Alexander Gorchakov (1798–1883)

Alexander Gorchakov (1798–1883)

The collection focuses on the 220th birth anniversary of a graduate of the Imperial Lyceum in Tsarskoye Selo, an outstanding Russian diplomat, Minister of Foreign Affairs, the last Chancellor of the Russian Empire. It comprises archival materials (Prince Gorchakov’s draft on the emancipation of serfs, his correspondence with the Minister of Navy Grand Duke Konstantin Nikolayevich on the sale of Alaska, the Minister of Internal Affairs Count Valuyev, and the Minister of State Property Muravyov, the Russian Ambassador to Austria Ye. Novikov, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Japan Terashima Munenori), scientific research which highlights the education of the Prince Gorchakov at the Imperial Lyceum in Tsarskoye Selo and the foreign policy of Russia in the second half of 19 century, as well as postcards with a portrait of the lyceum’s student Gorchakov, views of a privileged educational institution, and a documentary.

Prince Alexander Mikhailovich Gorchakov had been heading the Russian Foreign Ministry for more than twenty years. Eager to cancel conditions of the Peace Treaty of Paris (1856) that were the hardest for Russia, Alexander Gorchakov had started to improve the relationship with France, but the fact that the latter supported the Polish uprising that began in 1863 forced the minister to abandon this idea. He was deeply convinced that no outside intervention in Russia's internal affairs on the Polish issue could be accepted. This attitude was supported by Prussia, and the same year the convention was signed. Taking advantage of the war that broke out between France and Prussia and with the assistance of the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Prussia, Otto von Bismarck, Alexander Gorchakov in 1870 announced to the European states about Russia's rejection of the Paris Treaty’s article, which prohibited Russia from keeping the navy on the Black Sea. The international conference, held in 1871 in London, was forced to admit this.

In the Eastern policy Alexander Gorchakov had a cautious stand. Fearing the clash with England and Austria-Hungary, the minister considered that it was too early for Russia to seize Constantinople and the straits, but he did not dare to insist that Russia maintained peace. The Berlin Congress, which took place at the end of the war in 1878 and the signed treatise which cancelled all the successes of Russia in the war, was called by Alexander Gorchakov the darkest page in his career. The following year the Ministry of Foreign Affairs was headed by Nikolay Giers.

Share content in social networks:

А. М. Горчаков (1798–1883)

А. М. Горчаков (1798–1883)

Коллекция посвящена 220-летию со дня рождения выпускника Императорского Царскосельского лицея, выдающегося российского дипломата, министра иностранных дел, последнего канцлера Российской империи. В ее состав вошли архивные материалы (проект князя Горчакова об освобождении крепостных крестьян, переписка с морским министром Великим князем Константином Николаевичем по вопросу продажи Аляски, министром внутренних дел графом Валуевым и министром государственных имуществ графом Муравьевым, послом России в Австрии Е. П. Новиковым, министром иностранных дел Японии Тэрасимы Мунэнори), научные исследования, рассказывающие об учебе князя Горчакова в Императорском Царскосельском лицее и внешней политике России во второй половине     XIX в., а также открытки с портретом лицеиста Горчакова, видами привилегированного учебного заведения и документальный фильм.

Светлейший князь Александр Михайлович Горчаков более двадцати лет возглавлял российское внешнеполитическое ведомство. Стремясь добиться отмены наиболее тяжелых для России условий Парижского мирного договора (1856 г.), А. М. Горчаков начал сближение с Францией, однако, поддержка ею начавшегося в 1863 г. польского восстания вынудила министра отказаться от этой идеи. Твердо заявляя о недопустимости постороннего вмешательство во внутренние дела России по польскому вопросу, А. М. Горчаков встретил поддержку своей позиции в Пруссии, с которой в том же году была заключена конвенция. Воспользовавшись начавшейся между Францией и Пруссией войной и при содействии министра иностранных дел Пруссии Отто фон Бисмарка, А. М. Горчаков в 1870 г. заявил европейским державам об отказе России от статьи Парижского трактата, запрещавшей России держать военный флот на Черном море. Международная конференция, состоявшаяся в 1871 г. в Лондоне, была вынуждена это признать.

В Восточном вопросе А. М. Горчаков занимал осторожную позицию. Опасаясь столкновения с Англией и Австро-Венгрией, министр считал преждевременной попытку захвата Россией Константинополя и проливов, однако, настаивать на том, чтобы Россия сохраняла мир, Горчаков тоже не решился. Состоявшийся по окончании войны в 1878 г. Берлинский конгресс и принятый на нем трактат, сводивший на нет все успехи России в войне,         А. М. Горчаков назвал самой черной страницей в своей карьере. На следующий год управление министерством иностранных дел перешло к Н. К. Гирсу.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: