World War I (1914-1918)

World War I (1914-1918)

The year of 2014 marks the centenary of World War I - a new type of war, which had acquired the features that later were common for the armed conflicts of the 20th century. These are: inseparability of the rear from the front, the total mobilization of the economics for military needs, information warfare on a national scale. Land battles enriched the science of war with tactics of tank attacks. At the sea was first deployed a submarine warfare, with attacks against civilian ships. In fact, during the war a new kind of armed forces developed – the air force, which became a full-fledged means of warfare. The Russian Empire in that war was part of the military and political alliance with France and Britain, which opposed the central powers - Germany and Austria-Hungary. The war, initially seen by many contemporaries as the Second Patriotic war (by analogy with the war of 1812), fast enough contributed to the development of the crisis in all spheres of the state and society. The difficulties in supplying the army and the front revealed production base and poor infrastructure, especially the railway, unprepared to meet the needs of a large-scale war. The government's attempts to solve the growing difficulties led to the fabled phenomenon of "ministerial leapfrog," while cooperation between the government and private capital was not productive enough. Strong inflow of the rural population in the cities led not only to a crisis of supply, but also to the change of social image of the citizens. Series of defeats at the front contributed to the worsening of the situation in the country.

For the Russian State the Great War marked a border line of epochs, the transition from the estate monarchy to the socialist republic, accompanied by revolutionary upheavals and devastation of the Civil War. Political conjucture of the Soviet period had stamped the First World War with the term "imperialist", which in practice meant that it was considered mainly as a catalyst for the revolutionary events. The epithet of "the forgotten war" proliferated in recent years not only reflects a poor study of that period, but its actual fall-out from the historical memory of the nation.

The core of the collection is represented by research works, essays, official documents, archival materials (including a card index of war heroes), leaflets and fiction. Particular focus is on the memoirs and visual sources, reflecting Russia's participation in the First World War.

The collection includes over 1200 items.

The collection includes numerous materials from the collections of the N. A. Dobrolyubov Arkhangelsk Regional Scientific Library, the Belgorod State Research Library, the Library of Congress, the Library for Natural Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Military Historical Museum of Artillery, Engineer and Signal Corps of the RF Ministry of Defense, the State Archives of the Russian Federation, the State Archives of Tyumen Region, Gosfilmofond of the Russian Federation, the State Socio-Political Library, State Public Historical Library, the Children's Museum of Postcards, the N. K. Krupskaya Moscow Regional State Research Library, the  A. S. Pushkin Omsk State Regional Research Library, the A. M. Gorky Perm State Regional Library, the Russian State Library, the Russian State Archives of Film and Photo Documents, the Russian State Historical Archive, the Russian History Channel, the St. Petersburg State University, the St. Petersburg State Theater Library, the Central Naval Library, the Center for Information Technology and Systems of the Executive Branch.

Share content in social networks:

Первая мировая война (1914-1918)

Первая мировая война (1914-1918)

В 2014-м году отмечается столетие начала Первой мировой войны – войны нового типа, приобретшей черты, ставшие обычными для вооружённых конфликтов XX века. Это и неотделимость тыла от фронта, и тотальная мобилизация экономики на военные нужды, и ведение информационной войны в государственных масштабах. Сухопутные сражения обогатили военную науку тактикой танковых атак. На море впервые была развёрнута подводная война, причём против гражданских судов. Фактически за время войны произошло становление нового вида вооружённых сил – авиации, ставшей полноправным средством ведения вооруженной борьбы. Российская Империя в этой войне входила в военно-политический блок с Францией и Великобританией, которому противостояли Центральные державы – Германия и Австро-Венгрия. Война, поначалу воспринимавшаяся многими современниками как Вторая Отечественная (по аналогии с войной 1812 года), достаточно быстро способствовала развитию кризисных явлений во всех сферах жизни государства и общества. Быстро обозначившиеся трудности со снабжением армии и фронта выявили неготовность производственной базы и слабость инфраструктуры, прежде всего железнодорожной, к потребностям большой войны. Попытки правительства решить нарастающие трудности привели к ставшему нарицательным явлению «министерской чехарды», а сотрудничество власти и частного капитала оказалось недостаточно продуктивным. Мощный приток в города сельского населения привёл не только к кризису снабжения, но и к изменению социального облика горожан. Череда поражений на фронте способствовала ухудшению обстановки внутри страны.

Для Российского государства Великая война оказалась рубежом эпох, переходом от сословной монархии к социалистической республике, сопровождавшимся революционными потрясениями и разрухой Гражданской войны. Политическая конъюнктура советского времени закрепила за Первой мировой войной определение «империалистической», что на практике означало рассмотрение её в основном как катализатора революционных событий. Получивший распространение в последние годы эпитет «забытой войны» отражает не только слабую изученность данного временного периода, но и фактическое его выпадение из исторической памяти нации.

В качестве основных материалов для представления в коллекции использованы исследования, публицистика, официальные документы, архивные материалы (включая картотеку героев войны), листовки и художественная литература. Особое внимание уделено мемуарам и изобразительным источникам, отражающим участие России в Первой мировой войне.

Коллекция включает более 1200 единиц.

Для подготовки данной коллекции были использованы многочисленные материалы из фондов Архангельской областной научной библиотеки им. Н. А. Добролюбова, Белгородской государственной универсальной научной библиотеки, Библиотеки Конгресса США, Библиотеки по естественным наукам Российской академии наук, Военно-исторического Музея артиллерии, инженерных войск и войск связи МО РФ, Государственного архива Российской Федерации, Государственного архива Тюменской области, Государственного фонда кинофильмов Российской Федерации, Государственной общественно-политической библиотеки, Государственной публичной исторической библиотеки, Детского музея открытки, Московской областной государственной научной библиотеки им. Н. К. Крупской, Омской государственной областной научной библиотеки им. А. С. Пушкина, Пермской государственной краевой универсальной библиотеки им. А. М. Горького, Российской государственной библиотеки, Российского государственного архива кинофотодокументов, Российского государственного исторического архива, Русского Исторического Канала, Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета, Санкт-Петербургской государственной Театральной библиотеки, Центральной военно-морской библиотеки, Центра информационных технологий и систем органов исполнительной власти.

Багрин Е. А. Обзор коллекции «Первая мировая война (1914-1918)»

Поделиться материалом в соцсетях: