Victory Parade took place on the Red Square

24 June 1945

June 24, 1945 at 10:00 a.m. on the Red Square, Moscow, took place a parade to commemorate the victory of the Soviet Union over Nazi Germany in the Great Patriotic War. The parade was received by the First Deputy People's Commissar of Defense and Deputy Supreme Commander, the commander of the 1st Belorussian Front, Marshal of the Soviet Union, G. K. Zhukov. In charge of the parade was the commander of the 2nd Belorussian Front, Marshal of the Soviet Union, K. K. Rokossovsky.

June 22, 1945 the major Soviet newspapers published an order of the Supreme Commander, I. V. Stalin N 370: "In commemoration of the victory over Germany in the Great Patriotic War, I appoint to hold the parade of the regular Army, Navy and the Moscow garrison - Victory Parade June 24, 1945 in Moscow's Red Square."

In late May and early June in Moscow was held intensive preparations for the parade. In early June all the participants of the parade, wearing a new dress uniform, proceeded to the pre workout. Rehearsal for infantry units was taking place in the Khodynka field, in the Central Terminal; on the Garden Ring, from the Crimean Bridge to the Smolensk Place, was held inspection of artillery units; mechanized and armored vehicles held training on the testing area in Kuzminki.

To participate in the ceremony were formed and trained regiments representing each front which was in force at the end of the war, led by commanders of the fronts. It was decided to bring from Berlin the Red flag, hoisted over the Reichstag. The formation of the parade was in accordance with the general line of the fronts in force – from right to left. For each regiment were chosen their favorite military marches.

The penultimate rehearsal for Victory Day parade was held at the Central Airfield, and the general one - in Red Square. June 22 at 10 am, Marshals of the Soviet Union, G. K. Zhukov and K. K. Rokossovsky appeared on Red Square on a white horse and a black horse. After the command "Parade, quiet!" the square was swept with a roar of applause. Then, the combined military orchestra of 1400musicians conducted by Major-General, Sergei Chernetsky played the hymn "Glory to the Russian people!" by M. I. Glinka. After that, the commander of the parade, Rokossovsky reported on the readiness for the start of the parade. The marshals made a detour of troops, and returned to the Lenin Mausoleum. Zhukov, having got up to the podium, on behalf of the Soviet government and the CPSU (b) congratulated "brave Soviet soldiers and all the people with the Great Victory over Nazi Germany." Anthem of the Soviet Union was played and a solemn march of the troops began.

The victory parade was attended by the regiments of the fronts, of the People's Commissariat of Defense and the Navy, military academies, colleges, and units of the Moscow garrison. Combined regiments included the rank and file, sergeants and officers of different arms, who had distinguished themselves in battle and had been awarded with military orders. Following the regiments of the fronts and the Navy, on Red Square entered the combined column of Soviet soldiers who were carrying, dropped to the ground, 200 banners of Nazi troops, defeated on the battlefield. These banners were thrown to the foot of the mausoleum as a sign of a crushing defeat of the aggressor. Then solemnly marched the units of the Moscow garrison: the combined regiment of the People's Commissariat of Defense, the military academy, military and Suvorov schools, half-horse brigade, artillery, motorized, airborne and tank units and subunits.

At 23 p. m. the sky over Moscow lit up with searchlights, in the air there were hundreds of balloons, and from the ground were heard the volleys of fireworks with colorful lights. The highlight of the holiday was the cloth with the image of the Order of "Victory", which appeared in the sky in the spotlight.

The next day, June 25, the Grand Kremlin Palace hosted a reception in honor of the Victory Day parade. After a grand celebration in Moscow, upon the suggestion of the Soviet government and the Supreme Command, in September 1945, there was held a small parade of allied troops in Berlin, which was attended by Soviet, American, British and French troops.

Lit.: Беляев И. Н. В парадном строю победителей: Смоляне-участники Парадов Победы в Москве. Смоленск, 1995; Варенников В. И. Парад Победы. М., 2005; Гуревич Я. А. 200 шагов по Красной площади: [Воспоминания участника Парадов Победы 1945 и 1985 гг.]. Кишинев, 1989; Победители: Парад Победы 24 июня 1945 г. Т. 1—4. М., 2001-2006; Штеменко С. М. Парад Победы // Военно-исторический журнал, 1968. № 2.

Парад Победы: сайт. 2016. URL: http://paradpobedy.ru/exhibition/denpobedy.

From the Presidential library materials:

The Great Victory Memory: [digital collection].

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях:

Состоялся Парад Победы на Красной площади

24 июня 1945

24 июня 1945 г. в 10 часов утра на Красной площади в Москве состоялся парад в ознаменование Победы Советского Союза над фашистской Германией в Великой Отечественной войне. Парад принимал первый заместитель наркома обороны СССР и заместитель Верховного главнокомандующего, командующий войсками 1-го Белорусского фронта Маршал Советского Союза Г. К. Жуков. Командовал парадом командующий войсками 2-го Белорусского фронта Маршал Советского Союза К. К. Рокоссовский.

22 июня 1945 г. в центральных советских газетах был опубликован приказ Верховного главнокомандующего И. В. Сталина № 370: «В ознаменование Победы над Германией в Великой Отечественной войне назначаю 24 июня 1945 года в Москве на Красной площади парад войск действующей армии, Военно-Морского Флота и Московского гарнизона — Парад Победы».

В конце мая и начале июня в Москве проходила усиленная подготовка к параду. В десятых числах июня весь состав участников был одет в новую парадную форму и приступил к предпраздничной тренировке. Репетиция пехотных частей проходила на Ходынском поле, в районе Центрального аэродрома; на Садовом кольце, от Крымского моста до Смоленской площади, проходил смотр артиллерийских частей; мотомеханизированная и бронетанковая техника проводила смотр-тренировку на полигоне в Кузьминках.

Для участия в торжестве были сформированы и подготовлены сводные полки от каждого действовавшего в конце войны фронта, которые должны были возглавляться командующими фронтами. Из Берлина решено было привезти Красное знамя, водружённое над рейхстагом. Построение парада определили в порядке общей линии действующих фронтов — справа налево. Для каждого сводного полка специально определили военные марши, которые были ими особенно любимы.

Предпоследняя репетиция Парада Победы состоялась на Центральном аэродроме, а генеральная — на Красной площади. В 22 июня в 10 ч. утра Маршалы Советского Союза Г. К. Жуков и К. К. Рокоссовский появились на Красной площади на белом и вороном конях. После объявления команды «Парад, смирно!» по площади прокатился гул аплодисментов. Затем сводный военный оркестр в составе 1400 музыкантов под управлением генерал-майора Сергея Чернецкого исполнил гимн «Славься, русский народ!» М. И. Глинки. После этого командующий парадом Рокоссовский отдал рапорт о готовности к началу проведения парада. Маршалы совершили объезд войск, возвратились к Мавзолею В. И. Ленина, и Жуков, поднявшись на трибуну, от имени и по поручению Советского правительства и ВКП (б) поздравил «доблестных советских воинов и весь народ с Великой Победой над фашистской Германией». Прозвучал гимн Советского Союза, и начался торжественный марш войск.

В Параде Победы приняли участие сводные полки фронтов, Наркомата обороны и ВМФ, военные академии, училища и части Московского гарнизона. Сводные полки были укомплектованы рядовыми, сержантами и офицерами различных родов войск, отличившимися в боях и имевшими боевые ордена. Вслед за полками фронтов и ВМФ на Красную площадь вступила сводная колонна советских воинов, которые несли опущенные до земли 200 знамён немецко-фашистских войск, разгромленных на полях сражений. Эти знамена под барабанный бой были брошены к подножию Мавзолея в знак сокрушительного поражения агрессора. Затем торжественным маршем прошли части Московского гарнизона: сводный полк Наркомата обороны, военной академии, военные и суворовские училища, сводная конная бригада, артиллерийские, мотомеханизированные, воздушно-десантные и танковые части и подразделения.

В 23 часа небо над Москвой озарилось светом прожекторов, в воздухе появились сотни аэростатов, а с земли раздались залпы фейерверка с разноцветными огнями. Кульминацией праздника стало полотнище с изображением ордена «Победы», появившееся высоко в небе в лучах прожекторов.

На следующий день, 25 июня, в Большом Кремлёвском дворце состоялся приём в честь участников Парада Победы. После грандиозного праздника в Москве по предложению советского правительства и Верховного командования в сентябре 1945 г. состоялся малый Парад союзных войск в Берлине, в котором приняли участие советские, американские, английские и французские войска.

Лит.: Беляев И. Н. В парадном строю победителей: Смоляне-участники Парадов Победы в Москве. Смоленск, 1995; Варенников В. И. Парад Победы. М., 2005; Гуревич Я. А. 200 шагов по Красной площади: [Воспоминания участника Парадов Победы 1945 и 1985 гг.]. Кишинев, 1989; Победители: Парад Победы 24 июня 1945 г. Т. 1—4. М., 2001-2006; Штеменко С. М. Парад Победы // Военно-исторический журнал, 1968. № 2.

Парад Победы: сайт. 2016. URL: http://paradpobedy.ru/exhibition/denpobedy.

См. также в Президентской библиотеке:

Память о Великой Победе: коллекция.