Share content in social networks:

Peter I decree “On wearing clothes in the Hungarian manner”

14 January 1700

4 (14) January 1700 in Moscow was declared a personal decree of Peter I "On wearing clothes in the Hungarian manner."

The decree prescribed to "the boyars, okolnichies, Boyars’ Council members, courtiers, stolniks and solicitor, nobles of Moscow, clerks, residents and servicemen of all ranks, and the clerks and sales people, and people of the boyars, in Moscow and other cities, to wear clothes, Hungarian coats, outer ones down to the garter and underwear shorter than the outer, the same way; and the clothing to be worn from the Twelth-day of this 1700 by those, who have the time to make it; and those, who have no time, should also make it and start wearing no later than this Cheesefare Week”.

By its type, Hungarian clothing was similar to Polish. For the rich vestments were used such materials as silk, velvet, lawn, patterned brocade, wool fabrics. Fur valued dearly and signified wealth. Clothes of nobles and wealthy people, both male and female, were decorated with embroidery of Renaissance motifs, laces, galloons, braids, and jewelry made of gold and silver with precious stones, pearls, and wide use of colored enamels. Clothing of Hungarian type was cut free, and its length was close to the old Russian clothes.

In December 1701 there was a new decree of the emperor "on wearing of the German clothes and shoes by people of all ranks and on use of German saddles while riding”. Peter I ordered to wear foreign clothing not only to court nobles and officials, but the majority of Muscovites and residents of other cities. In 1705, was published a decree “On shaving beards and mustaches by people of all ranks other than priests and deacons; on taking fees from those who fail to obey it, and on issue of badges to those paying fees". Subsequent decrees, had repeatedly committed the nobles, the boyars and service class people of all ranks "to wear German clothing on weekdays, and French one - on holidays”.

From 1701 to 1724 there were issued 17 different decrees, regulating the rules for wearing of European-style clothing, the types of fabrics, trim of downright or festive clothes.

Men’s suit, implemented by Peter I reforms, formed at the court of Louis XIV and consisted of a caftan, man’s sleeveless jacket and trousers. Caftan was long, down to the knees, narrow at the waist, clinging tightly to the figure in the upper part, with groups of deep folds on the skirts, with cuts at the center of the back and side seams, which made the hem wide, and the clothes easy to move in, especially when riding. Caftan was usually worn wide open, so that jacket would be seen, or with a few central buttons fastened. Jacket was made shorter than caftan, without folds on the lap, always without a collar, with long narrow sleeves without cuffs. Knee pants were worn short, above the knee, with a wide belt, densely gathered on the back. The suit was complemented with lace jabot and cuffs, leather shoes with a blunt toe, on heels, decorated with bows or buckles, and silk stockings. Daily suit was made of cloth or linen cloth and decorated with fabrics of contrasting colors, or just buttons. Such a suit could be worn by any city-dweller. The suits for the aristocracy were made of more expensive fabrics: silk, velvet, brocade or very fine cloth. Preserving the unity of the cut, the clothing varied depending on its purpose and social identity of the owner.

This clothing was quite different from traditional Russian men's clothing, caftan with long sleeves, long dress made of velvet, buttoned from top to bottom on the set of buttons, fur coats and fur hats with a high crown and a velvet top.

The reform had also affected women's costume. Heavy sundresses, hiding body shape and closed shirts were pushed to the background. According to the new fashion women were dressed in wide and deep décolleté French dress - robes with strongly drawn at the waist by a bodice, with sleeves to the elbows and wide skirt. These dresses, like men's suits, were decorated with artful embroidery and lace. Women also had to curl their hair in ringlets and enjoy a bright decorative cosmetics (paint and whitewash).

Thus, the major forms of European costume – “Saxon, German or French clothing” - had replaced ancient Russian costume, entirely dissimilar to them in regards of construction and decoration, given rise to new notions of beauty, new aesthetic ideals.

New rules took root with difficulty. People resisted the European clothing; decrees had to be repeated, stuffed animals wearing clothes samples were to be hung out at city gates, fees to be taken from the disobedient persons, and the masters faced severe punishment.

After the death of Peter I men’s noble costume changed in accordance with all-European fashions. The Russian way of life finally adopted the French coat, waistcoat, culottes and powdered hair.

Lit.: Каминская Н. М. История костюма. М., 1977; Мерцалова М. Н. Костюм разных времён и народов. Т. 2. М., 1996.

From the Presidential library materials:

Полное собрание законов Российской империи, с 1649 года. Т. 4 (1700-1712). СПб., 1830. № 1741. С. 1.

Вышел указ Петра I «О ношении платья на манер Венгерского»

14 января 1700

4 (14) января 1700 г. в Москве был объявлен именной указ Петра I «О ношении платья на манер Венгерского».

Указ предписывал «боярам, и окольничим, и думным, и ближним людям, и стольникам, и стряпчим, и дворянам московским, и дьякам, и жильцам, и всех чинов служилым, и приказным, и торговым людям, и людям боярским, на Москве и в городах, носить платья, венгерские кафтаны, верхние длиною по подвязку, а исподние короче верхних, тем же подобным; а то платье, кто успеет сделать, носить с Богоявлениева дня нынешнего 1700 г.; а кто к тому дню сделать не успеет, и тем делать и носить, кончая с нынешней Сырной недели».

По своему типу венгерская одежда была схожа с польской. Для богатых одеяний использовался шёлк, бархат, батист, узорчатая парча, шерстяные ткани. Меха ценились дорого и служили признаком благосостояния. Костюм знатных и состоятельных людей, как мужской, так и женский, украшался вышивкой с ренессансными мотивами, кружевами, шнурками, галунами, позументами, ювелирными украшениями из золота и серебра с драгоценными камнями, жемчугом и широким применением цветных эмалей. Платье венгерского типа имело свободный крой, а его длина была близка старым русским одеждам.

В декабре 1701 г. вышел новый указ императора «О ношении всякого чина людям немецкого платья и обуви и об употреблении в верховой езде немецких сёдел». Пётр I приказал носить иностранные одежды уже не только придворной знати и чиновникам, но и большинству москвичей и жителей других городов. В 1705 г. был обнародован указ «О бритье бород и усов всякого чина людям, кромя попов и дьяконов, о взятии пошлин с тех, которые его исполнять не захотят, и о выдаче заплатившим пошлину знаков». Последующие указы, неоднократно повторяющиеся, обязывали дворян, бояр и «всех чинов служилых людей» носить немецкое платье по будням и французское — по праздникам.

С 1701 г. по 1724 г. было издано 17 различных указов, регламентирующих правила ношения костюма европейского образца, типов тканей, отделку форменного и праздничного платья.

Введённый реформами Петра I мужской костюм сложился при дворе Людовика XIV и состоял из кафтана, камзола и штанов. Кафтан был длинный, до колен, узкий в талии, плотно облегавший фигуру в верхней части, с группами глубоких складок на полах, с разрезами по центру спинки и на боковых швах, что придавало ширину подолу и делало эту одежду удобной в движении, особенно при верховой езде. Кафтан носили, как правило, нараспашку, оставляя видным камзол, либо застёгнутым на несколько центральных пуговиц. Камзол шили короче кафтана, без складок на подоле, всегда без воротника, с длинным узким рукавом без обшлага. Наколенные штаны носили короткие, за колено, на широком поясе, густо собранными по спинке. Дополняли этот костюм кружевное жабо и манжеты, кожаные башмаки с тупым носком, на каблуке, украшенные бантами или пряжками, и шёлковые чулки. Повседневное платье шилось из сукна или льняной ткани и украшалось тканью контрастного цвета, либо только пуговицами. Такой костюм мог носить любой горожанин. На платье аристократии шли более дорогие ткани: шёлк, бархат, парча или очень тонкое сукно. Сохраняя единство кроя, платье варьировалось в зависимости от его назначения и социальной принадлежности владельца.

Данный костюм во многом отличался от традиционной русской мужской одежды, кафтана с длинными рукавами, длинного платья из бархата, сверху донизу застёгнутого на множество пуговиц, шубы и меховой шапки с высокой тульей и бархатным верхом.

Реформа затронула и женский костюм. Тяжёлые сарафаны, скрывающие формы тела, закрытые рубахи отошли на задний план. Согласно новой моде женщины должны были одеваться в широко и глубоко декольтированные французские платья — робы с сильно затянутым в талии корсажем, с рукавами до локтя и широкой юбкой. Эти платья, как и мужские костюмы, украшала искусная вышивка и кружева. Женщины также должны были завивать волосы в локоны и пользоваться яркой декоративной косметикой (румяна и белила).

Таким образом, основные формы европейского костюма — «платья саксонского, немецкого или французского» — заменили абсолютно несхожий с ними по конструктивному и декоративному решению древнерусский костюм, вызвали к жизни новые представления о красоте, новые эстетические идеалы.

Новые порядки приживались с трудом. Переходу на европейское платье противились; указы приходилось повторять, вывешивать на городских воротах чучела с образцами, брать с ослушников пошлину, а мастерам грозить жестоким наказанием.

После смерти Петра I мужской дворянский костюм изменился в соответствии с общеевропейскими модами. В русский быт окончательно вошли французский кафтан, камзол, штаны кюлоты и напудренные волосы.

Лит.: Каминская Н. М. История костюма. М., 1977; Мерцалова М. Н. Костюм разных времён и народов. Т. 2. М., 1996.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Полное собрание законов Российской империи, с 1649 года. Т. 4 (1700-1712). СПб., 1830. № 1741. С. 1 .