Share content in social networks:

The Leningrad Region was founded

1 August 1927

August 1, 1927 under the Resolution of the Central Executive Committee and Sovnarkom of the RSFSR, the Leningrad Region was formed.

Historical predecessor of the Leningrad Region was Ingermanland Governorate (from 1710 - St. Petersburg Province) created in 1708 by Peter I. It was a vast area of over 480, 000 km ² which included the territory of the present Leningrad Region, Novgorod Region, Pskov Region, Tver Region, the southern part of Arkhangelsk Region, west of Vologda Region and Yaroslavl Region, part of Karelia. In 1719, as a result of the regular administrative and territorial reform, St. Petersburg Governorate was divided into 11 provinces.

In 1727 was founded the Novgorod Governorate, it included Novgorod, Pskov, Velikiye Luki, Belozersk and Tver Provinces. Simultaneously, Yaroslavl and Uglich Provinces became part of the Moscow Governorate.

In 1744 the Vyborg Governorate was formed. It included Vyborg and Kexholm Provinces which previously made part of Petersburg Governorate, as well as the lands received from Sweden under the Treaty of Abo which completed the Russian-Swedish war of 1741-1743. Thus, by 1744, Petersburg Governorate diminished significantly, and included just two provinces – Petersburg Province and Narva Province.

During the implementation of the governorate reform of 1775, 1 (12) January 1780 Catherine II issued a decree "On the establishment of St. Petersburg Governorate of seven counties." According to this document the Governorate was divided into counties: St. Petersburg County, Shlisselburg County, Sofia County, Rozhdestvensky County, Oranienbaum County, Yamburg County and Narva County.

Later, during the 19th century, the territory of the governorate had repeatedly been changed, some parts of were made independent. By the early 20th century, the territory which is now occupied by the Leningrad Region, included several administrative units: St. Petersburg Governorate (except for Gdov County), most of the Vyborg Governorate, north of Novgorod County and most of the Tikhvin County of the Novgorod Governorate, as well as Lodeinopolsky County and part of Olonets County of the Olonets Governorate.

In early 1924, the city of Petrograd was renamed to Leningrad and the governorate was given the name of Leningrad Governorate.

Leningrad Region, as an independent administrative unit, was formed August 1, 1927 upon a resolution of the All-Russian Central Executive Committee and the Soviet of People's Commissars of the RSFSR from 5 governorates: Leningrad Governorate, Pskov Governorate, Novgorod Governorate, Cherepovets Governorate and Murmansk Governorate. By this time, the USSR completed the adoption of a new system of administrative division - regions displaced governorates. Therefore, upon the resolution of the Central Executive Committee and Sovnarkom of the RSFSR, the Leningrad Region passed from provincial, county and township division to county and district division with a corresponding change of the name of local government.

The territory of the Leningrad Region included nine counties: Leningrad, Luga, Lodeinopolsky, Cherepovets, Novgorod, Borovichi, Pskov, Murmansk and Velikoluksky. Under the resolution of the Central Executive Committee of August 1, 1927 were established the borders and the structure of the counties, and also approved the list of districts of the Leningrad Region.

After the Soviet-Finnish War and the Great Patriotic War, the Leningrad Region took its present geographical shape.

Currently, the Leningrad Region is a subject of the Russian Federation. Its legislative body is the Legislative Assembly of the Leningrad Region, the executive authority is represented by the Government of the Leningrad Region. The region borders upon two states: the Republic of Finland and the Republic of Estonia, as well as upon five subjects of the Russian Federation: the Republic of Karelia, the Vologda Region, the Novgorod Region, the Pskov Region and the city of federal status, St. Petersburg.

Lit.: Александрова Е. Л. Водская пятина - Ингерманландия - Санкт-Петербургская губерния - Ленинградская область: историческое прошлое. СПб., 2011; Даринский А. В. География Ленинградской области. СПб., 2001; Даринский А. В. Ленинградская область. Л., 1975; Страницы истории Ленинградской области. Т. 1: Санкт-Петербургская губерния. СПб., 2011.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Образована Ленинградская область

1 августа 1927

1 августа 1927 г. Постановлением ВЦИК и СНК РСФСР была образована Ленинградская область.

Исторической предшественницей Ленинградской области являлась созданная в 1708 г. Петром I Ингерманландская губерния (с 1710 г. — Санкт-Петербургская губерния). Она представляла собой огромную территорию площадью более 480 тыс. км² и включала в себя территории нынешних Ленинградской, Новгородской, Псковской, Тверской, южные части Архангельской, запад Вологодской и Ярославской областей, часть Карелии. В 1719 г. Санкт-Петербургская губерния в ходе очередной административно-территориальной реформы была разделена на 11 провинций.

В 1727 г. была образована Новгородская губерния, в её состав были переданы Новгородская, Псковская, Великолукская, Белозерская и Тверская провинции. Одновременно Ярославская и Углицкая провинции были переданы в состав Московской губернии.

В 1744 г. образовалась Выборгская губерния. В её состав вошли Выборгская и Кексгольмская провинции, выделенные из Петербургской губернии, а также земли, полученные от Швеции по Абоскому мирному договору, завершившему русско-шведскую войну 1741-1743 гг. Таким образом, к 1744 г. Петербургская губерния значительно уменьшилась и состояла теперь только из двух провинций — Петербургской и Нарвской.

В ходе осуществления губернской реформы 1775 г. Екатерина II издала 1(12) января 1780 г. указ «Об учреждении Санкт-Петербургской губернии из семи уездов». Согласно этому документу губерния была разделена на уезды: Санкт-Петербургский, Шлиссельбургский, Софийский, Рождественский, Ораниенбаумский, Ямбургский и Нарвский.

В дальнейшем, на протяжении XIX вв. территория губернии неоднократно подвергалась изменениям, из её состава выделялись самостоятельные единицы. К началу XX в. на территории, которую ныне занимает Ленинградская область, находилось несколько административно-территориальных единиц: Санкт-Петербургская губерния (без Гдовского уезда), большая часть Выборгской губернии, северная часть Новгородского уезда и почти весь Тихвинский уезд Новгородской губернии, а также Лодейнопольский уезд и часть Олонецкого уезда Олонецкой губернии.

В начале 1924 г. город Петроград был переименован в Ленинград, а губерния — в Ленинградскую.

Ленинградская область, как самостоятельная административно-территориальная единица, была образована 1 августа 1927 г. постановлением Всероссийского Центрального Исполнительного Комитета и Совета Народных Комиссаров РСФСР из 5 губерний: Ленинградской, Псковской, Новгородской, Череповецкой и Мурманской. К этому времени в РСФСР заканчивался переход к новой областной системе административно-территориального деления, вытеснявшей губернскую систему. Поэтому постановлением ВЦИК и СНК РСФСР в Ленинградской области предусматривался переход от губернского, уездного и волостного деления на окружное и районное с соответствующим изменением наименования местных органов власти. На территории Ленинградской области было образовано 9 округов: Ленинградский, Лужский, Лодейнопольский, Череповецкий, Новгородский, Боровичский, Псковский, Великолукский и Мурманский. Постановлением ВЦИК от 1 августа 1927 г. были установлены границы и состав округов, а также утверждён список районов Ленинградской области.

После советско-финляндской и Великой Отечественной войн Ленинградская область приобрела нынешние географические очертания.

В настоящее время Ленинградская область является субъектом Российской Федерации. Органом законодательной власти является Законодательное Собрание Ленинградской области, органом исполнительной власти — правительство Ленинградской области. Область граничит с двумя государствами: Финляндской Республикой и Республикой Эстония, а также с пятью субъектами Российской Федерации: Республикой Карелия, Вологодской областью, Новгородской областью, Псковской областью и городом федерального значения Санкт-Петербургом.

Лит.: Александрова Е. Л. Водская пятина - Ингерманландия - Санкт-Петербургская губерния - Ленинградская область: историческое прошлое. СПб., 2011; Даринский А. В. География Ленинградской области. СПб., 2001; Даринский А. В. Ленинградская область. Л., 1975; Страницы истории Ленинградской области. Т. 1: Санкт-Петербургская губерния. СПб., 2011.