Share content in social networks:

USSR and Finland signed the Moscow Treaty

12 March 1940

March 12, 1940 in Moscow the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the Republic of Finland signed a peace Treaty marking the end of the Soviet-Finnish ("winter") war of 1939-1940.

On the Finnish side agreement was signed by Prime Minister R. Ryti, Minister J. K. Paasikivi, Major General R. Walden and Professor V. Voyonmaa; on the Soviet side – by Foreign Minister V. M. Molotov, a member of the Supreme Council of A. A. Zhdanov and Brigade Commander A. M. Vasilevsky.

The document consisted of a preamble and 10 articles.

According to article 1 the hostilities between Finland and the USSR ceased immediately in the manner prescribed by the Protocol annexed to the Treaty (that is at 12 a. m. 13 March 1940, Leningrad time).

The frontier between the USSR and the Republic of Finland was set along a new line according to which the Soviet territory now included the entire Karelian Isthmus with Vyborg (Viipuri), and Vyborg Bay with Islands, western and northern shores of Lake Ladoga including the cities of Kexholm, Sortavala, Suojärvi, a series of islands in the Gulf of Finland, the area east of   Märkäjärvi including the city of Kuolajärvi, a part of the peninsulas Rybachiy and Sredniy.

Both sides committed themselves to mutually refrain from any attack on one another and from conclusion of any alliances or participation in coalitions intended against one of the parties.

The Republic of Finland agreed to lease the Hanko peninsula and sea territory around it for a period of 30 years, under the condition an annual payment by the Soviet Union of 8 million Finnish marks.

According to article 5, the USSR pledged to withdraw its troops from the region of Petsamo, voluntarily ceded to Finland by the Soviet state under the Peace Treaty of 1920. Finland, according to the Peace Treaty of 1920, was obliged not to keep in the waters of its Arctic coast military and other armed vessels (except for the armed ships of less than 100 tons and not more than 15 military and other armed vessels, with the tonnage of less than 400 tons each), submarines and military aircrafts, as well as not to make war ports on this coast ports, bases for military Navy and war repair shops larger than was required for the above-mentioned ships and their armament. 

The Soviet Union and its citizens were granted the right of free transit through the region of Petsamo to Norway and back. The Finnish government granted the Soviet Union the right of transit of goods from the USSR to Sweden and back.

The Treaty was drawn up in two originals in Russian, Finnish and Swedish languages ​​each, and entered into force upon signature.

Lit.: Мирный договор между Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик и Финляндской Республикой [Электронный ресурс] // Нeninen.net. 1997-2018. URL: http://heninen.net/sopimus/1940.htm.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Заключён Московский мирный договор между СССР и Финляндией

12 марта 1940

12 марта 1940 г. в Москве между Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик и Финляндской Республикой был подписан Мирный договор, завершивший советско-финскую («зимнюю») войну 1939-1940 гг.

С финляндской стороны договор подписали премьер-министр Р. Рюти, министр Ю. К. Паасикиви, генерал-майор Р. Вальден и профессор В. Войонмаа; с советской — министр иностранных дел В. М. Молотов, член Верховного Совета A. A. Жданов и комбриг А. М. Василевский.

Документ состоял из преамбулы и 10 статей.

Согласно статье № 1 военные действия между СССР и Финляндией прекращались немедленно в порядке, предусмотренном прилагаемым к Договору Протоколом (т.е. в 12 ч 13 марта 1940 г. по ленинградскому времени).

Государственная граница между СССР и Финляндской Республикой устанавливалась по новой линии, по которой в состав территории СССР включались весь Карельский перешеек с г. Выборгом (Виипури) и Выборгским заливом с островами, западное и северное побережье Ладожского озера с городами Кексгольмом, Сортавала, Суоярви, ряд островов в Финском заливе, территория восточнее Меркярви с городом Куолаярви, часть полуостровов Рыбачьего и Среднего.

Обе стороны обязались взаимно воздерживаться от всякого нападения одна на другую и не заключать каких-либо союзов или участвовать в коалициях, направленных против одной из сторон.

Финляндская Республика давала согласие на аренду с ежегодной уплатой Советским Союзом 8 млн. финских марок, сроком на 30 лет, полуострова Ханко и морской территории вокруг него.

Согласно статье № 5 СССР обязался вывести свои войска из области Петсамо, добровольно уступленной Финляндии Cоветским Союзом, согласно Мирному договору 1920 г. Финляндия, согласно Мирному договору 1920 г, была обязана не содержать в водах своего побережья Северного Ледовитого океана военных и прочих вооружённых судов (за исключением вооружённых судов размером меньше 100 т, а также не более 15 военных и прочих вооружённых судов, тоннаж которых не превышает 400 т для каждого), подводных лодок и вооружённых воздушных судов, а также не устраивать на этом побережье военных портов, баз для военного флота и военных ремонтных мастерских объёмом больше, чем требуется для упомянутых судов и их вооружения.

Советскому Союзу и его гражданам предоставлялось право свободного транзита через область Петсамо в Норвегию и обратно. Финляндское Правительство предоставляло Советскому Союзу право транзита товаров между СССР и Швецией.

Договор был составлен в двух оригиналах, на русском, финском и шведском языках каждый и вступал в силу с момента его подписания.

Лит.: Мирный договор между Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик и Финляндской Республикой [Электронный ресурс] // Нeninen.net. 1997-2018. URL: http://heninen.net/sopimus/1940.htm.