Establishment of food dictatorship

Establishment of food dictatorship

By the beginning of May 1918, the problem of food supply to cities, especially those related to large industrial centers: the North-West and Central regions, the Urals, had sharply emerged. Orientation of the industry to fulfill military orders led to a reduction in the production of civilian products and to its price hike. The peasantry in these conditions reduced the surrender of grain to the state at fixed prices, the principle of which was established as early as 1915, since the free prices were much higher. The "sacking" flourished when city dwellers exchanged food for money or valuable goods in villages for their own consumption or for sale on the market. The Soviet government regarded them as speculators and legally pursued. The decrease in the supply of bread from the countryside, together with the occupation of grain-producing Ukraine by Germany caused a sharp drop in centralized grain procurement: in December 1917, the figures were 136,000 tons, in January 1918, 46,000 tons, in April-38,000 tons.

In March 1918, the Soviet government attempted to solve the food problem by establishing trade with the village. However, this policy failed because of the shortage of the civilian goods fund and the weakness of the local government, which was supposed to control this process. The famine that became reality in the cities forced the Bolsheviks to intensify measures of a non-economic nature, called the food dictatorship.

May 9 was approved, and on May 13 the decree "On granting the People's Commissar of Food extraordinary powers to fight the rural bourgeoisie, harboring grain and speculating them, came into effect". The document confirmed the inviolability of the grain monopoly of the state and firm prices for bread. The "ruthless struggle against grain speculators-sacks" was announced. Owners who had an excess of bread, but did not take it to the points of exile or used for brewing, were declared enemies of the people. The formation of the Food Army began, in charge of which was to conduct agitation work, protect food supplies, provide assistance to local organs of the Soviet government, etc. By November 1918, there were more than 29,000 people in the industry army, and by October 1919 there were already 45, 5 thousand.  Industry army ceased to exist only with the transition to the NEP.

On May 27, the Decree "On the Reorganization of the People's Commissariat of Food and Local Food Bodies" came into force. In particular, he assumed the formation of special food detachments under the local bodies "out of conscious" workers. Their task was defined as "the organization of the working peasantry against the kulaks". The number of detachments grew with each month and by November 1918 amounted to 72 thousand people. They were dissolved only at the end of the Civil War. The committees of the peasant poor, established on 11 June, also became the conductors of the food policy of the Bolsheviks on the ground. However, by the end of the year they were merged with the Soviets, which to a certain extent was recognition by the Bolsheviks of the non-viability of this institution.

Emergency measures led to an increase in grain collections. If during the grain procurement campaign of 1916-1917 in the country 320 million poods of grain were procured, and in the campaign of 1917-1918 managed to collect only 50 million poods, then in the period 1918-1919 the collection amounted to 107.9 million poods of bread, cereals and grain forage; in the period 1919-1920 - 212.5 million poods; in the period 1920-1921 - 367 million poods.

The collection contains collections of decrees of the Soviet government on the organization of food supply and distribution; scientific editions of the late 10's and early 20's, which reflect the main directions and results of the food policy of the Bolsheviks, as well as general issues of organizing the central distribution of food products; archival materials that reveal the activities of the People's Commissariat of Food; photographs of the leaders of the Soviet state and the People's Commissars of Food, who conducted the policy of food dictatorship.

Share content in social networks:

Установление продовольственной диктатуры

Установление продовольственной диктатуры

К началу мая 1918 г. резко обозначилась проблема продовольственного снабжения городов, в первую очередь, относящихся к крупным промышленным центрам: Северо-Западному и Центральному районам, Уралу. Ориентированность промышленности на выполнение военных заказов привела к сокращению производства гражданской продукции и к ее подорожанию. Крестьянство в этих условиях уменьшило сдачу зерна государству по твердым ценам, принцип которых был установлен еще в   1915 г., поскольку свободные цены были значительно выше. Стало процветать «мешочничество», когда жители городов обменивали на деньги или ценные товары продовольствие в деревнях для собственного потребления или для продажи на рынке. Советское правительство расценивало их как спекулянтов и законодательно преследовало. Уменьшение поставок хлеба из деревни вкупе с оккупацией Германией хлебородной Украины вызвало резкое падение централизованных заготовок зерна: в декабре 1917 г. показатели составили 136 тыс. т., в январе 1918 г. – 46 тыс. т., в апреле – 38 тыс. т.

В марте 1918 г. Советское правительство предприняло попытку решить продовольственную проблему путем налаживания с деревней товарообмена. Однако эта политика потерпела неудачу по причине нехватки фонда гражданских товаров и слабости местного аппарата управления, который должен был контролировать этот процесс. Ставший реальностью в городах голод вынудил большевиков усилить меры внеэкономического характера, получившие название продовольственной диктатуры.

9 мая был одобрен, а 13 мая вступил в силу декрет «О предоставлении Народному Комиссару Продовольствия чрезвычайных полномочий по борьбе с деревенской буржуазией, укрывающей хлебные запасы и спекулирующей ими». Документ подтверждал незыблемость хлебной монополии государства и твердых цен на хлеб. Объявлялась «беспощадная борьба с хлебными спекулянтами-мешочниками». Владельцы, которые имели избыток хлеба, но не свозили его на ссыпные пункты или использовали для самогоноварения, объявлялись врагами народа. Началось формирование Продовольственной армии, в обязанности которой входило вести агитационную работу, охранять продовольственные грузы, оказывать помощь местным органам Советской власти и т. д. К ноябрю 1918 г. в Продармии находилось свыше 29 тыс. человек, а к октябрю 1919 г. уже     45,5 тыс. Продармия прекратила свое существование только с переходом к НЭПу.

27 мая вступил в силу декрет «О реорганизации Народного Комиссариата Продовольствия и местных продовольственных органов». В частности, он предполагал формирование при местных органах особых продовольственных отрядов «из сознательных» рабочих. Их задача определялась как «организация трудового крестьянства против кулаков». Численность отрядов росла с каждым месяцем и к ноябрю 1918 г. составила 72 тыс. человек. Они были распущены только в конце Гражданской войны. Проводником продовольственной политики большевиков на местах также стали комитеты крестьянской бедноты, учрежденные 11 июня. Однако уже к концу года они были слиты с Советами, что в определенной степени являлось признанием большевиками нежизнеспособности этого института.

Чрезвычайные меры привели к повышению сборов зерна. Если в ходе хлебозаготовительной кампании 1916-1917 гг. в стране было заготовлено 320 млн пудов зерна, а в кампанию 1917-1918 гг. удалось собрать всего 50 млн пудов, то в период 1918-1919 гг. сбор составил 107,9 млн пудов хлеба, крупы и зернового фуража; в период 1919-1920 гг. - 212,5 млн пудов; в период 1920-1921 гг. - 367 млн пудов.

В коллекции представлены сборники декретов советской власти по организации снабжения и распределения продовольствия; научные издания конца 10-х-начала 20-х гг., в которых отражены основные направления и результаты продовольственной политики большевиков, а также общие вопросы организации централизованного распределения продуктов питания; архивные материалы, раскрывающие деятельность Народного Комиссариата Продовольствия; фотографии руководителей советского государства и Народных Комиссаров Продовольствия, проводивших политику продовольственной диктатуры.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: