The Year of Volunteers in Russia

The Year of Volunteers in Russia

In pre-revolutionary Russia mutual help was a common practice. Its tradition goes back to the pre-literate time as well as to the Christian feat in worldly life, which in particular involved philanthropic deeds by definition secret, anonymous or at least not publicly-known (fundraising for building churches, monuments, etc., helping fire victims, migrants, starvers, personal care of the sick, needy, travellers and prisoners).

During the Russo-Turkish war of 1877–1878 nuns of the St. Nicholas Convent in Moscow volunteered as sisters of mercy to help wounded soldiers on the front. The International Movement of the Red Cross and Red Crescent was founded in the early 1860s in Europe. One of its fundamental principles was voluntariness. This organization played a prominent role in Russia during World War I. The branch of the International Red Cross in Russia was closed in the 1930s. Various public organizations, which provided help for the poor, appeared in the early 20th century.

In the Soviet Union the authorities were anxious to make benevolent deeds and aspirations part of the state policy, thus significant changes in the forms of volunteering were brought about, making it official. A system of formally voluntary campaigns was gradually built, which involved community work days (subbotnik), various military organizations — the Voluntary Society for Assistance to the Army, Aviation and Navy (its predecessor – OSOAVIAKHIM), the Voluntary People's Guard and others.

In the early 1990s - the time of new political realities - volunteer movement underwent significant changes. On August 11, 1995 the Law “On Charity and Charitable Organizations” was passed, which defined volunteers as “citizens who perform charitable acts in interests of a recipient, including charitable organizations, and whose work is unpaid”.

By the mid 2000s, the society in general and especially young people showed determination to perform selfless acts that were good for the soul and beneficial to the society. Particularly noticeable was the voluntary work of the search parties (gradually recognized by the Ministry of Defence). Volunteers regularly provided assistance at sporting, cultural, educational events, to name just a few.

The collection is built up of official documents, studies, reports of voluntary societies, archival papers and photographs that cast light on various stages of development of the volunteer movement in Russia.

Share content in social networks:

Год добровольца (волонтера) в России

Год добровольца (волонтера) в России

В дореволюционной России взаимопомощь была исключительно широко развита. Она восходила как к дописьменному времени, так и к христианскому подвигу в миру, заключающемся, в частности, в душепопечительных деяниях, по определению тайных, анонимных или, по крайней мере, широко не разглашаемых (сборы на построение храмов, памятников и т. д., на погорельцев, переселенцев, голодающих, личное попечение о болящих, страждущих, путешествующих и заточенных).

Во время Русско-турецкой войны в 1877–1878 гг. монахини московской Свято-Никольской обители добровольно пошли на фронт сестрами милосердия для оказания помощи раненым воинам. В начале 1860-х гг. в Европе создается Международное движение Красного Креста и Красного Полумесяца, одним из основополагающих принципов которого является добровольность. Особую роль данная организация сыграет в России в Первую мировую войну. Российский филиал Международного Красного креста будет закрыт в 1930-е гг. В начале ХХ века появляются различные общественные организации, деятельность которых нацелена на помощь неимущим.

В советское время стремление власти к включению всех, в частности, человеколюбивых, действий и побуждений в систему государственных мероприятий привели к существенным изменениям форм добровольчества, переходу их в официальную деятельность. Постепенно складывается система формально добровольных акций, например, субботников, появляются различные военизированные организации –Добровольное общество содействия армии, авиации и флоту (предшественник – ОСОАВИАХИМ), Добровольная народная дружина и др.

С начала 90-х гг., в новых государственных реалиях, волонтерское движение претерпевает существенные изменения. 11 августа 1995 г. был принят закон «О благотворительной деятельности и благотворительных организациях», в котором дается определение добровольцам (волонтерам) – «граждане, осуществляющие благотворительную деятельность в форме безвозмездного труда в интересах благополучателя, в том числе в интересах благотворительной организации»

К середине 2000-х годов стало заметно стремление общества, прежде всего молодежи, к постоянной, самостоятельной и бескорыстной, полезной для души и для самого общества деятельности. Особенно заметны были добровольные труды поисковиков (постепенно признаваемые военным ведомством). Регулярное использование волонтеров для обслуживания спортивных, культурно-массовых, просветительских и т. п. мероприятий также оказалось полезным, давая безвредный выход общественному темпераменту и создавая горизонтальные связи в обществе, почти уже утраченные.

В коллекцию вошли официальные документы, исследования, отчетные материалы добровольческих обществ, архивные дела и фотографии, раскрывающие различные этапы в развитии добровольческого движения в России.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: