Russian America

Russian America

Russian America is collectively referred to the lands or whatsoever at the property of the Russian Empire on the North American continent. They included Alaska, the Aleutian Islands, Alexander's Archipelago, settlements on the Pacific Coast (Fort Ross, originally Fortress Ross) and the Hawaiian Islands (Fort Elizabeth, or Elizabethan Fortress).

During the 18th century, Russian navigators made several expeditions to the American shores. The first Russian settlement - Pavlovskaya Harbor - was founded on the Kodiak Island in 1784. An Orthodox mission arrived on the island in 1793 and immediately began building the temple.

By the decree of Paul I in 1799 the Russian-American Company was established, which in fact controlled the Russian properties in America. The same year Fort Mikhailovsky was established (Novo-Arkhangelsk), which since the beginning of the XIX century became the capital of Russian America. Founded in 1812 in California Fort Ross became the southern outpost of Russian possessions.

In 1867, Alaska was sold to the United States. Fort Ross was sold even earlier, in 1841.

The collection dedicated to this matter includes 86 documents.

Materials of funds used in preparing of this collection courtesy of: the Russian State Historical Archive, the State Public Historical Library, the Russian Geographical Society, the Russian State Library, Foreign Policy Archives of the Russian Empire, Arkhangelsk Regional Scientific Library, the Russian State Archive, Children's Museum of Postcard, Kemerovo State University, the Magadan Oblast Universal Scientific Library, Nashe Radio broadcaster, Omsk State Pedagogical University, the Russian Presidential Academy of National Economy and Public Administration, Saint-Petersburg State University, the Tyumen Regional Scientific Library, the Central Naval Library and the Center for Information Technologies and Systems of the Executive Branch.

Share content in social networks:

Русская Америка

Русская Америка

Русская Америка – общее название владений Российской империи на Североамериканском континенте. Они включали Аляску, Алеутские острова, архипелаг Александра, поселения на побережье Тихого океана (крепость Росс) и Гавайских островах (Елизаветинская крепость).

В течение XVIII века русскими мореплавателями было совершено несколько экспедиций к американским берегам. В 1784 году на острове Кадьяк было основано первое русское поселение – Павловская гавань. В 1793 году на остров прибыла православная миссия, незамедлительно приступившая к строительству храма.

В 1799 году указом Павла I была учреждена Российско-Американская компания, фактически управлявшая русскими владениями в Америке. В этом же году была основана Михайловская крепость (Ново-Архангельск), которая с начала XIX века стала столицей Русской Америки. Южным форпостом владений России стала крепость Росс, основанная в 1812 году в Калифорнии.

В 1867 году Аляска была продана США. Ранее, в 1841 году, была продана крепость Росс.

В коллекцию, посвященную этой теме, включено 86 документов.

При подготовке коллекции были использованы фонды следующих учреждений: Российского государственного исторического архива, Государственной публичной исторической библиотеки, Русского географического общества, Российской государственной библиотеки, Архива внешней политики Российской империи, Архангельской областной научной библиотеки, Государственного архива Российской Федерации, Детского музея открытки, Кемеровского государственного университета, Магаданской областной универсальной научной библиотеки, радиостанции «Наше Радио», Омского государственного педагогического университета, Российской академии народного хозяйства и государственной службы при Президенте Российской Федерации, Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета, Тюменской областной научной библиотеки, Центральной военно-морской библиотеки и Центра информационных технологий и систем органов исполнительной власти.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: