографическая комиссия

Петербургская Археографическая комиссия была учреждена императорским указом в 1834 г. К этому времени в результате археографических экспедиций П. М. Строева и Я. И. Бередникова было обнаружено и доставлено в Петербург множество источников по истории средневековой России — прежде всего акты, сохранившиеся в составе монастырских архивов. Перед Археографической комиссией стояла задача подготовить научные издания обнаруженных источников. С этого началась многолетняя плодотворная деятельность Петербургской Археографической комиссии по изучению и публикации исторических источников. Заслуженный авторитет приобрели сериальные издания Археографической комиссии: Акты Археографической экспедиции, Акты исторические, Полное собрание русских летописей (серия продолжается до настоящего времени), Русская историческая библиотека и другие. Эталонным в области источниковедения и методики научного описания источников стало периодическое издание — Летопись занятий Археографической комиссии, на страницах которого публиковались исследования как членов и сотрудников комиссии, так и других российских и иностранных ученых. Среди членов Археографической комиссии было немало ученых с мировым именем — это Павел Михайлович Строев, Афанасий Федорович Бычков, Алексей Александрович Шахматов, Сергей Федорович Платонов, Николай Петрович Лихачев и другие. Их вклад в развитие источниковедения и археографии получил отражение в том числе и на страницах изданий Археографической комиссии.

Результативная публикаторская деятельность комиссии не была прервана даже революционными событиями 1917 г. и последовавшей за ними разрухой. Только тотальная перестройка советской науки в 30-е гг. XX в. привела к уничтожению Археографической комиссии: в 1931 г. комиссия была преобразована в Историко-археографический институт, который ликвидировали в 1936 г. Уже в послевоенное время, в 1956 г., по инициативе акад. М. Н. Тихомирова Археографическую комиссию восстановили в Москве. Но это уже другое учреждение, его деятельность продолжается и в настоящее время.

История Петербургской Археографической комиссии завершилась, но осталось значительное научное наследие, и сегодня не потерявшее своей актуальности и научной значимости, поскольку многие источники опубликованы только в изданиях Археографической комиссии. Настоящий ресурс уникален тем, что в нем на основе библиографических указателей и фондов крупнейших российских библиотек впервые собраны все издания Петербургской Археографической комиссии, к которым обращаются и будут обращаться не только профессиональные историки, но и все интересующиеся историей России.

При подготовке коллекции были использованы фонды Российской государственной библиотеки, Государственного архива Российской Федерации, Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета, Государственной публичной исторической библиотеки России, Московской Областной Государственной Научной Библиотеки им. Н. К. Крупской, Российского государственного педагогического университета им. А. И. Герцена, Тюменской областной научной библиотеки им. Д. И. Менделеева, Иркутской областной государственной универсальной научной библиотеки им. И. И. Молчанова-Сибирского, Культурно-исторического фонда «Связь времен» Музей Фаберже.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: