Share content in social networks:

USSR and Finland signed the Moscow Treaty

12 March 1940

March 12, 1940 in Moscow the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and the Republic of Finland signed a peace Treaty marking the end of the Soviet-Finnish ("winter") war of 1939-1940.

On the Finnish side agreement was signed by Prime Minister R. Ryti, Minister J. K. Paasikivi, Major General R. Walden and Professor V. Voyonmaa; on the Soviet side – by Foreign Minister V. M. Molotov, a member of the Supreme Council of A. A. Zhdanov and Brigade Commander A. M. Vasilevsky.

The document consisted of a preamble and 10 articles.

According to article 1 the hostilities between Finland and the USSR ceased immediately in the manner prescribed by the Protocol annexed to the Treaty (that is at 12 a. m. 13 March 1940, Leningrad time).

The frontier between the USSR and the Republic of Finland was set along a new line according to which the Soviet territory now included the entire Karelian Isthmus with Vyborg (Viipuri), and Vyborg Bay with Islands, western and northern shores of Lake Ladoga including the cities of Kexholm, Sortavala, Suojärvi, a series of islands in the Gulf of Finland, the area east of   Märkäjärvi including the city of Kuolajärvi, a part of the peninsulas Rybachiy and Sredniy.

Both sides committed themselves to mutually refrain from any attack on one another and from conclusion of any alliances or participation in coalitions intended against one of the parties.

The Republic of Finland agreed to lease the Hanko peninsula and sea territory around it for a period of 30 years, under the condition an annual payment by the Soviet Union of 8 million Finnish marks.

According to article 5, the USSR pledged to withdraw its troops from the region of Petsamo, voluntarily ceded to Finland by the Soviet state under the Peace Treaty of 1920. Finland, according to the Peace Treaty of 1920, was obliged not to keep in the waters of its Arctic coast military and other armed vessels (except for the armed ships of less than 100 tons and not more than 15 military and other armed vessels, with the tonnage of less than 400 tons each), submarines and military aircrafts, as well as not to make war ports on this coast ports, bases for military Navy and war repair shops larger than was required for the above-mentioned ships and their armament. 

The Soviet Union and its citizens were granted the right of free transit through the region of Petsamo to Norway and back. The Finnish government granted the Soviet Union the right of transit of goods from the USSR to Sweden and back.

The Treaty was drawn up in two originals in Russian, Finnish and Swedish languages ​​each, and entered into force upon signature.

Lit.: Мирный договор между Союзом Советских Социалистических Республик и Финляндской Республикой [Электронный ресурс] // Н 1997-2018. URL: