Share content in social networks:

The Treaty of Nystad was signed

10 September 1721

On August 30 (September 10), 1721 in the town of Nystad (Finland) the Russian-Sweden treaty was signed. It has marked the end of the Northern war of 1700-1721. According to the treaty Russia received Livonia (with Riga), Estland (with Revel and Narva), a part of Karelia, Ingermanland (the land of Izhora) and other territories.

For these acquisitions Russia paid Sweden the indemnity of 2 million efimok (Russian silver ruble), returned Finland occupied by Russian troops and gave it the right to export from Russia free of duty the bread for the sum of 50 thousand rubles every year. Sweden in its turn handed over to Russia Baltic countries and some other territories ‘in absolute and eternal possession and ownership’.

Thus the main geopolitical problem that Russia had from XV century was solved – it obtained a free access to Baltic Sea. Owing to this achievement naval powers started to depend on Russia both in arms and commerce, and supplies of materials for shipbuilding.

After a brilliant victory in the North War, on October 22 (November 2), 1721 Peter I was granted the title of ‘Father of the Fatherland, All Russia Emperor Peter the Great’ by Senate and Holy Synod. From that time on the Russian state was called the Russian Empire.

Lit.: Ништадтский мирный договор между Россией и Швецией [Электронный ресурс] // Исторический факультет Московского государственного университета. 1997-2009; URL: http://www.hist.msu.ru/ER/Etext/FOREIGN/nishtadt.htm; Никифоров Л. А. Внешняя политика России в последние годы Северной войны. Ништадтский мир. М., 1959.

From the Presidential library materials:

Treaty of Preobrazhenskoye between Peter I and Augustus II concluded // 21 November 1699;

Naval Victories of Russian Fleet at Cape of Gangut and Grengam // 7 August;

Battle of Poltava // 8 July 1709;

Nyenschantz Swedish fortress seized by Russian troops // 12 May 1703;

Russian armies captured the fortress of Vyborg // 24 June 1710.

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Подписан Ништадтский мирный договор

10 сентября 1721

30 августа (10 сентября) 1721 г. в городе Ништадт (Финляндия) был подписан русско-шведский мирный договор, завершивший Северную войну (1700-1721). По условиям договора к России отошли Лифляндия (с Ригой), Эстляндия (с Ревелем и Нарвой), часть Карелии, Ингерманландия (Ижорская земля) и другие территории.

За эти приобретения Россия уплатила Швеции денежную компенсацию в 2 млн. ефимков (русских серебряных рублей), возвращала ей Финляндию занятую русскими войсками и давала ей право ежегодно беспошлинно вывозить из России хлеба на сумму 50 тыс. рублей. В свою очередь Швеция отдавала России Прибалтику и некоторые другие территории «в совершенное непрекословное вечное владение и собственность».

Таким образом была решена основная геополитическая задача, стоявшая перед Россией с XV в. — получение свободного выхода к Балтийскому морю. Благодаря этому завоеванию морские державы стали зависеть от России как в области вооружений и торговли, так и в области снабжения материалами для кораблестроения.

После блистательной победы в Северной войне, 22 октября (2 ноября) 1721 г. Пётр I принял от Сената и Священного Синода титул «Отца Отечества, Императора Всероссийского Петра Великого», а русское государство стало именоваться Российской Империей.

Лит.: Ништадтский мирный договор между Россией и Швецией [Электронный ресурс] // Исторический факультет Московского государственного университета. 1997-2009; URL: http://www.hist.msu.ru/ER/Etext/FOREIGN/nishtadt.htm; Никифоров Л. А. Внешняя политика России в последние годы Северной войны. Ништадтский мир. М., 1959.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Заключён Преображенский союзный договор между Петром I и Августом II // 21 ноября 1699 г.;

Морские победы русского флота при Гангуте и при Гренгаме // 7 августа;

Полтавская битва // 8 июля 1709 г.;

Русскими войсками взята шведская крепость Ниеншанц // 12 мая 1703 г.;

Русскими войсками взята крепость Выборг // 24 июня 1710 г.