Declaration on the USSR foundation and the treaty was signed

30 December 1922

By 1922 in the territory of the former Russian Empire six republics had formed: RSFSR, Ukraine SSR, Belorussia SSR, Azerbaijan SSR, Armenia SSR and Georgia SSR. From the very beginning they cooperated very closely due to the common historical faith. During the Civil war had formed the military and economical union and during the Genoa conference of 1922 the diplomatic one. To the unification also favored the common objective set by the republics’ leaders – building of socialism in the territory with “capitalistic environment”.

In March of 1922 Azerbaijan, Armenia and Georgia SSR united into the trans-Caucasian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic. In December of 1922 the trans-Caucasian Council conference addressed the Presidium of the All-Union Central Executive Committee suggesting to summon the united Council conference and discuss the issue on creating the Union of the Soviet Republics. The same decisions were made by the All-Ukrainian and All-Belorussian Council conferences.

These decisions were preceded with a sharp discussion regarding the issue of entering of republics into the single union state. The defenders of autonomy plan developed by I. V. Stalin supported the strong centralization of the power if the national and cultural autonomy of the republics remains. V. I. Lenin’s plan supported by the majority of the consolidation process participants, on the contrary, presumed creation of the federal state reserving the sovereign rights of the republics. The latter was taken as a basis.

On December 30, 1922 during the First All-Union congress of the Soviets, the representatives of the RSFSR, Ukraine and Belorussia Soviet Socialist republics, as well as the representatives of the trans-Caucasian federation signed the Declaration on the USSR foundation and the Treaty.

Declaration determined the main principles of consolidation: equal rights and voluntariness for consolidation, the right of the free withdrawal from the USSR and the right to join it for other Soviet Socialist republics.

The Treaty determined the relationship between republics and the center. The union agencies were in charge of the issues of foreign policy, foreign trade, finance, defense, communication lines, communication service. Other spheres were controlled by the union republics. The major body of the country was declared the All-Union Congress of Soviets. Between its sessions the main role in the state played the Central Executive Committee of the USSR which consisted of two chambers: Union Council and Nationality Council.

The first Central Executive Committee chairman was elected M.I. Kalinin, co-chairmen were G.I. Petrovsky, N.N. Narimov, A.G. Chervyakov. The Union government – the Peoples’ Commissars Council headed by V.I. Lenin - was also formed.

In January of 1924 the Second All-Union congress of the Soviets adopted the first Constitution of the USSR based on the Declaration and the Treaty of 1922. The Constitution established the single union citizenship: a citizen of every republic was a citizen of the USSR. On the whole the Constitution copied the principles of 1918 Constitution of the RSFSR and preserved the limitation of the voting right for the significant part of the population. In 1924-1925 on the basis of 1922 Constitution were adopted the Constitutions of the Union Republics.

The number of the Soviet Union members changed constantly: other Soviet republics joined it and the political division of the country also changed.

In spite of the federative principle of the state system enunciated at the USSR foundation already in 1930s the power centralization was taking place. Gradually more and more functions were transferred from the republics’ authority to the authority of the centre. The local residents’ interests were often ignored. The situation became even more complex due to the increase of international marriages and migration processes. All of this resulted into the necessity of the new treaty conclusion that would take into account the new realities. However it was never signed due to the “sovereignty parade” and the state breakdown.

Officially the USSR ceased to exist on December 8, 1991 after the Belavezha Accords had been signed.

Lit.: Гросул В. Я. Образование СССР (1917—1924). М., 2007; Декларация об образовании СССР// Хрестоматия по истории России с древнейших времнен до наших дней. М., 1999; Каpа-Муpза С. Г. Истоpия советского госудаpства и пpава. М., 1999. Гл. 4. Советская власть и национально-государственное строительство; Кульчитский С. СССР. историческая неотвратимость распада // День. 2001. 22 дек.; Образование СССР // История Отечества: курс лекций. М., 2003.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Подписаны декларация и договор об образовании СССР

30 декабря 1922

К 1922 г. на территории бывшей Российской империи сложилось 6 республик: РСФСР, Украинская ССР, Белорусская ССР, Азербайджанская ССР, Армянская ССР и Грузинская ССР. Между ними с самого начала существовало тесное сотрудничество, объяснявшееся общностью исторической судьбы. В годы гражданской войны сложился военный и хозяйственный союз, а на моментпроведения Генуэзской конференции в 1922 г. — и дипломатический. Объединению способствовала также общность цели, поставленной правительствами республик, — построение социализма на территории, находящейся «в капиталистическом окружении».

В марте 1922 г. Азербайджанская, Армянская и Грузинская ССР объединились в Закавказскую Советскую Федеративную Социалистическую Республику. В декабре 1922 г. I Закавказский съезд Советов обратился в Президиум ВЦИК с предложением созвать объединённый съезд Советов и обсудить вопрос о создании союза советских республик. Такие же решения приняли Всеукраинский и Всебелорусский съезды Советов.

Этим решениям предшествовала острая дискуссия по вопросу о способе вхождения республик в единое союзное государство. Сторонники плана автономизации, разработанного И. В. Сталиным, выступали за высокую степень централизации власти при условии сохранения национально-культурной автономии республик. План В. И. Ленина, поддержанный большинством участников объединительного процесса, напротив, предполагал создание федеративного государства с сохранением суверенных прав республик. Именно он и был принят за основу.

30 декабря 1922 г. на I Всесоюзном съезде Советов представителями РСФСР, Украинской и Белорусской советских социалистических республик, а также Закавказской федерации были подписаны Декларация об образовании СССР и Союзный Договор.

Декларация определяла основные принципы объединения: равноправие и добровольность объединения, право свободного выхода из СССР и право вступления в него других советских социалистических республик.

В Договоре определялись взаимоотношения между республиками и центром. В компетенцию союзных органов передавались вопросы внешней политики, внешней торговли, финансов, обороны, путей сообщения, связи. Остальные сферы оставались в ведении союзных республик. Высшим органом страны объявлялся Всесоюзный съезд Советов, а в перерывах между его созывами — Центральный Исполнительный Комитет СССР, состоявший из двух палат: Союзного Совета и Совета Национальностей.

Первым председателем ЦИК был избран М. И. Калинин, сопредседателями — Г. И. Петровский, Н. Н. Нариманов, А. Г. Червяков. Также было сформировано союзное правительство — Совет Народных Комиссаров — во главе с В. И. Лениным.

В январе 1924 г. II Всесоюзный съезд Советов принял первую Конституцию СССР, в основе которой лежали Декларация и Договор 1922 г. В ней устанавливалось единое союзное гражданство: гражданин каждой республики являлся гражданином СССР. В целом эта Конституция повторяла принципы Конституции РСФСР 1918 г. и сохраняла ограничение избирательных прав для значительной части населения. В 1924-1925 гг. на основе Конституции 1922 г. были приняты конституции союзных республик.

Состав Советского Союза постоянно менялся в результате вступления в его состав других советских республик и изменения административно-территориального деления страны.

Несмотря на провозглашённый при образовании СССР федеративный принцип устройства государства, уже в 30-е годы наблюдалось усиление централизации власти. Со временем всё больше функций передавалось из ведения республик в ведение центра, интересы местного населения зачастую игнорировались. Ситуация осложнялась увеличением числа межнациональных браков и усилением миграционных процессов.  Всё это привело к осознанию необходимости заключения нового союзного договора, учитывавшего изменившиеся реалии. Однако подписать его так и не успели из-за «парада суверенитетов» и развала государства.

СССР официально прекратил своё существование 8 декабря 1991 г. после подписания «Беловежских соглашений».

Лит.: Гросул В. Я. Образование СССР (1917—1924). М., 2007; Декларация об образовании СССР// Хрестоматия по истории России с древнейших времнен до наших дней. М., 1999; Каpа-Муpза С. Г. Истоpия советского госудаpства и пpава. М., 1999. Гл. 4. Советская власть и национально-государственное строительство; Кульчитский С. СССР. историческая неотвратимость распада // День. 2001. 22 дек.; Образование СССР // История Отечества: курс лекций. М., 2003.