Share content in social networks:

Stavka (General Headquarters) created in USSR

23 June 1941

On June 23, 1941, the day after the beginning of the Great Patriotic War, under the instruction of the Soviet of People’s Commissars of USSR and the All-Russian Communist Party of Bolsheviks Central Committee was formed the extraordinary body of the higher military governing – General Headquarters (Stavka) of the USSR Armed Forces. It was headed by People’s Commissar for Defense, Marshal of the Soviet Union S. K. Timoshenko. Among Stavka members there were the members of Politburo of the Central Committee of the All-Russian Communist Party of Bolsheviks I. V. Stalin, V. M. Molotov, Marshal of the Soviet Union K. E. Voroshilov, People’s Commissar for Defense assistant, Marshal of the Soviet Union S. M. Budyonny, People’s Commissar of the Navy N. G. Kuznetsov and the General staff Head, Army-General G. K. Zhukov.

By the same instruction under Stavka was formed the Institution of permanent advisors which included Marshals of the Soviet Union B. M. Shaposhnikov and G. I. Kulik, Generals K. A. Meretskov, P. F. Zhigaryov, N. F. Vatutin, N. N. Voronov as well as A. I. Mikoyan, L. M. Kaganovich, L. P. Berya, N. A. Voznesensky, A. A. Zhdanov, G. M. Malenkov, L. Z. Mekhlis.

During the entire war Stavka was located in Moscow. However, when the bombardment began, it was transferred from Kremlin to a small mansion near Kirov Gates. A month later at the platform of ‘Kirovskaya’ metro station was organized the underground Center of strategic management of the Armed Forces. There were arranged the offices for I. V. Stalin and B. M. Shaposhnikov; the operations section of the General Staff and the People’s Commissariat for Defense Department.

On July 10, 1941 in order to ensure the centralized and efficient governing over the armed fighting, under the instruction of the State Committee for Defense of USSR N 10, the General Headquarters was reformed into Stavka. It was headed by the State Committee for Defense President I. V. Stalin. Under the same instruction People’s Commissar for Defense assistant, Marshal of the Soviet Union B. M. Shaposhnikov was made a member of Stavka as well.

On August 8, 1941 Stalin was assigned the Supreme Commander in Chief. From that time on Stavka was called the Supreme General Headquarters.

At the final stage of the Great Patriotic War the Stavka membership changed for the last time. Under the instruction of the State Committee for Defense of USSR from February 17, 1945 the following Stavka composition was determined: Marshals of the Soviet Union I. V. Stalin (the President - Supreme Commander in Chief), G. K. Zhukov (People’s Commissar for Defense assistant) and A. M. Vasilevsky (People’s Commissar for Defense assistant), Army-Generals N. A. Bulganin (a member of the State Committee for Defense and People’s Commissar for Defense assistant) and A. I. Antonov (General Staff Head), Navy Admiral N. G. Kuznetsov (People’s Commissar of the Navy of USSR).

Stavka activities were large-scale and multi-aspect. Stavka made changes and introduced clarity to the structure and arrangement of the Armed Forces; planned campaigns and offensives; set up goals for the fronts and Fleets governing over their fighting activities; organized coordination between different strategic groups and formations of different types of the Armed Forces and partisans; distributed among fronts reserve formations and funds; controlled the course of fulfillment of the set up goals; supervised the study and general conclusions of the war experience.

The main working body of Stavka and of the Supreme Commander in Chief was the General Staff of the Workers’ and Peasants’ Red Army which operated in close connection with People’s Commissariats for Defense and Navy Departments.

Lit.: Данилов В. Д. Ставка ВГК: Ставка Верховного Главнокомандования, 1941-1945. М., 1991; Павленко И. Д. Ставка Верховного Главнокомандования // Большая советская энциклопедия. Т. 24. Кн. 1. М., 1976; Ставка Верховного Главнокомандования // Жуков Г. К. Воспоминания и размышления. М., 2002. Т. 1. гл. 11; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/zhukov1/11.html.

From the Presidential library materials:

The Great Victory Memory: collection.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

В СССР создана Ставка Главного Командования (Ставка Верховного Главнокомандования)

23 июня 1941

23 июня 1941 г., на второй день Великой Отечественной войны, постановлением Совета Народных Комиссаров СССР и Центрального Комитета ВКП (б) был образован чрезвычайный орган высшего военного управления — Ставка Главного Командования Вооружённых Сил СССР. Возглавил её народный комиссар обороны Маршал Советского Союза С. К. Тимошенко. В состав Ставки вошли члены Политбюро ЦК ВКП (б) И. В. Сталин, В. М. Молотов, Маршал Советского Союза К. Е. Ворошилов, заместитель народного комиссара обороны Маршал Советского Союза С. М. Будённый, народный комиссар ВМФ, адмирал Н. Г. Кузнецов и начальник Генерального штаба генерал армии Г. К. Жуков.

Этим же постановлением при Ставке был образован институт постоянных советников, куда были включены Маршалы Советского Союза Б. М. Шапошников и Г. И. Кулик, генералы К. А. Мерецков, П. Ф. Жигарев, Н. Ф. Ватутин, Н. Н. Воронов, а также А. И. Микоян, Л. М. Каганович, Л. П. Берия, Н. А. Вознесенский, А. А. Жданов, Г. М. Маленков, Л. З. Мехлис.

На протяжении всей войны Ставка находилась в Москве, но с началом бомбёжек она была переведена из Кремля в небольшой особняк в районе Кировских ворот. Через месяц на перроне станции метро «Кировская» был подготовлен подземный центр стратегического управления вооружёнными силами. Там были оборудованы кабинеты И. В. Сталина и Б. М. Шапошникова, а также размещалась оперативная группа Генштаба и управлений Наркомата обороны.

10 июля 1941 г. в целях обеспечения централизованного и более оперативного управления вооружённой борьбой постановлением Государственного Комитета Обороны СССР № 10 Ставка Главного Командования была преобразована в Ставку Верховного Командования. Её возглавил председатель Государственного комитета обороны (ГКО) И. В. Сталин. Этим же постановлением в состав Ставки был введён заместитель народного комиссара обороны Маршал Советского Союза Б. М. Шапошников.

8 августа 1941 г. Сталин был назначен Верховным Главнокомандующим. С этого времени Ставка стала именоваться Ставкой Верховного Главнокомандования (СВГК).

На завершающем этапе Великой Отечественной войны постановлением ГКО СССР от 17 февраля 1945 г. был последний раз изменён состав Ставки ВГК и определён следующим образом: Маршалы Советского Союза И. В. Сталин (председатель — Верховный Главнокомандующий), Г. К. Жуков (заместитель наркома обороны) и А. М. Василевский (заместитель наркома обороны), генералы армии Н. А. Булганин (член ГКО и заместитель наркома обороны) и А. И. Антонов (начальник Генерального штаба), адмирал флота Н. Г. Кузнецов (нарком ВМФ СССР).

Деятельность Ставки ВГК была масштабной и многоплановой. Ставка вносила изменения и уточнения в структуру и организацию Вооружённых Сил; осуществляла планирование кампаний и стратегических операций; ставила задачи фронтам и флотам и руководила их боевой деятельностью; организовывала взаимодействие между стратегическими группировками и оперативными объединениями различных видов Вооружённых Сил и партизанами; распределяла между фронтами имевшиеся в её распоряжении резервные соединения и материальные средства; осуществляла контроль за ходом выполнения поставленных задач; руководила изучением и обобщением опыта войны.

Основным рабочим органом Ставки ВГК и лично Верховного Главнокомандующего являлся Генеральный штаб Рабоче-крестьянской Красной Армии, тесно взаимодействовавший с управлениями народных комиссариатов обороны и Военно-морского флота.

Лит.: Данилов В. Д. Ставка ВГК: Ставка Верховного Главнокомандования, 1941-1945. М., 1991; Павленко И. Д. Ставка Верховного Главнокомандования // Большая советская энциклопедия. Т. 24. Кн. 1. М., 1976; Ставка Верховного Главнокомандования // Жуков Г. К. Воспоминания и размышления. М., 2002. Т. 1. гл. 11; То же [Электронный ресурс]. URL: http://militera.lib.ru/memo/russian/zhukov1/11.html.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Память о Великой Победе: коллекция.