Nevsky Prospekt (Nevsky Avenue)

Nevsky Prospekt (Nevsky Avenue)

In 2018 Nevsky Prospekt is celebrating its 300th anniversary: in 1718 the construction of the track linking the Admiralty shipyard and the Alexander Nevsky Lavra with the Novgorod road (present-day Ligovsky Prospekt (Avenue)) was finished. Two parts of the future road were constructed independently, and as a result there was a turn in the area of the present-day Vosstaniya Square. In the 1720s improvements were made into the appearance of the avenue: it was paved with stone, trees were planted along it, and its oil streetlamps became the first street lighting in Russia. The central thoroughfare of the Russian capital had several names: Perspektiva (prospect or avenue) to the Nevsky Monastery, Bolshaya Nevskaay Perspektiva, Nevskaya Perspektiva, etc. The name ‘Nevsky Prospekt’ after the Alexander Nevsky Lavra became official in 1781.

By the early 19th century the architectural appearance of Nevsky Prospekt had been completed: the Public Library, the City Duma, the Passage, along with the Kazan Cathedral, the Beloselsky-Belozersky Palace, and the Nikolayevsky (Nicholas) (Moskovsky) Railway Station were built there. In 1839 oil streetlamps were replaced with gas lighting, and later in 1883 with electric lighting. In 1863 the first horse-drawn trams appeared there, and the first tram services started in 1907. In 1918 Nevsky Prospekt was renamed 25th October Prospekt, however it was not long until the avenue was renamed back ‘Nevsky’ in 1944. After the flood of 1924 the wooden pavement of the avenue was replaced with an asphalt surface. The first traffic lights in the USSR were installed in 1930 at the intersection of 25th October Prospekt and Volodarsky Prospekt (Liteyny Prospekt), and in 1936 the first trolleybuses were put into service in the city. The first metro of the avenue – “Ploshchad Vosstaniya” was opened in 1955. “Nevsky Prospekt”, “Gostiny Dvor”, “Mayakovskaya” and “Ploshchad Alexandra Nevskogo” stations were built later.

The collection, timed to coincide with the 300th anniversary of Nevsky Prospekt (Nevsky Avenue), features the Law of October 2 (13), 1718 “On fees for the use of the newly built road leading to the Nevsky Monastery for the maintenance of that road ...” - one of the first written records of the thoroughfare; publications, archival papers and maps, which cast light on the history of the building along Nevsky Prospekt and improvements made  in the 18th – 20th centuries; postcards and photographs, which show the sights of the avenue, and revolutionary events it witnessed in 1917.

Share content in social networks:

Невский проспект

Невский проспект

В 2018 г. Невский проспект отмечает 300-летний юбилей: в 1718 г. было завершено сооружение просеки, соединившей Адмиралтейство и Александро-Невскую лавру с Новгородским трактом, который проходил на месте нынешнего Лиговского проспекта. Два участка будущей магистрали прокладывались независимо друг от друга, что привело к излому в районе современной площади Восстания. В 20-е гг. XVIII в. началось благоустройство проспекта: он был замощён камнем, вдоль него были посажены деревья, а также впервые в России организовано уличное освещение посредством масляных фонарей. Изначально центральная магистраль российской столицы именовалась по-разному: першпективная дорога к Невскому монастырю, Большая Невская перспектива, Невская першпектива и т.д. С 1781 г. название Невский проспект, произошедшее от Александро-Невской лавры, стало официальным.

К началу XIX в. сложился архитектурный облик Невского проспекта: было построено здание Публичной библиотеки, Городской думы, «Пассажа», а также Казанский собор, дворец Белосельских-Белозерских, Николаевский (Московский) вокзал. В 1839 г. масляные фонари были заменены на газовые, которые в 1883 г. уступили место электрическим. В 1863 г. по проспекту была пущена конка, а в 1907 г. открыто трамвайное движение. В 1918 г. Невский проспект был переименован в проспект 25 Октября, однако, новое название не прижилось, и в 1944 г. он снова стал Невским. После наводнения 1924 г. деревянное торцевое мощение проспекта стали заменять асфальтовым покрытием. В 1930 г. на пересечении проспекта 25 Октября и проспекта Володарского (Литейный проспект) был установлен первый в СССР светофор, а в 1936 г. по новому покрытию пошли первые в городе троллейбусы. В 1955 г. на проспекте была открыта первая станция метро – «Площадь Восстания». В последующие годы были также построены станции «Невский проспект», «Гостиный двор», «Маяковская» и «Площадь Александра Невского». 

В коллекции представлен закон от 2 (13) октября 1718 г. «О денежном сборе с проезжающих по новосделанной к Невскому монастырю дороге, на содержание той дороги…» - один из первых документов, в котором упоминается проложенная магистраль; литература, архивные и картографические материалы, отражающие историю застройки и обустройства Невского проспекта в XVIII-XX в.; открытки и фотографии, на которых запечатлены виды проспекта, а также произошедшие на нём революционные события 1917 г.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: