Maxim Gorky (1868–1936)

Maxim Gorky (1868–1936)

The collection, timed to the 150th anniversary of the birth of the Soviet Russian writer, playwright and public figure Maxim Gorky (A. M. Peshkov) (1868-1936), includes digital copies of books, periodicals and archival documents on his life and work, as well as texts of his own works of art, articles and memoirs. In addition, postcards, photographs and other materials with images of the writer and monuments to him are presented.

A. M. Peshkov (Gorky) was born in Nizhny Novgorod in 1868. In his younger years he traveled a lot in Russia: he went all the south of the country from Astrakhan to Moscow, visited South Bessarabia, the Crimea and the Caucasus. During these years Gorky made a lot of acquaintances among the creative intelligentsia and students that influenced his worldview and he began to write poetry and prose.

In September 1892 the story "Makar Chudra", signed with the pseudonym "M. Gorky", was published in the newspaper "Kavkaz" (Tiflis). Most of the subsequent publications of the writer were released under this pseudonym.

Since 1901, Gorky began to openly express sympathy for the revolutionary movement. From that time he was repeatedly arrested and persecuted.

Maxim Gorky approved himself not only as a writer, but also as a publisher. From 1902 to 1921 years he headed three major publishing houses – “Znanie”, “Parus” and “World Literature”. Many writers of the time were able to work in these publishing houses.

In the late 20's and early 30's M. Gorky traveled a lot around the country and conducted an active educational activity, in particular, founded the journal “Literaturnaya Uchyoba”, designed to teach the basics of the writer's craft of every Soviet citizen.

M. Gorky also played a key role in the formation of the Union of Soviet Writers, being the organizer and chairman of the First All-Union Congress of Soviet Writers in 1934. On his initiative, the Literary Institute, still bearing his name, was founded.

The writer's merits were highly appreciated by the Soviet government. So, during the life of Gorky, in 1932, Nizhny Novgorod was renamed in his honor. After the death of the writer in 1936, many streets, theaters and other objects in the USSR were also named after him.

The collection includes 185 units.

The materials from the foundations of the Fundamental Library of the Herzen State Pedagogical University of Russia, the M. Gorky Scientific Library of the St. Petersburg State University, Children's Museum of Postcard, the State Public Historical Library of Russia, the N. K. Krupskaya Moscow Regional State Scientific Library, the Library of the St. Petersburg State Institute of Culture, private collections and other sources were used for the collection.

Share content in social networks:

Максим Горький (1868–1936)

Максим Горький (1868–1936)

В коллекцию, приуроченную к 150-летию со дня рождения советского русского писателя, драматурга и общественного деятеля Максима Горького (А. М. Пешкова) (1868-1936), включены цифровые копии книг, периодических изданий и архивных документов, посвященных его жизни и деятельности, а также содержащих тексты его собственных художественных произведений, статей, воспоминаний. Кроме того, представлены открытки, фотографии и другие материалы с изображениями писателя и памятников ему.

А. М. Пешков (Горький) родился в Нижнем Новгороде в 1868 г. В молодые годы много странствовал по России: исходил весь юг страны от Астрахани до Москвы, побывал в Южной Бессарабии, Крыму и на Кавказе. В эти годы Горький завел множество знакомств в среде творческой интеллигенции и студенчества, что повлияло на его мировоззрение, и начал писать стихи и прозу.

В сентябре 1892 г. в газете "Кавказ" (Тифлис) был напечатан рассказ "Макар Чудра", подписанный псевдонимом "М. Горький". Под этим псевдонимом выходило большинство последующих публикаций писателя.

С 1901 г. Горький начал открыто выражать сочувствие революционному движению. С этого времени он не раз подвергался арестам и гонениям.

Максим Горький проявил себя не только как писатель, но и как издатель. С 1902 по 1921 гг. он возглавлял три крупных издательства — «Знание», «Парус» и «Всемирная литература». В этих издательствах получили возможность работать многие литераторы того времени.

В конце 20-х и начале 30-х гг. М. Горький много ездил по стране и вел активную просветительскую деятельность, в частности, основал журнал «Литературная учеба», призванный обучить азам писательского ремесла каждого советского гражданина.

Также М. Горький сыграл ключевую роль в образовании Союза советских писателей, явившись организатором и председателем I Всесоюзного съезда советских писателей в 1934 г. По его инициативе был основан Литературный институт, до сих пор носящий его имя.

Заслуги писателя были высоко оценены советским правительством. Так, ещё при жизни Горького, в 1932 г., Нижний Новгород был переименован в его честь. А после смерти писателя в 1936 г. множество улиц, театров и др. объектов в СССР также были названы его именем.

В коллекции представлено 185 единиц.

Для подготовки коллекции были использованы материалы из фондов Фундаментальной библиотеки Российского государственного педагогического университета им. А. И. Герцена, Научной библиотеки им. М. Горького Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета, Детского музея открытки, Государственной публичной исторической библиотеки России, Московской областной государственной научной библиотеки им. Н. К. Крупской, библиотеки Санкт-Петербургского государственного института культуры, частных собраний и других источников.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: