The All-Russian Constituent Assembly

The All-Russian Constituent Assembly

Throughout the XIX century the idea of the All-Russian Constituent Assembly, which for the first time entered the program documents of the Decembrists, has been transformed with the socio-economic and political development of the country. In one form or another, it entered most of the works of the liberal intelligentsia, becoming a symbol of democracy. In the minds of Russian society it was the notion that the Constituent Assembly was capable of resolving all pressing state problems and overdue conflicts.

The revolutionary events of 1917 provided an opportunity to implement this long-standing idea. In the act of rejection of the throne of March 3 (16), 1917, Grand Duke Mikhail Alexandrovich agreed to accept power only if the people so agree to establish a new image of the country's government. Until then, he called for submission to the Provisional Government. It, in turn, undertook to immediately begin preparing for the convocation of the assembly on the basis of universal, equal, direct suffrage by secret ballot. The exact date was not established, it was assumed that the organization of the Constituent Assembly would take up to six months. On March 25 (April 7), the government established a Special Meeting to draft the Election Regulations. Its chairman was appointed one of the founders of the Constitutional Democratic Party, lawyer F. F. Kokoshkin. 8 special commissions were allocated to the meeting. After lengthy consultations with the members of the meeting, the elections were scheduled for September 17 (30), and the opening of the meeting on September 30 (October 13) in Petrograd. The search for the building and its accommodation to the assembly was taken by the special committee set up on May 24 (June 6), 1917 by the government. July 22 (August 4) the statement on elections was published.

On November 12 (25) All-Russian elections began.

However, the political plans of the new Bolshevik government came into conflict with the goals and objectives of the Constituent Assembly, the majority in which the party of Socialist-Revolutionaries was elected following the election results. Lenin dismissively called the meeting a "liberal idea". The Bolshevik M. S. Uritsky was put at the head of the Election Commission. On November 26 (December 9), the chairman of the Council of People's Commissars, V. I. Lenin, signed the decree "To the opening of the Constituent Assembly", demanding for its opening a quorum of 400 people, which postponed the beginning of the work of the meeting until all delegates gathered in Petrograd. It was also ordered that a representative of the Bolshevik Party should open the meeting. Two days later, outside the law, the party of people's freedom (cadets) was declared. Any "private meetings" of delegates to the Constituent Assembly were banned. In response to these actions, the Right SRs formed the "Union for the Protection of the Constituent Assembly".

On December 22 (January 3), the All-Russian Central Executive Committee appointed the opening of the Constituent Assembly on January 5 (18), 1918. On January 8 (21), the convocation of the Third All-Russian Congress of Soviets of Workers 'and Soldiers' Deputies was appointed as a counterbalance to the meeting. December 23 (January 4) in Petrograd a martial law was introduced. On 4 and 5 (January 17, 18) in “Izvestia” and “Pravda” a decision was made by the Central Executive Committee that any attempt by an institution to appropriate to itself the functions of state power would be suppressed by all means, up to the use of armed force. The demonstration in support of the meeting, which took place on January 5 (18), was shot.

In such conditions, by 4 pm on January 5 (18), 1918, delegates gathered in the building of the Tauride Palace. Right-wing SRs proposed the opening of the first meeting to a member of their party, the editor of the newspaper “Golos of Donskoy Zemli”, S. P. Shvetsov, while the Bolsheviks and the Left SRs instructed the chairman of the All-Russian Central Executive Committee, Y. M. Sverdlov, to make this mission. Since the latter was late, the right SRs attempted to take the initiative into their own hands. However, the appearance of SP Shvetsov on the rostrum was met with obstruction by the Bolsheviks and Left SRs. Nevertheless, he managed to announce the opening of the meeting, and then Y. M. Sverdlov already repeatedly invited the deputies to start work. The leader of the SR party, V. M. Chernov, was elected chairman of the meeting.

In the course of the debate on the agenda, the Bolsheviks and the Left SRs, at the suggestion of Y. M. Sverdlov, called for a focus on the discussion and approval of the "Declaration of the Rights of the Working and Exploited People" drawn up by Lenin. However, the meeting by a majority of 237 votes against 146 refused to discuss it. The agenda of the meeting proposed by the right-echelon faction, which included the question of peace, land, the form of the state system of Russia, the state regulation of industry, measures to combat unemployment and solve the food problem, the immunity of the Constituent Assembly and its deputies, the appeal to the Russian people. In the third hour of the night, the Bolshevik faction, in protest at the refusal of the delegates to approve the Declaration, left the meeting. They were joined by the Left SRs. At 4:40 in the morning of January 6 (19) the head of the guard, anarchist A. Zheleznyakov, suggested that the deputies disperse, indicating that the guard was tired. Nevertheless, the chairman V. M. Chernov, despite the absence of a quorum, managed to vote on the main provisions of the law on land, which proclaimed the land a public property. An appeal was made to the Allies about the conclusion of a just and universal peace, as well as a decree on the state structure, according to which Russia became the Russian Democratic Federal Republic. The delegates dispersed, deciding to meet on the same day at 5 pm, but by that time they had found the palace doors closed under heavy guard. On the same day, the decree of the Central Executive Committee was published on the dissolution of the Constituent Assembly.

The collection dedicated to the 100th anniversary of the convocation of the All-Russian Constituent Assembly included popular publications written in 1917 with the purpose of acquainting the country's population with the goals, tasks and features of the work of the assembly; materials of the meeting in the form of lists and certificates of delegates, verbatim record of the sole meeting, legislative projects that were discussed by the deputies; welcome telegrams of the public in connection with the opening of the meeting; documents that tell about the consequences and results of the meeting; as well as visual materials, depicting the meeting of January 5 (18) and its participants.

Share content in social networks:

Всероссийское Учредительное собрание

Всероссийское Учредительное собрание

На протяжении XIX в. идея Всероссийского Учредительного собрания, впервые вошедшая в программные документы декабристов, трансформировалась по мере социально-экономического и политического развития страны.  В той или иной форме она вошла в большинство сочинений либеральной интеллигенции, став символом народовластия. В сознании российского общества укоренилось представление, что Учредительное собрание способно разрешить все насущные государственные проблемы и назревшие конфликты. 

Революционные события 1917 года предоставили возможность осуществить эту многолетнюю идею. В акте о неприятии престола от 3 (16) марта 1917 г. великий князь Михаил Александрович соглашался принять власть, только если так решит народ, которому предоставлялось право установить новый образ правления страны. До тех пор он призвал подчиниться Временному правительству. Оно, в свою очередь, обязалось немедленно приступить к подготовке созыва собрания на началах всеобщего, равного, прямого избирательного права при тайном голосовании. Точный срок не был установлен, предполагалось, что на организацию Учредительного собрания уйдет до шести месяцев.  25 марта (7 апреля) правительство учредило Особое совещание для изготовления проекта Положения о выборах. Его председателем был назначен один из основоположников Конституционно-демократической партии, правовед Ф. Ф. Кокошкин. В составе совещания было выделено 8 специальных комиссий. После длительных консультаций с членами совещания выборы были назначены на 17 (30) сентября, а открытие собрания на 30 сентября (13 октября) в Петрограде. Поиском здания и его приспособлением под собрание занялся учрежденный 24 мая (6 июня) 1917 г. при правительстве специальный комитет. 22 июля (4 августа) было опубликовано Положение о выборах.

12 (25) ноября начались всероссийские выборы.

Однако политические планы новой большевистской власти вступили в противоречие с целями и задачами Учредительного собрания, большинство в котором по итогам выборов получила партия социалистов-революционеров. В. И. Ленин пренебрежительно называл собрание «либеральной затеей». Во главе Комиссии по выборам был поставлен большевик М. С. Урицкий. 26 ноября (9 декабря) председатель СНК В. И. Ленин подписал декрет «К открытию Учредительного собрания», требовавший для его открытия кворума в 400 человек, что отсрочило начало работы собрания до тех пор, пока все делегаты не соберутся в Петрограде. Также было предписано, что  открывать собрание должен представитель партии большевиков. Два дня спустя вне закона была объявлена партия народной свободы (кадетов). Были запрещены любые «частные совещания» делегатов Учредительного собрания. В ответ на эти действия правые эсеры сформировали «Союз защиты Учредительного собрания».

22 декабря (3 января) ВЦИК назначил открытие Учредительного собрания на 5 (18) января 1918 г. На 8 (21) января в качестве противовеса собранию был назначен созыв III Всероссийского съезда Советов рабочих и солдатских депутатов. 23 декабря (4 января) в Петрограде было введено военное положение. 4 и 5 (17, 18) января в «Известиях» и «Правде» было помещено постановление ВЦИК о том, что всякая попытка какого-либо учреждения присвоить себе функции государственной власти будет подавляться всеми средствами вплоть до применения вооруженной силы. Состоявшая 5 (18) января манифестация в поддержку собрания была расстреляна.

В таких условиях к 16 часам вечера 5 (18) января 1918 г. делегаты собрались в здании Таврического дворца. Правые эсеры предложили открыть первое заседание члену их партии, редактору газеты «Голос Донской земли» С. П. Швецову, а большевики и левые эсеры поручили выступить с этой миссией председателю ВЦИК Я. М. Свердлову. Поскольку последний опаздывал, то правые эсеры попытались захватить инициативу в свои руки. Однако появление С. П. Швецова на трибуне было встречено обструкцией со стороны большевиков и левых эсеров. Тем не менее, он успел объявить об открытии собрания, и затем Я. М. Свердлов уже повторно предложил депутатам приступить к работе. Председателем собрания был избран лидер партии эсеров В. М. Чернов.

В ходе прений по повестке дня большевики и левые эсеры по предложению Я. М. Свердлова призвали сосредоточить внимание на обсуждении и утверждении составленной В. И. Лениным «Декларации прав трудящегося и эксплуатируемого народа». Однако собрание большинством в 237 голосов против 146 отказалось ее обсуждать. Была утверждена повестка заседания, предложенная правоэсеровской фракцией, в составе которой были вопрос о мире, о земле, о форме государственного устройства России, о государственном регулировании промышленности, о мерах борьбы с безработицей и решения продовольственной проблемы, об иммунитете Учредительного собрания и его депутатов, обращение к российскому народу. В третьем часу ночи фракция большевиков в знак протеста против отказа делегатов утвердить «Декларацию» покинула заседание. К ним присоединились левые эсеры. В 4 часа 40 минут утра 6 (19) января начальник охраны анархист А. Железняков предложил депутатам разойтись, указывая на то, что караул устал. Тем не менее, председатель В. М. Чернов, несмотря на отсутствие кворума, успел провести голосование основных положений закона о земле, провозглашавшего землю общенародной собственностью. Было принято обращение к  союзникам  по  поводу заключения  справедливого всеобщего мира, а также постановление о государственном устройстве, согласно которому, Россия становилась Российской демократической федеративной республикой. Делегаты разошлись, постановив собраться в тот же день в 17 часов вечера, однако, к тому моменту они нашли двери дворца закрытыми и под усиленной охраной. В тот же день был опубликован декрет ВЦИК о роспуске Учредительного собрания.

В коллекцию, посвященную 100-летию со дня созыва Всероссийского Учредительного собрания, вошли популярные издания, написанные в 1917 году с целью ознакомления населения страны с целями, задачами и особенностями работы собрания; материалы собрания в виде списков и удостоверений делегатов, стенографического отчета единственного заседания, законодательных проектов, которые обсуждались депутатами; приветственные телеграммы общественности в связи с открытием собрания; документы, повествующие о последствиях и итогах собрания; а также изобразительные материалы, запечатлевшие заседание 5 (18) января и его участников.