Ivan Krylov (1769–1844)

Ivan Krylov (1769–1844)

The collection is dedicated to the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ivan Krylov, Russian playwright, poet, fabulist, satirist, publicist and publisher of literary and educational magazines. It consists of electronic copies of books, articles, archival documents and visual materials.

Ivan Krylov wrote a lot for theaters in his youth, then, at the very end of the 18th century, he started his journalistic career. In 1789 for eight months he had been publishing Pochta Dukhov magazine, in which he created a satirical picture of the contemporary society in a graceful form of correspondence between the dwarves and magician Malikulmulk. Later he became a publisher of Zritel and Merkury magazines. The first dramas by Ivan Krylov, Pochta Dukhov and the most interesting magazine articles entered the 1st, 2nd and 3rd volumes of his complete works available in the “Oeuvre” section.

Ivan Krylov made the most remarkable contribution to Russian culture as a fabulist. At first he translated La Fontaine's fables, and then began to retell old stories and make up his own. The language of his fables is clear, aphoristic and simple, since the genre of these works made it possible to enrich them by using the vocabulary and units close to the spoken Russian language. Therefore, the shrewdest morals and messages of fables are regarded as proverbs. A total of 236 fables by Ivan Krylov made up nine lifetime collected editions, which have been still published today. The collection includes both editions of Ivan Krylov’s fables and illustrations for them. Of particular interest are satirical posters of the Great Patriotic War issued in 1944 to commemorate the centenary of the fabulist’s death, in which Krylov's characters represent leaders of the Third Reich.

Ivan Krylov combined active literary career with the post at the Imperial Public Library (1810 – 1841). Documents, which spotlight his work in the library are available in the collection. The collection also provides access to digitized archival records on establishing the Krylov Scholarship, in particular the records on honoring Ivan Krylov on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of his literary career and on establishment of Krylov Scholarships. This is a proof that the writer’s activities and works were highly regarded by contemporaries. It is no accident that in 1835 in the article “Literary Dreams” V. G. Belinsky named four prominent writers of Russian classical literature and Krylov was listed along with Derzhavin, Pushkin and Griboyedov.

Documents, books, visual materials for the collection were provided by the Russian State Historical Archive, the Children's Postcard Museum, private collections, the Boris Yeltsin Ural Federal University Research Library and other sources.

Share content in social networks:

И. А. Крылов (1769–1844)

И. А. Крылов (1769–1844)

Коллекция посвящена 250-летию со дня рождения И. А. Крылова – русского драматурга, поэта, баснописца, сатирика, публициста и издателя литературно-просветительских журналов. В нее вошли цифровые копии книг, статей, архивных документов и изобразительных материалов.

В юности И. А. Крылов много писал для театра, затем, в самом конце 18 века, стал развиваться как журналист. В 1789 в течение восьми месяцев он издавал журнал «Почта духов», в котором была создана сатирическая картина современного И. А. Крылову общества, облеченная в изящную форму переписки гномов с волшебником Маликульмульком. В дальнейшем он стал издателем журналов «Зритель» и «Меркурий». Первые драмы И. А. Крылова, «Почта духов» и наиболее интересные журнальные статьи вошли в 1-й, 2-й и 3-й тома его Полного собрания сочинений, помещенного в раздел «Творчество».

Самый яркий вклад в русскую культуру И. А. Крылов внес как баснописец. Он начал с переводов басен Лафонтена, а затем занялся пересказом старых сюжетов и созданием новых. Язык его басен четок, ясен, афористичен и прост, так как жанр этих произведений позволял насыщать их лексикой и оборотами, близкими к разговорному русскому языку. Поэтому наиболее хлесткие из нравоучений и выводов басен вошли в наше сознание как пословицы. 236 басен И. А. Крылова были собраны в девять прижизненных сборников и переиздаются до сих пор. В коллекции представлены как издания басен И. А. Крылова, так и иллюстрации к ним. Особый интерес представляют сатирические плакаты времен Великой Отечественной войны, выпущенные в 1944 году, к столетию со дня смерти баснописца, на которых в виде крыловских персонажей представлены вожди Третьего рейха.

И. А. Крылов сочетал активное литературное творчество с работой в Императорской публичной библиотеке, где служил с 1810 по 1841 год. Документы, освещающие его работу в библиотеке, помещены в коллекцию. Также в коллекции можно ознакомиться с оцифрованными архивными делами об утверждении Крыловской стипендии, в частности, «Дело о чествовании И. А. Крылова в связи с 50-ти летием его литературной деятельности и об учреждении крыловских стипендий». Это свидетельствует о высокой оценке современниками деятельности и творчества писателя. Не случайно еще в 1835 В. Г. Белинский в своей статье «Литературные мечтания» назвал 4 имени писателей, ставших классиками русской литературы, и поставил Крылова в один ряд с Державиным, Пушкиным и Грибоедовым.

Для подготовки коллекции были использованы документы, книги, изобразительные материалы из фондов Российского государственного исторического архива, Детского музея открытки, частных собраний, Зональной научной библиотеки Уральского федерального университета им. Б. Н. Ельцина и других источников.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: