The Emancipation Reform of 1861

The Emancipation Reform of 1861

About the collection

In 2011, Russia celebrates the 150th anniversary of the abolition of serfdom. The collection, dedicated to this event, includes publications, covering the history of the peasant question in Russia, preparation and implementation of the peasant reform, the individual reformers, as well as key legislative instruments of reform, evidence of memoirs of contemporaries and journalistic essays on the peasant question.

The original list included about 250 documents, currently the access is open to more than 100 of them. It is planned to increase the total volume of the collection, and the number of copies of the digital public.

Brief History

February 19 (March 3, New Style) 1861, Emperor Alexander II signed the manifesto of the All-Merciful granting serf people of the status of free rural inhabitants and the overall situation of the peasants, emerged from serfdom, which consisted of seventeen acts. During March 1861 Manifesto, abolishing serfdom, was released throughout the Russian Empire. More than twenty million serfs were freed.

The peasant question was the key issue of Russia's domestic policy of late XVIII - early XIX century. One of the first attempts to legislative restrictions of serfdom was the Manifesto of three-day corvee, signed in 1797 by Emperor Paul I. Under Alexander I in 1803 was issued a decree on free cultivators, and in 1816-1819 serfdom was abolished in the Baltic provinces. In the reign of Nicholas I in 1837-1841 years was carried out reform of state peasants, and organized a series of secret committees Peasant Affairs. Although the measures were important steps towards the abolition of serfdom, one of the predecessors of Alexander II and was not able to completely solve this difficult problem.

Emperor Alexander II came to the throne in February 1855. At that time, the Russian Empire was in a state of deep domestic and foreign crisis. Society, shaken by defeat in the Crimean War of 1853-1856, demanded changes.

The abolition of serfdom was the first undertaking reform of Alexander II. January 3, 1857 has started to work the Secret Committee on Peasant Affairs, which in February 1858 was transformed into the Main Committee on Peasant Affairs. It submitted to the provincial committees. For its consideration of the provincial committees and the development of the overall reform of the project in March 1859, the project Editorial Committee was created with the Main Committee completed its work in October 1860. Materials of Editorial commissions, amounting to several tens of volumes, have been placed at the disposal of the Main Committee on Peasant Affairs. Discussion of the project of the reform, held in an atmosphere of heated debate, continued until January 1861. Finally, after a discussion of the draft Council of State Alexander II approved the final version of the reform.

Peasants’ release conditions are a compromise between the two main classes of Russian society - the peasantry and the nobility. The city received personal freedom and became owners of their house, farm buildings and personal property. However, the owners of the land were still landlords. Farmers received the status of the temporarily used by landlords and land on the mining conditions of serfdom or payment of dues. Under the terms of the reform, farmers could become owners of the land by buying it from their landlord.

Peasant reform has become the main business of the reign of Alexander II, received an honorary nickname Liberator. It cleared the way for further reforms - zemstvo, judicial, military and other reforms. In domestic historiography of 1860-1870s have been called the era of great reforms.

 

  • General section

    The section contains general works that reflect the history of land tenure, peasantry and serfdom in Russia. There are works on the situation of peasants in the 18th – 19th centuries, abolition of serfdom, legislative acts, bibliographic, historiographic, educational and reference works, statistic materials, journalistic writings.
  • Peasant question in Russia until the mid 19th century

    The section addresses the status of the peasant question in Russia until the middle of the 19th century. There are materials on the history of enslavement of peasants, peasant unrests, the work of the Secret Committee of the first half of the 19th century, as well as documents describing the particular situation of peasants on the outskirts of the Russian Empire.
  • Preparatory period

    The section contains materials that illustrate the stages of preparation of the abolition of serfdom. It describes in detail the activities of the Secret Committee, later the Main Committee on peasant question, and that of the Drafting Committees. There are presented various projects of serfdom abolition, legislation acts of the late 1850's - early 1860's, including regional provisions for peasants. Particular attention is paid to the reaction to the reform of public figures, as well as the memoirs of direct participants of the reform draft.
  • 1861 Reform

    The section includes materials on the implementation of the peasant reform. There are legislation acts and government orders, reference and statistical data, information on the redemption payments, researches on the realization of the reform in the Russian Empire as a whole and in certain regions, as well as changes in the position and the everyday life of the peasants.
  • Personalities

    The section includes historical and biographic materials on the most important state and social figures who contributed to the preparation and realization of the Emancipation reform.
  • Reform jubilees

    The materials of the section present the jubilee celebrations of the serfdom abolition that were held in 1886, 1911 and 2011. It includes jubilee works, projects and descriptions of solemn occasions in various regions of Russia.
Share content in social networks:

Крестьянская реформа 1861 года

Крестьянская реформа 1861 года

О коллекции

В 2011 году в России отмечается 150-летний юбилей со дня отмены крепостного права. В коллекцию, посвященную этому событию, включены издания, освещающие историю крестьянского вопроса в России, подготовку и реализацию крестьянской реформы, личности реформаторов, а также основные законодательные документы реформы, мемуарные свидетельства современников и публицистические сочинения, касающиеся крестьянского вопроса.

В первоначальный список вошло около 250 документов, в настоящий момент доступ открыт более чем к 100 из них. В дальнейшем планируется увеличить как общий объем коллекции, так и количество общедоступных цифровых копий.

Краткая историческая справка

19 февраля (3 марта по новому стилю) 1861 года император Александр II подписал Манифест о Всемилостивейшем даровании крепостным людям прав состояния свободных сельских обывателей и Общее Положение о крестьянах, вышедших из крепостной зависимости, состоявшее из семнадцати законодательных актов. В течение марта 1861 года Манифест, упразднявший крепостное право, был обнародован по всей территории Российской империи. Более двадцати миллионов крепостных крестьян получили свободу.

Крестьянский вопрос был ключевым вопросом российской внутренней политики конца XVIII – первой половины XIX века. Одной из первых попыток законодательного ограничения крепостного права стал Манифест о трехдневной барщине, подписанный в 1797 году императором Павлом I. При Александре I в 1803 году был издан Указ о вольных хлебопашцах, а в 1816–1819 годах крепостное право было отменено в прибалтийских губерниях. В царствование Николая I в 1837–1841 годах была проведена реформа государственных крестьян и организован ряд секретных комитетов по крестьянскому делу. Хотя принимаемые меры были важными шагами на пути к отмене крепостного права, никто из предшественников Александра II так и не сумел окончательно решить эту тяжелейшую задачу.

Император Александр II вступил на престол в феврале 1855 года. В тот момент Российская империя находилась в состоянии глубокого внутри- и внешнеполитического кризиса. Общество, потрясенное поражением в Крымской войне 1853–1856 годов, требовало перемен.

Отмена крепостного права стала первым реформаторским начинанием Александра II. 3 января 1857 года приступил к работе Секретный комитет по крестьянскому делу, который в феврале 1858 года был преобразован в Главный комитет по крестьянскому делу. Ему подчинялись губернские комитеты. Для рассмотрения проектов губернских комитетов и выработки общего проекта реформы в марте 1859 года при Главном комитете были созданы Редакционные комиссии, завершившие свою работу в октябре 1860 года. Материалы Редакционных комиссий, составившие несколько десятков томов, были переданы в распоряжение Главного комитета по крестьянскому делу. Обсуждение проекта реформы, проходившее в атмосфере жарких споров, продолжалось до января 1861 года. Наконец, после обсуждения проекта в Государственном совете Александр II утвердил окончательный вариант реформы.

Условия освобождения крестьян представляли собой компромисс между двумя основными классами русского общества – крестьянством и дворянством. Крепостные получили личную свободу и стали собственниками своей избы, хозяйственных построек и личного имущества. Однако владельцами земли по-прежнему оставались помещики. Крестьяне получили статус временнообязанных и пользовались помещичьей землей на условиях отработки барщины или уплаты оброка. Согласно условиям реформы, крестьяне могли стать собственниками земли, выкупив ее у своего помещика.

Крестьянская реформа стала главным делом царствования Александра II, получившего почетное прозвание Освободитель. Она освободила путь для дальнейших преобразований – земской, судебной, военной и других реформ. В отечественной историографии 1860–1870-е годы были названы Эпохой великих реформ.

 

  • Общий раздел

    В разделе собраны общие работы, которые отражают историю землевладения, крестьянства и крепостного права в России. Представлены труды, посвященные положению крестьян в XVIII –XIX вв., отмене крепостного права, сборники законодательных актов, библиографические, историографические, учебные и справочные работы, статистические материалы, публицистические сочинения.
  • Крестьянский вопрос в России до середины XIX века

    Раздел посвящен состоянию крестьянского вопроса в России до середины XIX в. Представлены материалы по истории закрепощения крестьян, крестьянских волнений, деятельности секретных комитетов первой половины XIX в., а также документы, характеризующие особенности положения крестьян на окраинах Российской империи.
  • Подготовительный период

    В раздел включены материалы, иллюстрирующие этапы подготовки отмены крепостного права. Подробно рассмотрена деятельность Секретного, позднее Главного комитета по крестьянскому делу, Редакционных комиссий. Представлены различные проекты отмены крепостного права, законодательные акты конца 1850-х – начала 1860-х гг., в том числе региональные положения по крестьянам. Особое внимание уделено восприятию реформы общественными деятелями, а также мемуарам непосредственных участников подготовки реформы.
  • Реформа 1861 года

    Раздел включает материалы по реализации крестьянской реформы. Представлены законодательные акты и правительственные распоряжения, справочные и статистические данные, информация о выкупных платежах, исследования, посвященные проведению реформы в Российской империи в целом и в отдельных регионах, а также изменению положения и быта крестьян.
  • Персоналии

    В раздел включены историко-биографические материалы о наиболее крупных государственных и общественных деятелях, которые участвовали в подготовке и реализации крестьянской реформы.
  • Юбилеи реформы

    Материалы раздела дают представление о праздновании юбилеев отмены крепостного права в 1886, 1911 и 2011 гг. Включены юбилейные сочинения, проекты и описания торжественных мероприятий в различных регионах России.
Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: